We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel for Business Travelers!”
Review of Courtyard Altoona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Altoona
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Reviewed 5 May 2016

I have stayed at this hotel several times while in the area on business. The staff are friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet. I love the free popcorn when you check in. Beds are great.

Being next to the convention center, there is no road noise. Hotel is convenient to local shopping and restaurants.

The only downside is that the service at the bistro is a little slow in the morning.

Room Tip: Request a room on higher floors and away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2016

Dear William S,

Welcome back! Thanks for your time in reviewing your experience. It’s encouraging to know you enjoy our quiet location and accommodations. Your recommendation is appreciated; our associates work hard to provide a pleasant stay. We look forward to your next visit.

Best,
Katie Millward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2016

I regularly stay at the Courtyard Marriott when visiting Altoona for business. The hotel caters to business travelers as it is adjacent to the convention center. The hotel lobby is very well acquainted and the bistro provides a variety of options for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The staff are pleasant and helpful. The location is convenient to many locations in and around Altoona, but the hotel itself is isolated and requires driving to get anywhere. However, there are several restaurants and bars within a 5 minute drive. The biggest disappointment about the hotel is the fitness room – the facility is extremely small and has only the most limited equipment.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank steamin89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

Dear steamin89,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I’m pleased to learn that your stay was enjoyable. We appreciate your compliments which highlight what we are doing well and your recommendations for areas of improvement. Your review is valuable because it is how we monitor and improve our guest experience. Thanks again and we are humbled by your return visit.

Best,
Katie Millward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016

We were attending the Bruce Springsteen concert in State College and this was the closest hotel we could find. We checked in on the way to the concert and got back around 1:00 a.m. After showers, we hit the rack and the beds and pillows were wonderful - very firm (we especially hate limp, floppy pillows and that was not the case here). We slept in the next morning ('til 8:30) and the curtains kept our room very dark for sleep and the soundproofing was excellent as well. We had seen on Yelp or somewhere that no coffee was available but it was in our room (maybe they meant downstairs). The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly at check-in, check-out, and in providing directions to a place where we could get a late breakfast (we didn't make it downstairs in time so have no review on the food there). We'd definitely stay again. One minor item: there is no hair dryer, so plan accordingly.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank j k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2016

Dear j k,

Our associates make sincere hospitality their priority. We appreciate hearing from you and are glad to know you enjoyed our hotel and the level of service we provide. We look forward to seeing you upon your return to the area!

Best,
Katie Millward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

Good hotel. Good service and a nice room. However was suppose to get a king and got queens instead which was quasi comfortable. Restaurant not open for lunch. Bummer for a business traveler. Restaurant/ bar adequate but not one of my favorites.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
Thank camelsolutions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2016

Dear camelsolutions,

As our valued guest, we appreciate your feedback. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback, which outlines both strengths and areas for improvement, is integral to enhancing our services. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Best,
Katie Millward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2016

Service was excellent, however that was the only positive thing about our stay. Our reservation was incorrect, our room viewed the hotel's trash dump, the room was cramped and in desperate need of updating, the small frig did not work, no microwave, no pillows for the sleeper sofa. We will not stay here again! The worst part is that I took the time to fill out the hotel survey they sent to me and I gave a detailed reply of the issues. The response I received from the Altoona Courtyard Marriott was a 'canned' response that reflected that she never read One Word of my survey and apologized with a "I am sure this was an isolated incident.' I guess that means that we received the ONLY outdated room look at the trash dump in the entire hotel. Lucky us!! The hotel also could not keep pool towels available.

Room Tip: Beware of main floor rooms that actually view the hotel trash dump!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlanham5609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2016

Dear jlanham5609,

I’m sorry that our accommodations were not to your liking; please forgive us. Additionally, I apologize for your disappointment with the view outside of your room. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority and I regret that we left you with a poor impression. Your feedback is welcomed as it encourages improvements. It was very kind of you to note our friendly associates. Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us.

Sincerely,
Katie Millward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altoona
1.3 km away
Hampton Inn Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona
#1 of 15 in Altoona
850 reviews
13 km away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#3 of 15 in Altoona
439 reviews
3.1 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 15 in Altoona
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Altoona
3.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Altoona
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Altoona? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Altoona

Address: 2 Convention Center Dr, Altoona, PA 16602-5660
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range: ₹ 6,416 - ₹ 14,582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Altoona 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Altoona hotel is meticulously designed for the business and pleasure traveler alike. Enjoy the comfort, style and functionality of our modern lobby featuring The Bistro. Eat-Drink-Connect in The Bistro offering delicious breakfast and dinner options as well as cocktails and Starbucks(R) coffee. This Altoona hotel is conveniently connected to the Blair County Convention Center and is just minutes from a variety of restaurants such as Outback Steakhouse, TGI Friday's, and Jethros. The Courtyard Altoona hotel is ideally located in the heart of Altoona and just minutes from many area attractions: Lakemont Park, DelGrosso Park, Pennsylvania Rails to Trails, Blue Knob Ski Resort, Horseshoe Curve National Historic Landmark, and the Altoona Railroaders Memorial Museum. Relax in comfortable guest rooms and stay productive with free Wi-Fi. Unwind in the Indoor Pool, Whirlpool or Fitness Center. Visit the Courtyard Altoona hotel, offering unparalleled service and style among hotels in Altoona! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott and Booking.com so you can book your Courtyard Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Altoona Hotel Altoona
Altoona Courtyard
Altoona Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing