We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
101
83
40
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
101
83
40
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews convention center front desk blair county stayed one night in town the room was nice bed was comfortable business trip would stay again bistro lobby sheryl hilltop dust funeral accommodations linens
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2016

I regularly stay at the Courtyard Marriott when visiting Altoona for business. The hotel caters to business travelers as it is adjacent to the convention center. The hotel lobby is very well acquainted and the bistro provides a variety of options for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The staff are pleasant and helpful. The location is convenient to many locations in and around Altoona, but the hotel itself is isolated and requires driving to get anywhere. However, there are several restaurants and bars within a 5 minute drive. The biggest disappointment about the hotel is the fitness room – the facility is extremely small and has only the most limited equipment.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank steamin89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

Dear steamin89,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I’m pleased to learn that your stay was enjoyable. We appreciate your compliments which highlight what we are doing well and your recommendations for areas of improvement. Your review is valuable because it is how we monitor and improve our guest experience. Thanks again and we are humbled by your return visit.

Best,
Katie Millward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016

We were attending the Bruce Springsteen concert in State College and this was the closest hotel we could find. We checked in on the way to the concert and got back around 1:00 a.m. After showers, we hit the rack and the beds and pillows were wonderful - very firm (we especially hate limp, floppy pillows and that was not the case here). We slept in the next morning ('til 8:30) and the curtains kept our room very dark for sleep and the soundproofing was excellent as well. We had seen on Yelp or somewhere that no coffee was available but it was in our room (maybe they meant downstairs). The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly at check-in, check-out, and in providing directions to a place where we could get a late breakfast (we didn't make it downstairs in time so have no review on the food there). We'd definitely stay again. One minor item: there is no hair dryer, so plan accordingly.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank j k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2016

Dear j k,

Our associates make sincere hospitality their priority. We appreciate hearing from you and are glad to know you enjoyed our hotel and the level of service we provide. We look forward to seeing you upon your return to the area!

Best,
Katie Millward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

Good hotel. Good service and a nice room. However was suppose to get a king and got queens instead which was quasi comfortable. Restaurant not open for lunch. Bummer for a business traveler. Restaurant/ bar adequate but not one of my favorites.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
Thank camelsolutions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2016

Dear camelsolutions,

As our valued guest, we appreciate your feedback. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback, which outlines both strengths and areas for improvement, is integral to enhancing our services. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Best,
Katie Millward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2016

Service was excellent, however that was the only positive thing about our stay. Our reservation was incorrect, our room viewed the hotel's trash dump, the room was cramped and in desperate need of updating, the small frig did not work, no microwave, no pillows for the sleeper sofa. We will not stay here again! The worst part is that I took the time to fill out the hotel survey they sent to me and I gave a detailed reply of the issues. The response I received from the Altoona Courtyard Marriott was a 'canned' response that reflected that she never read One Word of my survey and apologized with a "I am sure this was an isolated incident.' I guess that means that we received the ONLY outdated room look at the trash dump in the entire hotel. Lucky us!! The hotel also could not keep pool towels available.

Room Tip: Beware of main floor rooms that actually view the hotel trash dump!
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlanham5609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2016

Dear jlanham5609,

I’m sorry that our accommodations were not to your liking; please forgive us. Additionally, I apologize for your disappointment with the view outside of your room. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority and I regret that we left you with a poor impression. Your feedback is welcomed as it encourages improvements. It was very kind of you to note our friendly associates. Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us.

Sincerely,
Katie Millward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2016

Staff was very friendly. Place was clean. Comfortable beds. The cafe was OK a little pricey. Too bad you can't walk at night to any of the nearby restaurants. Great place for an overnight stop. We got a great rate too.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2016

Dear Anne C,

We're happy to hear from you! It's great to know that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms as well as our friendly staff. We value your feedback which highlights our successes and areas for improvement as it allows us to monitor and improve upon the guest experience. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the area.

Best,
Katie Millward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews