We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay here again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Abilene
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Abilene
Austin, TX
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Will stay here again!”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We travel for my daughters golf tournaments all over the country and like to stay at HIEX because of the white bed linens. This HIEX was the best we've stayed in this summer(this was the 8th one we've stayed in since summer started).

The staff was top notch. Cassandra greeted us on arrival, she was friendly with valuable info about the area. Joe was there for the remainder of our stay not only was he most helpful at every turn, he was generally interested in my daughters tournament and would cheer her on. The gym is the best I've seen in any of the HIEX. Breakfast similar to any HIEX. Housekeeping was very accommodating with our requests and were all really friendly and ready to help and with a smile too. If ever I need to go to Abilene I will stay here.

One con is that it may be a little difficult to find at 1st but after you get there you can easily figure out how to get around.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thegolfingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    39
    22
    4
    6
See reviews for
45
12
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sonora, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I want to thank the excellent staff for their willingness to go “above and beyond the call of duty” to help us have a wonderful experience at this hotel. Your staff were great and we will be staying with you again!

Room Tip: This hotel is behind the Clarion Hotel and is a little hard to find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLuttrell123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here one night while passing through town and was pleasantly surprised. Much better than typical three star hotel. Clean room, excellent but not fancy breakfast buffet, very friendly and helpful staff. Would recommend this to friends and family any time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I got up yesterday morning and opened the room door to get my paper. No paper. I go to the front desk and tell them and was told they didn't know why I didn't get it and they were out of papers. She checked to be sure the computer showed me as a Priority Club Platinum member (the highest level) and one place did but the screen for the papers didn't. I assumed she would fix the problem. I shouldn't have.

I get up today, open the door for my paper, and again no paper. I go to the front desk and the clerk told me only priority club members get them and there wasn't enough papers for even them. There were 30 guests and 10 papers, 5 or 6 of which I noticed were by the breakfast area. She said when there aren't enough papers for all of the Priority Club members the higher-tiers of the club get them. I told her I was Platinum (the highest tier) and she looked at her computer and again it didn't show me as even being a member. I was already mad about not getting an upgraded room when I checked in and had her check that screen again also. She said that screen did show me as a Platinum member but the paper delivery screen still did not show me as even being a member. So much for the previous-mornings' clerk fixing the problem.

I then asked her if the problem would be fixed the next time I stayed here in a couple months and she said Hopefully it would. That usually means the person is hopeful someone else will fix the problem and she most likely wouldn't be the one checking me in next time.

There won't be a next time. There are many other nice places to stay in the area and I will be at one of them.

This may sound picky but it's not the fact I didn't get a paper. It's the fact I had to get in my car and drive to a gas station and buy one, but mainly because the clerk did not even try to fix the problem.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike3412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Abilene was far from perfect. This hotel has alot to improve on!! Lets start with the front desk staff. As I walked into the building, the front desk staff was sitting down on their butts expecting me to approach them for check in. As a hotel employee myself, I would never allow this to happen!! It looks lazy and tacky. They should be standing and greeting each guest as they enter. The front desk staff also needs to check guests ID when someone looses a room key. I unfortunately misplaced my room key and it was incredibly easy to have it replaced. Thank god it wasnt a theif who could of stolen my ipad and labtop that was in the room. Please learn to check identification!! Next, the pull out sofa couch needs to be prepared with sheets already on it. It was late at night and the last thing I wanted to do was "make" my bed. They should fix this problem by having the bed premade and the pillows in a drawer. The bed should be ready for me to pull-out and fall asleep on. In the room, I needed to call the front desk for a simple question, but its as if, they dont want phone calls. there is no # on the room phone to dial directly to the front desk. I eventually guessed the number 0 and it rang the desk. Also the general manager needs to completely put a stop to his employees SMOKING by the front door!!! I didnt like walking thru a cloud of smoke before entering the building!!!! If this happened at my hotel, those staff members would be instantly terminated!!!!!!

It would also be nice to be greeted by all staff members too!! Like I mentioned, this hotel is far from perfect. Next time Im coming into Abilene, I will choose another hotel because its the little things that add up and make a difference.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brandon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abilene hotels
3.2 km away
Holiday Inn Abilene - North College Area
0.7 km away
TownePlace Suites Abilene Northeast
10.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Abilene Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Comfort Suites University
3.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Abilene I-20
10.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Abilene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Abilene? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Abilene

Property: Holiday Inn Express Abilene
Address: 1802 E Overland Trl, Abilene, TX 79601-6604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Abilene
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Abilene
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,297 - ₹ 10,526
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Abilene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are coming to Abilene for business or pleasure let the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites be your home away from home. Conveniently located off I-20 we are the choice of travelers to Abilene Christian University (ACU) and Hardin-Simmons University (HSU). We offer you trouble free high-speed Internet access, comfortable pillow top beds and plush towels in our 300 sq. ft. rooms. If you need a little more space we also have 350 sq. ft. suites to make your stay that much more enjoyable. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Abilene gives you ease of access to all the major attractions in Abilene like Frontier Texas, Taylor County Expo Center, West Texas Fairgrounds, Civic Center, Abilene Zoo, Shotwell Stadium, Paramount Theatre, 12th Armored Division Memorial Museum, Dyess AFB, Bus Station and downtown Abilene. Our location also places you near major companies such as, Region 14 Coca-Cola, the USPS Distribution Center, and the Worlds Largest Wind Farm. When it is time to start your day come and enjoy our deluxe hot Continental breakfast with a varied menu that can offer anything from cheese omelets, bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs to lighter fare such as assorted yogurt and muffins. We know it will be a great start to your day. Come and relax with family we would love to have you and thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Abilene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Abilene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Abilene Hotel Abilene
Holiday Inn Abilene
Abilene Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing