We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“This place met our needs” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Altoona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Altoona
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence
Greensburg, PA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This place met our needs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

This hotel was a good place for what we expected. We stayed for one night and it was clean and the bed was comfy. The location was great and i would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dennis1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey C, Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel on February 12. We appreciate our guests sharing their experiences from their stays at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you in the future. It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Sincerely,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Altoona Hampton Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    129
    33
    14
    7
See reviews for
234
93
19
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

great experience. I recommend this hotel. Good food, clean rooms. WIll stay there again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dizwiz24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your lodging needs while in Altoona. It was a pleasure having you stay with us!

Best Wishes,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

We stayed at the Hampton Inn, Altoona recently while visiting family. The hotel staff was the only bright spot. They were friendly and accommodating. We were mistakenly given a room with 2 double beds but were moved to a King quickly.

The hotel itself is really showing its age. Carpet is worn, walls are scratched and dented, and the fitness center is the worst I have seen in quite a while. There are 2 treadmills and one eliptical machine. The eliptical machine did not work, and the treadmills were very out of date. There were no free weights or other equipment. The room furnishings were also very outdated. For the price ($120+), I expected something more up to Hampton standards. We are Hilton Honors members, but the next time we may consider the Courtyard by Marriott.

Room Tip: Stay away from 1st floor rooms to avoid the noise from the sports bar patrons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us, but more importantly for taking the time to let us know how we did during your stay. I am so sorry that your opinion of the property was not up to the Hampton standard. In 2012 we will be upgrading our lobby area to the Hampton Perfect Mix lobby and making a number of upgrades to the guest rooms, fitness center and other areas of the hotel. Hopefully these extensive upgrades will entice you to try us again in the future.

Thank you very much for taking the time to send a review concerning your stay!

Best Wishes!

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phila Area
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

I was here for a 2 day business trip. The first thing I have to say is: Do NOT USE TomTom GPS directions!!!!!! I ended up on the side of some mountain in some guys driveway and this was with a TomTom that just had a map update a few weeks ago. Apparently this happens all the time. The hotel's staff said they have been trying to get it corrected for some time, without much luck. I submitted it to TomTom as a Map Share update, so hopefully it gets corrected.

Now about the Hotel: It is very conviently located, right off the main highway, across the street from the mall. It is also in between a Champs Sports Bar and a Cracker Barrel, so you can walk to get something to eat is you need to. The staff was very friendly. My room and the common area all were very, very clean. They obviously pay attention to this. The room was a nice...yes the carpet was thin in one spot, but no big deal. It did have a flat screen and contrary to other reviews, I would not consider it outdated. They also had a better channel selection than some of the hotels I have visited recently (nice for me...I could watch my favorite FX show!)

The breakfast was great. Lots of perfectly cooked eggs, hash browns etc. A lot the energy company workers stay here and they obviously need to fuel up on breakfast before heading out. The hotel appears to be supplying a big breakfast load to accomidate this.

Overall, I would say it was an excellent stay and I would return when in the area. (I just won't trust my gps :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MasterTravelMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel while you were in the Atloona area. Using a GPS can be challenging in a rural area like Altoona, but I am glad to hear that you were able to get to the hotel with minimal issues. We are proud of being able to offer some of the largest television channel selections in the Altoona market. I am very excited to hear that you enjoyed our large breakfast as we have added some options in the past couple of months that make it that much more hearty and filling.

Thanks again for staying and I hope you stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed here over Thanksging weekend while visiting family. Great location for Black Friday shopping, just across the street from the regional mall with Macy's. Very friendly, helpful staff but rooms weren't cleaned after noon on Saturday. Desk manager helped out delivering fresh towels and coffee supplies so no big deal. Hotel is starting to really show it's age-worn wood, thin carpet, some unusual smells. Fitness room has 3 old machines, no weights or universals. Altoona is okay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmocap2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thank you so much for staying with us. I apologize for the Housekeeping team not cleaning your room on Saturday and I have already spoken to them about this. We are going to be renovating the hotel very soon, including guest room carpet and some case good replacement. The lobby area will also be renovated to the Hampton Inn "Perfect Mix" lobby during 2012 which is a very exciting development.

Again thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to let us know how we are doing!

J Cipriani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Altoona hotels
4.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
12.4 km away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 12 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
12.5 km away
Days Inn & Suites Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
1.3 km away
Courtyard Altoona
Courtyard Altoona
#7 of 12 in Altoona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.7 km away
Altoona Grand Hotel
Altoona Grand Hotel
#9 of 12 in Altoona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Altoona? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Altoona

Property: Hampton Inn Altoona
Address: 180 Charlotte Dr, Altoona, PA 16601-9350
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Altoona
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,765 - ₹ 14,167
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Altoona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Altoona hotel locates off I-99 and West Plank Road in Altoona, Pennsylvania. Rest in a spacious guest room or one-bedroom suite with free high-speed internet, 37-inch HDTV, clean and fresh Hampton bed, free hot breakfast in the morning, and access to our indoor pool, hot tub and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Altoona Hotel Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona Pa
Altoona Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing