We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Altoona
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence
Kennebunks, Maine
2 reviews
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

We almost always stay at Hampton Inn on roadtrips since they are consistently clean, comfortable and affordable. This particular hotel was clean. However, the beds were smaller than usual and the room seemed somewhat outdated. At $125/night for the AAA rate in rural PA we felt this hotel was not a good value.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your travel needs. I apologize if you felt the room rate was too expensive. We will be undergoing replacement of case goods in the guest rooms and also carpet as well as a full remodel of our lobby to the Hampton Inn "Perfect Mix" lobby in 2012. We look forward to you returning and staying with us to enjoy these upgrades.

Sincerely,

J Cipriani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    134
    33
    14
    7
See reviews for
258
100
23
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fonthill
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

A clean, enticing place to put down one's head after a five hour drive in the dark on challenging Pennslyvania side roads

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuthorFonthill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments concerning our hotel. We pride ourselves on having clean and comfortable accomodations for all or our guests. Thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning our hotel and to let us know how we are doing.

Regards,

J. Cipriani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Had to change my hotel location from Indiana (PA) due to unanticipated date change for move-in day at IUP, then had to add an extra day prior to arrival with Hurricane Irene forcing an evacuation from home. The staff was extremely helpful with processing the additional day, and were very friendly throughout the stay. The hotel lobby is fresh, but the hotel rooms were slightly dated. The linens, duvet and towels were excellent "Hampton-quality" items. Overall a nice stay. Depending on your taste, the hotel shares a parking lot with a Cracker Barrel and a Sports Bar (empty beer bottles left on my car trunk overnight - thanks for that). That said, I would recommend for location, overall cleanliness and price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hoofhearted02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cipjeff, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
I am glad to hear that we could provide you with clean and comfortable lodging and am happy that you chose our hotel. I apologize for the beer bottle situation and will look into how that might have happened.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Altoona Hampton Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

My son and I stayed here as we toured some of the attractions Pennsylvania has to offer between the Laurel Highlands and Altoona. You can tell that this was not one of the newer Hamptons. The A/C still has a knob on the unit instead of a wall thermostat, and there were no easy to reach outlets by the night stand so that we can plug in the portable electronics that double as our alarm clocks. However, neither of those items were a negative for us. The room was a comfortable temperature, and we managed being more than 2 feet away from the cell phone for a little while. The room was clean, the bathroom was clean, the TV had plenty of channels, and we could easily walk to Cracker Barrel for dinner. The morning breakfast was good as we expect from Hampton Inn, and the service staff both at check in and check out was very friendly.

The pool looked nice and no one was in it - wished we had brought bathing suits...

We would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flightlessbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cipjeff, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Thank you again for choosing to stay at our hotel! It is always nice to get feedback from our valued guests.

Thanks again and if you are in the area in the future we hope that you will stay with us again!

Regards,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Altoona Hampton Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

My travels take me to Altoona, Pa every month. The Hampton Inn, Altoona is the most welcoming hotel I have ever stayed at. The staff is by far the BEST, professional, caring, and completely accommmodating. You will not be disappointed !!! I will be back !!!
Sam/Livonia, Mi.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverDollarSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cipjeff, Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out a report on our hotel!. It is always great to see you and wondferul to have your stay with us!

Hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Altoona hotels
12.4 km away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 15 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
4.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
2.0 km away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
Days Inn & Suites Altoona
0.7 km away
Altoona Grand Hotel
Altoona Grand Hotel
#8 of 15 in Altoona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.3 km away
Courtyard Altoona
Courtyard Altoona
#7 of 15 in Altoona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Altoona? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Altoona

Property: Hampton Inn Altoona
Address: 180 Charlotte Drive, Altoona, PA 16601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,861 - ₹ 14,704
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Altoona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Altoona hotel locates off I-99 and West Plank Road in Altoona, Pennsylvania. Rest in a spacious guest room or one-bedroom suite with free high-speed internet, 37-inch HDTV, clean and fresh Hampton bed, free hot breakfast in the morning, and access to our indoor pool, hot tub and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Altoona Hotel Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona Pa
Altoona Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing