We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 144
US$ 134
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 125
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 103
US$ 95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 125
US$ 119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo(Amarillo)
US$ 115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX(Amarillo)
US$ 109
US$ 91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
44
38
25
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
38
25
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdog parktent sitesgreat campgroundbathrooms and showerstrain noiselight sleeperhay ridefull hookupsbasketball courtpull through siteshook upsbig texan steakhouseclean poolbig rigslaundry roomarrived latecable tv
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed here overnight on our way to California. We would have been better served to keep on driving. The sites were very close together but we could have lived with that as it was only for one night. What we couldn't live with was the train whistles every 10 minutes. It was so loud it sounded like we were camped 5 feet from the tracks. Worst night of sleep I have had in a long time.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Amarillo KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Dan - thank you for camping with us during your recent travels and please accept our sincere apologies for the lack of sleep during your stay. We do our best to ensure everything is perfect at the park and that our guests have a great camping experience. Unfortunately, there are some things that are beyond our control and the trains are one such thing. We do have many guests who enjoy the sound of the trains but we also understand how it can be frustrating. We do hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

We are true KOA customers because we expect a good clean level site when traveling all day. We were so disgusted when driving to our site, that place needs a lot of rock on the roads and the parking spaces. We had to do 3 mph because of all the pot holes mainly on the main road heading to the back we then had to go all across the back then up the outer side. There were so many pot holes and mud, We could not dodge the mud or holes do to the narrow road and or 40 ft Rig. Our sight was so muddy we trashed our rig and truck. Pictures posted. I had to get out a hose and wash all the mud off, After calling the office I was told it was because they had 3 inches of rain. We left in the AM and in was still a mud fest no drainage at all, The roads need lots of rock and grading, I had to kneel in the mud water to undo my JT Strong Arms. We are at KOA Sallisaw today they had 4 inches of rain and its dry. The owner told me he puts out gravel once a month and grades it. He showed me his big rock pile he had on hand. I recommend more time be put on the roads to protect our hard earn investments which are $100 of thousands of dollars, we also work hard to keep our investments clean. I will never go back One thing I would like to add all of our hoses and power cords were nasty I had to clean them all when bringing them in

Room Tip: Do not go if its raining
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank stonefinder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Amarillo KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Thank you for camping with us and for taking the time to leave a review. Please accept our sincere apologies that your stay with us did not exceed your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and pictures and will pass them along to our management team. We hope that you will give us another chance to impress and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

Like most KOAs there are good ones and bad ones. This one is outstanding. Among the pluses are a strong wifi signal, great cable TV and high water pressure. It's clean, boasts spacious sites and the price is fair.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Amarillo KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

It's great to hear that you enjoyed our spacious sites and many amenities, John! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review! We would love to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

The electrical box was so damaged we could not get our plug to stay in. Went to office for assistance but they were closed and no emergency number provided . Other campers came and said there was no power in our area of the campground. Management never came to our campsite or call on cell phone to let us know what the problem was. The next morning we inquired if there would some adjustment since no power and was told it was not their problem.

If you want do not want stay in the cold for best skip stopping here.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank curriculumgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Amarillo KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, electrical issues are never something we want to see a guest deal with and we have spent some time investigating your comments as a result. Unfortunately, we were unable to locate any record of your staying with us as we didn't have a real name to go by from your review. We also shared this incident with our staff members and none reported any guests who complained about electrical issues during their stay. Likewise, we are unaware of any electrical issues at the park either. We do hope you are able to resolve your issue with the correct campground and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

I travel with two small kids so the free WiFi advertised in their brochure at the front desk, billboards around town and on their website was a major draw for staying here. We arrived and they informed us is actually $15/month per device!!! Oh and they also said it's not good enough to run Netflix even if I do buy it at extra charge. I'll pass. Thanks.

So we checked out the playground, another big draw to stay here. The baby swing has a giant chunk missing out of it. Completely Un-usable.

If you're a light sleeper, or your babies are... this park is about a half mile from a major train crossing and every train blows it's horn. All. Night. Long. PLUS as the cry flies it's about 2 miles from the airport. Kind of neat for the kids to be able to see the plans take off so close!! Also very loud.

Heated pool was another big plus they advertised. Granted it's January so this is sort of excusable... pool was shut down and covered.

Electric costs extra and propane is about 30cents more expensive here than at the park we are moving to across town.

We stayed the month of January+ 2 days (granted, it was COLD for most of it) tried to mostly run propane to save on electric costs. So far we've paid
841.92 in rent and electric and $200 in propane!!!!
$100 of it is a refundable electric deposit and I'm unclear if when we leave tomorrow we can expect the full amount back or if they're going to charge per kw we used in the extra 2 days we had to stay. Either way it's cost us about $1000/month to stay here!!!!!!! Our friends across town at the oasis have electric included and have only spent about $500 for the same time we spent here.

Even though they charged an outrageous amount already, they cut us no break on the cost of the two extra nights we stayed over a month and charged us the standard daily rate. Poor customer service on that part.
The staff was very friendly and the laundromat very clean! But that's all the nice things I can say about this place. It is sooooo over priced. I can get over all of the other stuff if we weren't paying diuvle to stay at a park half as nice as others nearby.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
Thank Jessy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Amarillo KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, Jessy. Please accept our sincere apologies that you were not satisfied with your stay. We do thank you for choosing to camp with us for a month. Upon check-in, you were notified of our fee for the wi-fi access for our monthly and seasonal campers. Free wi-fi access is available for our overnight and short-term guests. The extra two nights that you mention were added on to your stay after your check-in and therefore were not included in your initial monthly rate. We appreciate your feedback and will pass along your comments to our management team. We wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews