We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Let Down”
Review of Big Texan Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Texan Motel
Ranked #29 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Reviewed 3 August 2017

We arrived after a long drive having pre booked this over a year inadvance as travelling from the Uk, we pulled up outside the reception and lovely front of the motel, to be given directions to our room which was out the back down near the pool and horse motel the outside looked run down and more like the tradesmens end of the complex. The room was big two beds down side was no fridge to keep anything cool in especially in 100 degree heat and smelt a bit musty even though the aircon was on. Light switch was not properly attached to the wall in the bathroom and too close to the shower a big hazzard. Its wasnt worth the $95 for the night. a big disappointment as we had been so looking forward to staying.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (491)
There are newer reviews for Big Texan Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

We loved it here a great stop off whilst travelling on Route 66. It could
Do with a bit of a spruce but didn't spoil our stay :) we would stay here again if given the choice. Rooms are ample and clean and tidy.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank wren76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

This was our first hotel at the beginning of our trip on Route 66 from Amarillo to Los Angeles. We enjoyed the stay and the room was clean and comfortable. Not your standard hotel but it takes you back in time. Nice to walk over to the Big Texan Steak Ranch.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andre d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

This was now our 5th state after Illinois, Missouri, Kansas and Oklahoma. Arriving in Texas at Amarillo was certainly an experience. It was still early June and the SW was experiencing an unusual heatwave.

After completing our laundry in the laundromat and getting ready for dinner in our air conditioned room, we stepped out at 8pm to cross the car park to the Big Texan for dinner and it was 125F. It was almost like walking out into a blast furnace.

On arrival at the Big Texan Motel the receptionist was on the phone and didn't hang up or apologise, just produced a key for our room after I handed in my hotel booking voucher. There was no explanation that we would perhaps have to book dinner as it was busy or nothing.

Having read the previous reviews I have to tend to agree, room cleanliness was not the best, the novelty saloon swing doors soon became an annoyance, our door lock was not the best and could have done with maintenance and the décor was very, very rough. I am not sure if this was by design to add to the affect, but it was really poorly done.

Without wishing to come across as a Killjoy, the theme is amusing to a point, but it could be done a whole lot classier. To be fair there was a fridge in our room and a pool, shaped like the state of Texas. I have to say though this was the only room on our trip that did not offer an iron and ironing board.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

We arrived here after travelling through flash floods. We opened the door and my husband said it was so bad it was good!
I was not in agreement. The rough wood walls make it feel like you are sleeping in a garden shed.
The saloon doors that swing and bang every time you go through to the clothing space, sink and bathroom are a novelty for 30 seconds. The novelty wears off when they constantly bang throughout the night as the clientele, in the adjoining rooms use their bathroom!
The bedside lamp on my side of the bed did not work. I was already unhappy so my husband investigated. The light did not work as the wire did not reach the electric socket! My husband moved the bed 3 feet and the light could then be plugged in. Surely we were not the first people to stay who found the light did not work?
At 11pm there were still children running around screaming and shouting.
I was up early and we were on the road before 7.30am!
If you have a choice I advise you choose somewhere else.

Room Tip: Doubt any room is good
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo East
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East
2.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Amarillo
5.9 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
5.2 km away
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ashmore Inn & Suites
#22 of 72 in Amarillo
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Texan Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Texan Motel

Address: 7701 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79118-6915
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range: ₹ 5,141 - ₹ 8,135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Big Texan Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 54
Also Known As:
Big Texan Hotel Amarillo
Big Texan Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing