We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you could want in a B&B!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #4 of 31 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything you could want in a B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

Country Willows is a beautiful Arts & Crafts farmhouse on the edge of a quiet neighborhood in Ashland OR. The rooms are decorated in quiet tones with choice antiques, and the breakfasts are outstanding! Fresh fruit, chilled juices, and a gourmet main course with accents that take it from good to fantastic! Kara and Dan are extremely helpful and couldn't do enough to make sure our stay was wonderful. They know the area and can recommend all sorts of activities, but just relaxing at the inn is a treat too. The grounds are lovely, with lots of quiet corners to sit, chat, read, relax and enjoy the peaceful setting. I hope to get back to Country Willows soon!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mls57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    4
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
113
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

Country Willows is a very relaxing getaway in a quiet setting, yet only 1.7 miles from town. We stayed here a year ago, and it is now under new ownership. I was a little leery after I read a negative comment and got some clarification from the poster of that comment, and then I read another comment that seemed canned. So we just decided to give it a try and see for ourselves. I have to say that it was just as good as last year. We were greeted by the owner upon arrival and shown our room. Kara is very nice and hospitable. Our room was clean and ready for us. Last year we were upgraded due to light attendance and not upgraded this year, but we reserved the Oak Room, too, and that’s where we stayed. If I gave any recommendations to the new owners, it would be to pay attention to the little details like smudge on mirrors and dusty stair light fixture, and things like that, but those are really no big deal. Breakfast was fantastic, and I think the innkeeper’s name was Dan, a very friendly gent who cooked up a nice spread of French toast, awesome bacon, fresh fruit, a fresh fruit smoothie, and assorted beverages. You might consider having options. The former owners were maybe a little more charismatic, but I think the new owners are just as friendly and certainly dedicated. They may even be trying to copy how the Country Willows was. Be yourselves and let your B&B develop your character. If you are looking for one of the best Bed and Breakfasts in Ashland, give Country Willows a try. I think you will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N0rCal_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
884 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,764 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

I had wanted to stay at this property for awhile and finally got the chance to this past Mon. night. We booked the Oak Room but upon arrival, we were upgraded to the Willow Room in the main house which is the largest room with a King bed. After a nice meal at Liquid Assets in downtown Ashland, we checked in. The front door was left open for us and we were the only guests staying there on this night. What a beautiful reception room we walked into!

The Willow Room was gorgeous, very clean and lots of attention to detail. The bathroom had marble countertops, lush towels and herbal bath amenities. I loved their Bubble Bath so much I purchased some the next day. Breakfast is held in a charming breakfast room. Daniel is a fantastic cook! We enjoyed black cherry juice, omelettes with fresh asparagus and a citrus bowl. Everything was wonderful! The grounds at Country Willows are very pretty, they did have a fire in the pool and jacuzzi area this past December so it is under construction.

We will definitely return to Country Willows Bed and Breakfast when traveling through Ashland. We requested a late check-out and there was no problem with that, they were very accomodating to our needs. I loved being out in the country, it's about a 5 minute drive to the restaurants and theaters from this property yet you feel like you are miles away from the hustle and bustle of the downtown area. We loved hearing the geese flying overhead in the morning and enjoyed watching the goats walking around. There are also complimentary bicycles available if you want to ride around the countryside.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank syrahgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

We could not be more pleased with our stay at the Country Willows. We got the chance to stay in the Pine Ridge Suite and what a fantastic room! Wow! The bed and breakfast is in an amazing location, set back on a hill with beautiful views and many places to sit and enjoy them. Kara and Dan were so sweet and made the stay perfect. Knowing that there were many choices of bed and breakfasts in Ashland, it's always hard to pick one, but this is the one to go with. It's five minutes to town, which I was worried about, but then when I saw the other places that were right in town, I knew it was a much better choice to stay a few minutes away in the country then on a street. The breakfast was amazing, too! I cannot say enough about the beautiful rooms, beautiful house, and wonderful hospitality- this is what every place needs to strive to be like. I have to say I'm sure the owners before Kara and Dan were fine-- but I can honestly say I've never met more caring, fun to talk to, and genuine people as Kara and Dan (the new owners). They made our stay wonderful and they were always willing to go the extra mile. and with all respect to the last reviewer... I was curious about the b and b consultants you spoke of... and when we got there we met the consulting couple and oh my goodness they were the nicest people! We had a wonderful time getting to know them and Kara and Dan. All and all, I'd recommend this to everyone... you will not regret it! In fact, you'll be talking about it for years to come and how you wished to be back at the country willows.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morganbrittany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

Country Willows used to be a wonderful place to stay.... when it was operated by Chuck and Debbie. The new owners have hired a "B and B consulting" couple who are slowly managing to erode what made Country Willows special. The marvelous breakfasts Debbie used to create are now strictly mediocre. Not only has food quality dropped, but quality in general has dropped. Corners are being cut, and in general, with the exception of the location, not much resembles the former level of service, comfort and quality. We have stayed practically everywhere there is to stay in Ashland and visit at least twice a year. We adored our Country Willows stays for years; sadly, it looks like we'll have to restart the search for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheatreAfficionada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karabu, Owner at Country Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 22 April 2011
We sincerely appreciate the candid feedback from this contributor. In fact, we have revisited this review many times since it was posted to try to fully understand their experience as we reflect on all we have done in our first season, and how we can make Country Willows truly exceptional.

Regarding our interim innkeepers, we were grateful to have their assistance during our first few months of ownership. Having their support during the transition allowed us to spend time getting to know our guests, and comfortably take over all aspects of running our new inn. Since they have gone we have introduced our own exciting breakfast menu, with special new entrees as well as some old Country Willows favorites.

Although our reviewer mentioned that they felt corners were being cut, we hope they can return to experience all we have accomplished this past year, including meticulously revitalizing every garden and flower bed over the entire 5 acre property, replacing beds and carpet, refinishing decks and porches, upgrading our wireless internet to extend throughout the property, and so much more. We have also begun hosting our “Owner’s Garden Receptions”, with complimentary refreshments and live music held outside amidst our gardens. I’m sad that this reviewer felt that corners were being cut, but we are tremendously proud of all we have accomplished in just our first season.

Kara and I are passionate about our inn and our guests, and while we know we will never be able to meet every guest’s expectations, we will always strive to provide a truly exceptional experience for every guest.

We wish our reviewer many happy returns to Ashland, and appreciate the feedback.

Warm regards,

Dan Burian
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
1.9 km away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
4.0 km away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
4.5 km away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
4.4 km away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
3.4 km away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#5 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Country Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 1313 Clay Street, Ashland, OR 97520-3618
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,222 - ₹ 17,255
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Willows Inn, located on five lush acres of farmland, is surrounded by the beautiful Siskiyou and Cascade mountain ranges. We offer cozy and quiet rooms in the restored 1890s farmhouse, our private cottage, and our beautiful barn suites. Relax in comfort on one of our spacious porches, enjoy the heated swimming pool, or find a secluded nook under the willow tree next to the goose pond and enjoy the beautiful mountain vistas. Only 2 miles from downtown Ashland and the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. Other area activities include hiking trails leading right from our inn, bicycling the country roads, horseback riding, or skiing at near by Mt. Ashland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Country Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing