We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some updating, but it's okay if you like the idea of the theme.”
Review of Big Texan Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Big Texan Motel
Ranked #27 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Shenandoah, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Needs some updating, but it's okay if you like the idea of the theme.”
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for our first night of a 2 week road trip. We planned some sightseeing, roadside America stuff and Amarillo was obviously one. We didn't have hotels booked as we didn't know where we would be each night & wanted to eat at Big Texan. They happened to have a room available, so we stayed.
There needs to be some renovations done. We were on the top floor, Dodge City area I think (the green one), and there was visible damage to the roof. In the morning there were ants all over our toiletry bags and a live roach behind the tissue box. I left this info on the comment card, hopefully it's treated soon.
The kids liked the Texas shaped pool.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MommyJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    180
    109
    50
    35
See reviews for
86
206
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lone Wolf, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2012

For the price we got a broken table lamp, a light fixture hanging off of the bathroom wall and a broken outlet. (part of it was actually broke off.) Peeling wallpaper and baseboard were an extra bonus. We reserved two night and stayed only one. The room was very small with the two beds. However the beds were comfortable. It was an experience we won't forget.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amarillo hotels

Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Very nice for a Motel. Perfect for those who like that Texan theme!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dedear06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

We agree with most of the ambivalent reviews. Okay for a night, but wouldn't stay there again. For the money there are nicer places to stay. Our room was very out-dated. The saloon doors to the bathroom got to be annoying. But mainly you look around & notice the depressingly awful paint, the leaning toilet, nasty jacuzzi bathtub jets, peeling baseboards, then add the wi-fi not working & think "for the money paid I could have stayed in a much nicer place and with the money this place generates, why is this place so run-down? " As for the restaurant, will review that separately, however I will say if you are watching your salt intake take a pass on eating there.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank comforrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We didn't plan on staying here....we stopped and had a great steak at the restaurant, and with full bellies..wandered across the parking lot to the Motel..just to see if they had rooms available. To our surprise, they did and it wasn't a bad price. We probably could have found something cheaper...but, we were full and tired from driving all day. The only thing on our minds was sleep. The hotel is adorable on the outside..and even cuter on the inside. We were in the "alamo" building which is behind the colorful building, right in front of the horse hotel. Yes, the horse hotel. Traveling horses need their sleep, too. The room was VERY comfortable. The decorations are great...me and my husband both loved the wood paneled walls. There's even a heat lamp in the bathroom...which came in handy since my husband turns the A/C on "blizzard" every time we travel. When I woke up the next morning, I sat under it like a lizard, soaking up the warmth. The pool is shaped like Texas...and they encourage you to "swim across Texas". Haha. Fair warning, when you are outside the "alamo" building..you will smell the horses aka manure. But, being from the country..that didn't bother me at all. I enjoyed walking around, looking at them through the fence and talking to the cowboys and girls who were traveling through for a competition. Great hotel. If we are ever in the area again...we will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
1.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo East
2.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo Airport
5.9 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Amarillo Inn & Suites
Amarillo Inn & Suites
#30 of 73 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East
14.8 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 73 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Texan Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Texan Motel

Property: Big Texan Motel
Address: 7701 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79118-6915
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,119 - ₹ 8,100
Number of rooms: 54
Also Known As:
Big Texan Hotel Amarillo
Big Texan Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing