We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and Relaxing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adamstown Inns & Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Adamstown Inns & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 3 Adamstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Quiet and Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2006

We stayed at the Amythest Inn for our second wedding anniversary and could not have enjoyed ourselves more. The inn was beautifully restored and you could tell that pains had been taken to preserve the authenticity of the home. The hosts were warm wonderful people whom really seem to enjoy opening their home(s) to other people. And Cecil is a cutie pie.

Adamstown is just far enough off the beaten path to be quiet and quaint and just close enough that everything is very accessible. Dave's Diner down the street was great for a quick dinner and the Black Angus tavern fullfilled our need for a fancy schmancy anniversary dinner. Ice cream at Breningers (?) up the road was terrific.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    25
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
126
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2006

The room was rather nice but the connecting door to the adjacent room allowed all noise to come through. It clearly interferred with a quiet peaceful weekend. The owners never introduced themselves to us or thanked us for coming. The web site promised a complimentary bottle of champagne and cd if you are celebrating your anniversary - which we were and they were told. No champagne, no cd. Breakfast very disappointing - breads/muffins from mixes, cold cereal, fruit, and some cheese. I will not be returning.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2005

We were guests at the Amethyst Inn for two nights (one of the two inns that are about a block apart). We stayed in the Amber Room, which was gorgeous (see pic on website). Black wrought iron king bed with tons of pillows and bedding, giant spa tub, massage shower. And see-through fireplace in between the bedroom and bathroom!

We have a preschooler and toddler at home, so to get away for two nights is rare and relaxing! Amethyst Inn fit the bill. My husband spent some time reading on the beautiful porch, while I relaxed on the huge comfy bed or took a warm bath...heaven!

The innkeepers were very accessible and helpful. Breakfast was yummy - don't miss the hot chocolate with whipped cream! We liked the fact that although the dining room was intimate, the tables were separate, unlike a lot of B&B's. Just our preference - we get so little alone time we enjoyed the intimacy of a small table for two.

A nice touch was a bag of Ghiardelli chocolates or candies left on our pillows each day.

My only small disappointment - the website says that couples who are there for their anniversary (we were) will receive a complimentary bottle of bubbly and a romantic CD. I know they had our anniversary noted (I saw the reference card), but we never saw the bubbly or CD. I felt strange mentioning it to them so I let it go.

All in all, though, it was a great place to relax and get romantic! Lovely.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Micky112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2005

My girl and I stayed at the Amethyst Inn on New Year Eve for a nice quit getaway and we were not disappointed. We stay in the Ruby Suite that was nicely decorated, has two fireplaces one in the bed room and another in the sitting room. It also had a whirlpool tub for two and steam shower. The owners of the inn are very warm people and make feel like you are home. The breakfast was wonderful we had fresh fruit, cheese, homemade granola and homemade muffins. This a small Inn that pay special attention to detail you will not be disappointed. If you are in to antique shops there is vast number of shop around the area.
My girl friend and I can wait to go back again.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester Center, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2004

We stayed at the Amethyst Inn which is part of Adamstown Inn. The Inn keepers are down to earth- warm and friendly, informative-yet respect your privacy. Our room "the garnet room" was very romantic ...canopy king bed, fireplace, whirlpool tub for two and steam shower. We had a balcony outside our room with a swing. There is alot of attention to detail here. If your looking for a small Inn with special attention to detail and a place for romance this is it. There were chocolates on our bed when we arrived and danty flowers, crystal, and fresh fruit and homemade goodies , granola for breakfast- sherry, coffee,tea and hot chocolate and cookies were available at all times.
I like the fact that they had seperate tables for breakfast unlike alot of B&B's. There are numerous antique shops in area and 20mintues from Lancaster. About an hour from Gettysburg. Great, quiet location. Highly recommend. You will not be disappointed.

Helpful?
12 Thank kw1194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adamstown
3.9 km away
Comfort Inn of Lancaster County North
21.3 km away
The Inn at Leola Village
23.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.6 km away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
6.2 km away
Brownstone Colonial Inn
Brownstone Colonial Inn
#1 of 2 in Reinholds
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
3.6 km away
Black Horse Lodge and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adamstown Inns & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adamstown Inns & Cottages

Property: Adamstown Inns & Cottages
Address: 144 W Main St, Adamstown, PA 19501-5011
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Adamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Adamstown
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,967 - ₹ 10,407
Hotel Class:3 star — Adamstown Inns & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adamstown Inns & Cottages, a Lancaster PA Bed and Breakfasts located in the heart of Antiques Capital in Lancaster County’s Amish country. We are minutes from outlet shopping, historical sites and golf ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Adamstown Inns & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing