We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
49
40
28
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
40
28
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dog park tent sites great campground train noise hay ride pull through sites full hookups basketball court hook ups clean pool big rigs big texan steakhouse laundry room cable tv traveling through arrived late overnight stop
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

We arrived late and had no problem with the self check in. Bathrooms were spotless and offered hand towels, a small thing you miss when they aren’t there. The layout of tent sites, cabins and rv’s was nice. There was a bit of airplane noise in the early evening but they didn’t fly too late. Our space was spacious and grassy and offered a picnic table and shared water. We didn’t stay long enough to enjoy other amenities.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Amarillo KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

We're happy to have you camp with us overnight and are pleased that you have found things to be well maintained and very spacious. We would love to welcome you back for a longer visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018

This ended our 5 th day from Chicago on Route 66. Old Rte 66 was cut by the airport many years ago, making it a bit complicated on finding the campground when going east to west on 66. We arrived early evening, and then rushed off to Big Texan Steakhouse for dinner, so we basically only slept here. Planes and trains could be heard, but it did not affect our sleep after driving throughout the previous day. We were out by 8:00 am so have very little to say, other than , we are never disappointed with KOA Kabins

Room Tip: Turn up to join I-40 early on from Old 66 which comes to a dead end east of the airport fence requiring a detour up on a rough side road..
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Amarillo KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Thank you so much for camping with us, Larry! We hope that you had a great dinner at the Big Texan Steak Ranch and were able to enjoy your brief time in Amarillo. We were so glad to have you with us and hope to see you again sometime/

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

We frequent many KOAs, this one did have a very clean restroom/shower and a nice pet area. Unfortunately our experience with the employee who took my reservation and then checked us in 30 mins later was not very friendly or helpful. The location is a little more off I-40 than I expected (my fault for not paying attention) and there is a lot train and plane noise. It was also raining when we came through and the roads & some sites were a muddy mess which led to a mess in our RV. It seems they need to put down large gravel on their roads and sites.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 474karim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Amarillo KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thank you for camping with us and for taking the opportunity to leave a review. We are sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will pass along your concerns to our management team. We hope that you will give us another chance to impress again in the future and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

The Amarillo KOA is OK. This is a typical over night RV campground. The sites are clean and well mown with well maintained hookups. They are relatively small and not paved. The roads are gravel with numerous pot holes. Did not see many full-time mobile homes. Overall OK for short stay.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CoolPapaGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Amarillo KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and hope to welcome you back for a future visit sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Very nice and isolated campround. On a board outside the office, all the campsite visitors names were listed welcoming them. We had a pull through with full hookups. Leveling was necessary for our motor home. The only noise was from train tracks near the campsite and quite a few trains begin traveling through early, early in the morning. The laundry room and shower rooms were very clean. Spacing does allow for slide outs, but can be tight with big rigs next to one another. Staff very friendly and take care in keeping the campsites clean after one is vacated.

Room Tip: When it rains it can be fairly muddy.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LeendaDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Amarillo KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our location, full hook-up sites, and friendly staff! We hope to welcome you back again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews