We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic, Fun & Delicious Steakhouse!”

Big Texan Steak Ranch
Ranked #16 of 569 Restaurants in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 9 - US$ 35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Voted as the #1 Eating contest in America by Huffington Post.Voted as 1 of the top 10 places by Draft Magazine to drink a beer at.The list goes on and on. This place is full of action and what the Wild West was all about. 2,000 Square foot gift shop that even has a live rattlesnake in there. We have 12 Hand-Crafted beers made on site with a beer style to fit almost any beer drinker. From Raspberry Wheat to Whiskey Barrel Stout with Seasonal beers to fill in such as Oktoberfest Lager & Pecan Porter. Same Lee family for the last 54-years serving 3-generations of guests. Young man, We fed your grandfather! We're Glad your Here!
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We had occasion to eat dinner here twice both going and coming back on our recent vacation. The service was prompt even thought hey were extremely busy. The ribeye and filet steaks were delicious and cooked perfectly to order. The interior and exterior of the restaurant are fun and inviting. Great place for people of all ages and of course they are home to the famous 72 oz steak eating contest! Saw several guys trying it out :). We'd say this is a must-do while in Amarillo, TX.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M, Public Relations Manager at Big Texan Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Twice on one vacation?! Thanks so much for being repeat customers, Pam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

266 - 270 of 4,848 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

The food was good, but watching people try to eat the 72 ounce steak, plus sides of is a trip! No one managed it on the night we were there. My filet was cooked perfectly and the service was good. Great gift shop if your into it!

7  Thank Surgerysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M, Public Relations Manager at Big Texan Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thanks for reviewing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Long reputation, short on overall quality, high on prices. The only people that ought to go here are those that think this is a typical Texas steak house and that they'll be gone out of Texas in a couple of hours.
The best thing was our granddaughter's dinner was brought in a straw cowboy hat. The atmosphere plays to the tourist.
Expensive - if you have to eat here always get the smallest steak.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank John-Galt-Of-Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M, Public Relations Manager at Big Texan Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

We're disappointed to hear about your visit with us. We only want to provide the best cowboy experience for all of our guests with amazin' cowboy grub, and the friendly type of service that you'll only find in Texas. We hope that y'all will come on back and give us another chance to provide a perfect experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

I'm from Central Texas but this was my first visit here enroute to RMNP. I've seen it on different travel shows but I was very disappointed. We stopped at about 5pm on a Sunday and got seated right away. Hostess & Waitress were both friendly but our waitress looked exhausted! I had the Fort Worth cut ribeye and it was awful ..flavorless. No where near worth the price tag. It was luke warm as were the steak fries & fried okra. The steak fries covered with chopped brisket & cheese appetizer was delicious thus the 3 stars. My husband had chicken fried steak with loaded potatoes and cowboy beans. He thought it was good except the beans which were horrible. I wanted to try the desserts but didn't want to pay that much to be disappointed again. My vote is pass it up.

1  Thank gibson405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M, Public Relations Manager at Big Texan Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

We're disappointed to hear about your experience. We only want to provide the best cowboy experience for all of our guests with amazin' cowboy grub, and the friendly type of service that you'll only find in Texas. We hope that y'all will come on back and give us another chance to provide a perfect experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

This steak house is consistently great. Today I had the Duke cut ribeye it was excellent in flavor and texture. The cowboy beans have that southwestern flavor that really perks them up. The service is good and food come fast. A must eat in Amarillo

7  Thank dchawk216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M, Public Relations Manager at Big Texan Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

We do love our repeat customers! Thanks for reviewing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Texan Steak Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Big Texan Steak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing