We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Reunion”

Green Chile Willy's Grill
Ranked #14 of 571 Restaurants in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 February 2016

My wife and I were hosting a family reunion and wanted to provide our guests with some real Texas cuisine prior to attending the Texas Show at Palo Duro Canyon State Park. Almost everyone was willing to try the Chicken Fried Steak with the Green Chili Sauce. Portions are generous and the sides are to "die for." I always recommend newcomers to try the fried corn. (Don't jump to the conclusion that the corn is deep fried. It isn't. It is sauteed in a skillet. A couple of folks tried the hamburger. They weren't disappointed and, in fact, commented that it was the best hamburger they've ever eaten.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank teds759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2016

Green Chili Willies may not be for everyone but it is a great country cooking place serving comfort food. The chicken fried steaks are great and the sides are perfect. You really need to experience the fried pecan pie with a large portion of ice cream on top. It is busy but worth the wait

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Donlin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2015

Small, "hole in the wall" type of place. Had high expectations but it wasn't the greatest. The chicken fried steaks were average and pretty small compared to other restaurants in Texas. Fries had potential to be great but were soggy. Would eat there again bc the low-key atmosphere was neat.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TeamTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2015 via mobile

Anytime the menu says hand breaded chicken fried steak I'm gonna try it and then your gonna put gravy and green chilies on top? Yummy! So good and tender you can cut it with your fork! Sure they have other things on the menu that are probably good too but that green chili chicken fry will always be my choice!

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Tracie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015

We thought green chile was a New Mexico specialty....were we ever wrong! I had a huge green chile cheeseburger topped with whole grilled green chiles that were out of this world for flavor. My wife had the chicken fried chicken with gravy laced with green chile and it was so tasty. The place was packed with locals so we had to wait about ten minutes but it was worth the wait and the wait staff was so friendly and typical Panhandle courteous.
The restaurant is a little hidden as it is next to an overpass on the east side of I-27 and about 10 miles south of Amarillo, It sits on a one-way frontage road in a corrugated building with a real West Texas decor inside. Its worth the short drive out of town!

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Adventure810018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green Chile Willy's Grill also viewed

 

Been to Green Chile Willy's Grill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing