We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stop off ”
Review of Big Texan Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Texan Motel
Ranked #30 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

We loved it here a great stop off whilst travelling on Route 66. It could
Do with a bit of a spruce but didn't spoil our stay :) we would stay here again if given the choice. Rooms are ample and clean and tidy.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank wren76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2017

This was our first hotel at the beginning of our trip on Route 66 from Amarillo to Los Angeles. We enjoyed the stay and the room was clean and comfortable. Not your standard hotel but it takes you back in time. Nice to walk over to the Big Texan Steak Ranch.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andre d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

This was now our 5th state after Illinois, Missouri, Kansas and Oklahoma. Arriving in Texas at Amarillo was certainly an experience. It was still early June and the SW was experiencing an unusual heatwave.

After completing our laundry in the laundromat and getting ready for dinner in our air conditioned room, we stepped out at 8pm to cross the car park to the Big Texan for dinner and it was 125F. It was almost like walking out into a blast furnace.

On arrival at the Big Texan Motel the receptionist was on the phone and didn't hang up or apologise, just produced a key for our room after I handed in my hotel booking voucher. There was no explanation that we would perhaps have to book dinner as it was busy or nothing.

Having read the previous reviews I have to tend to agree, room cleanliness was not the best, the novelty saloon swing doors soon became an annoyance, our door lock was not the best and could have done with maintenance and the décor was very, very rough. I am not sure if this was by design to add to the affect, but it was really poorly done.

Without wishing to come across as a Killjoy, the theme is amusing to a point, but it could be done a whole lot classier. To be fair there was a fridge in our room and a pool, shaped like the state of Texas. I have to say though this was the only room on our trip that did not offer an iron and ironing board.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

We arrived here after travelling through flash floods. We opened the door and my husband said it was so bad it was good!
I was not in agreement. The rough wood walls make it feel like you are sleeping in a garden shed.
The saloon doors that swing and bang every time you go through to the clothing space, sink and bathroom are a novelty for 30 seconds. The novelty wears off when they constantly bang throughout the night as the clientele, in the adjoining rooms use their bathroom!
The bedside lamp on my side of the bed did not work. I was already unhappy so my husband investigated. The light did not work as the wire did not reach the electric socket! My husband moved the bed 3 feet and the light could then be plugged in. Surely we were not the first people to stay who found the light did not work?
At 11pm there were still children running around screaming and shouting.
I was up early and we were on the road before 7.30am!
If you have a choice I advise you choose somewhere else.

Room Tip: Doubt any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

Just stayed at the Big Texan Motel in June. I pulled the fitted sheet back to reveal a nasty, soiled mattress pad cover. When they changed the sheets, there was no way they could have missed this. They chose to leave it on the bed and just put a clean sheet over it. Yuck. Shame on them! Thankfully we had 2 queen size beds. The other bed was cleaner looking.

The cleaning crew had left an envelope on the table so you could tip them. Here is my tip. Make sure your guests have clean bedding!

Also, the dead bolt on the door did not work. So I was nervous about that and did not feel totally safe and secure. They need to make sure that all deadbolts are in good working order. So I would say that room maintenance could be better.

Room Tip: Check cleanliness of bedding and check your deadbolt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pawhuska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo East
14.8 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites West Medical Center
16.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Sleep Inn Airport
Sleep Inn Airport
#25 of 72 in Amarillo
156 reviews
16.9 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#17 of 72 in Amarillo
391 reviews
16.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Texan Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Texan Motel

Address: 7701 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79118-6915
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range: ₹ 5,006 - ₹ 7,921 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Big Texan Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Big Texan Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Texan Hotel Amarillo
Big Texan Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing