We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our luxurious home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Country Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #4 of 31 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Puyallup
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our luxurious home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

This is a long overdue, glowing review of Country Willows Inn in Ashland Oregon. We just had the pleasure of visiting on a perfect April weekend and were among the first to dine in the new, stunning breakfast room. This was our sixteenth year staying at Country Willows and each stay makes us want to come back. When Kara and Dan Burian took ownership a few years ago they had big shoes to fill (we adored the two previous sets of innkeepers) but they are a delight. They have managed to make this place entirely their own, but still kept the charm and the memories.

Country Willows is just two short miles from town, but feels secluded, quiet and spacious. We often find ourselves forgoing the excellent nearby restaurant options in favor of bringing a picnic meal back from town (augmented with cookies and iced tea from the inn) and eating on the front deck while watching the birds, the deer, the geese, the dragonflies. During the hot days we can stay cool on the breezy upstairs balcony or by dipping our toes in the pool. I look forward to our summer trip when the we can sit outside the new breakfast room, enjoying the views of the fields and hills.

Breakfasts are always fabulous here, but meals on this trip exceeded our already high expectations. Food is expertly prepared, inventive and ample without being excessive. Small pastries, rich coffee and tea are available an hour before meal service. Breakfasts typically begin with juice and a fruit dish – some examples, grapes in a yogurt, toasted fennel and tarragon sauce or fresh strawberries topped with a tart/sweet sabayon sauce. Innkeeper Daniel Trevallee served us scrambled eggs with feta and goat cheese on roasted vegetables that had me pausing between each forkful to ask how he could make eggs taste that light and wonderful. We all know our way around a plate of scrambled eggs, but these were unlike anything I had ever tasted before. They were surpassed only by the next day’s perfectly poached eggs on a bed of caramelized onions and polenta, sprinkled with mushroom duxelles. Even the “sweet” options are filling and not cloying as one often finds with typical sticky, sugary B&B casserole breakfasts. This morning’s offering was a puffed “pancake” (think scone/muffin texture) topped with cottage & cream cheese, lemon thyme cream and warm blueberry compote. Most meals are served with a side of lean, flavorful sausage, but the meal is satisfying enough for those of us who want to forego the meat option.

The new breakfast room just opened earlier this month. It is bright and spacious with huge windows made for daydreaming or drinking that fourth or fifth cup of coffee. It is a vast improvement over the previous cozy but cramped breakfast room in the house. The placement of the tables will still allow for chatting across tables and sharing play reviews or for privacy as the guests choose. The choices of bright, inside dining or sunny outside tables should please all diners, though I can see how the stairs might be daunting to some visitors. The new building masterfully ties in with the barn and the outbuilding. Once the landscaping takes over and the wood railings are weather-worn I imagine it will look like it was always meant to be there.

The inn has nine rooms, all with private bathrooms – four in the house, four in the barn and a separate cottage near the pool. There are great variations in size and room amenities (but we all get the same breakfast!) We often stay in Willow, a large room with an inviting king-sized bed and a small sitting area. We have the run of the house with plenty of places to read and a television set downstairs with an eclectic collection of movies.

Kara, Dan and Daniel are calm, engaging and hospitable. We feel welcome and comfortable as soon as we walk in the door and Dan and Kara felt like old friends as soon as we met them. Bringing Daniel back to the inn was a stroke of genius. I suspect his quiet efficiency – and that of the friendly staff – has much to do with the Inn’s success. We try to be good guests, but on this visit we seemed to be interrupting Kara often, peppering her with questions and requests. She remained unflappably gracious and often gave more than we asked for. A request to photograph baby geese and ducks in their pen in the garage turned into an impromptu romp on the lawn, feeding, petting and photographing the little ones. Last summer Dan treated us to a lovely guitar concert on the lawn, singing old favorites while we were served wine, cheese and fruit. It was a memorable evening and a highlight of our trip. I hope we will again have the opportunity to enjoy such a wonderful evening on our return summer visit.

Coming to Country Willows feels like coming home. So much so that I often reach for our garage door opener as we turn into the front drive. We hate to leave but always look forward to our return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana_and_Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karabu, Owner at Country Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review! It's always a pleasure to have you stay with us at the inn, and we can't wait to see you again soon. We wanted to let you know that we will have an elevator for folks that prefer not to take the steps to the breakfast room. The new elevator should be installed within the next 2 to 3 weeks, so enjoying the views from our new breakfast room and deck will be a breeze for everyone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    4
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
113
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

This is our second time to stay here. Same room. The HUGE difference now is DANIEL. He is very good at what he does. A bit modest. Excellent chef. Warm. You can see he puts his heart as well as his mad skills into his work. The newer owners are lucky to have him.

There have been a few nice upgrades. There is a new dining room being built and it is going to be really nice! We really enjoyed our stay in the Pine Ridge Suite. When Daniel showed us to our room he already had the fireplace going. I came back both afternoons we were there to enjoy the dry sherry and one night had a sip of both the sherry and the port they offer in the man den.

We did a superbowl spread and walked the trail up behind the property. I fed the sweet goat and barn kitty and brought home some really neat pine cones that when letting go fall and break into perfect rosettes.

We will return and urge you to enjoy some time here as well. I know we were there at the least attractive time of year for the beautiful grounds and pool, but enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: Pine Ridge Suite is our fav
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011


We thoroughly enjoyed our four nights over Thanksgiving. Everything was flawless. Daniel's breakfasts were amazing, our rooms were large and comfortable, we truley looked forward to the afternoon baked goods that were always delicious, the grounds were beautiful, and we were always made to feel welcomed and appreciated. We can't imagine a better or more relaxing inn to stay at while in Ashland.

We look forward to returning to the Country Willows every time we are in Ashland.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glkmnarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karabu, Owner at Country Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for your wonderful review! You can count on us doing everything possible to make your stay unforgetable every time. We look for ward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

Everything about the Country Willows B and B is wonderful. This was our first time stay at the Willows B and B although not our first to Ashland, and I absolutely LOVED everything about this gracious and charming place and its lovely, welcoming staff and owner. The Willows is located just a few short miles from the center of busy downtown Ashland, but it easily feels as though you're in a rural oasis as the inn is situated on beautiful country grounds replete with acres of vegetable gardens and fruit trees, ponds and even a couple of goats.
The Willows has individual cottage suites as well as rooms situated in the large main house. The Hayloft Suite in which my husband and I stayed had a fireplace in a good size living area as well as a kitchen and lovely bath with a jacuzzi tub.
Enough can not be said about the magnificent breakfasts. They are just that - a three course delight with wonderfully creative menus that feature the fresh produce from their backyard gardens. Each morning of our 4 day stay was a delight and the most pleasant way to start the day, The Willows chef along with Kara very generously shared their lovely recipes with me.
We will definitely return to this charming place on our next visit to Ashland.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

My wife and I have traveled extensively; we have not found a better B& B than Country Willows. Our room was charming and comfortable. The grounds are spacious, lush, and well kept. The service is excellent. The property is on the outskirts of town, easy to find, and a five minute drive to city center. We give it our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vjchesher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
1.9 km away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
4.0 km away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
1.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
4.4 km away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
3.4 km away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#5 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Country Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 1313 Clay Street, Ashland, OR 97520-3618
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,116 - ₹ 19,085
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Willows Inn, located on five lush acres of farmland, is surrounded by the beautiful Siskiyou and Cascade mountain ranges. We offer cozy and quiet rooms in the restored 1890s farmhouse, our private cottage, and our beautiful barn suites. Relax in comfort on one of our spacious porches, enjoy the heated swimming pool, or find a secluded nook under the willow tree next to the goose pond and enjoy the beautiful mountain vistas. Only 2 miles from downtown Ashland and the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. Other area activities include hiking trails leading right from our inn, bicycling the country roads, horseback riding, or skiing at near by Mt. Ashland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Country Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing