We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly help and dirty hot tub”
Review of Stratford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stratford Inn
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Eureka, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unfriendly help and dirty hot tub”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

When questioning the front desk about the authorization amount and charges made to my room, the staff was very rude to me. The comment was "It's not my fault you used a debit card to pay for your stay". The staff also mistakenly charged my debit card for lift tickets I did not purchase. The failed to follow up with me for any resolution to the situation. The general manager and front desk manger were very short with me and made no attempt to smooth over the situation. I expressed that I would not be returning to the Stratford Inn again and it was clear they were not concerned about the lost business. Also, the hot tub was dirty with a slimy film in it. I would reccommend finding a different place to stay when visiting Ashland.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordinnManager, General Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
At the Stratford Inn, we strive to meet our guests expectations in all aspects of their stay. We are truly sorry that we fell short during your recent visit.

When we were made aware of your problems we fixed them as quickly as we could. We are aware that this was an inconvenience to you and upon your next visit, we would like the opportunity to make this right.

Thank you for your time in advance and again, we apologize for the issues you experienced.

Stratford Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    216
    76
    27
    10
See reviews for
235
176
31
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davis
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I've stayed at the Stratford Inn a couple of times in the last 3 years. It is a basic hotel with comfortable beds, a continental breakfast, and a swimming pool. It is conveniently located to downtown and easy walking distance to the Shakespearean Festival; safe to walk at night. I prefer to have a quiet room and request the parking lot side, which works fine. There is a Safeway next to the hotel. There are sometimes large groups of students that stay here, but it's never been too noisy for me. I recommend this hotel for a basic, comfortable night. The staff is friendly and the hotel well maintained and clean.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatfriendDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordinnManager, Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback! We’re proud to have you as a repeat visitor. Comfort, cleanliness, and customer service are extremely important to us, and we’re happy to hear that we’ve achieved your standards of quality! We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ashland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Located downtown, just a leisurely stroll to OSF and shops! Safeway is located directly next door and with a fridge/freezer in our room, it made for a perfect combination! The room was equipped with a kitchenette which was perfect for travelers on a budget! Our room was very clean upon arrival and the maid service received each day was great! The staff is super friendly and helpful. The front desk girls always greeted us with a smile and dealt with the noise from the hours we spent in the pool. A nice perk is the coffee shop located upstairs, their coffee is fantastic and items purchased can be charged to your room. All in all, was a great place to stay and we will be back again! Way to go Stratford Inn team, you exceeded our expectations!

Room Tip: Ask for weekly rates and OSF discount. Although they aren't in the AAA book, they offer AAA rate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AppleJacks541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordinnManager, Front Office Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Thank you so much for you comments! We're so glad that we were able to exceed your expectations that kind of feedback always puts a smile on our faces. We're happy to hear that you'll be staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2011

My trip to Ashland was the first, and by far its going to be the best. We stayed at the Stratford Inn, and it was wonderful. I couldn't recommend it more. If you are looking for a great night stay. You have to stay there. Family owned and operate-- it felt like home!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lelela220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordinnManager, Front Office Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
We're so grateful for your lovely review. Our gaol is to be our guests' "home away from home," and we're happy to hear that you felt we succeeded. We'll do our best to make your second visit even better than your first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Stratford Inn is conveniently located for theatre goers for the Oregon Shakespeare Festival.
Because we were staying multiple nights, we booked a kitchenette/spa suite which turned out to be on the ground level. The unit was very dark (it is below street level) and although the hotel professes to be "smoke-free" our unit had a certain unpleasant odor of old cigarette smoke. When we spoke to the front desk. the unit was sprayed with something that produced an odor more offensive than what we were trying to eliminate. No amount of airing did the job. Housekeeping service was hit and miss. We had to ask for toilet tissue when the existing roll was more than half gone. The continental breakfast is mediocre.

Room Tip: Book a room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank agent8698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordinnManager, Front Office Manager at Stratford Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. We're continually striving to not just meet, but exceed our guests' needs, and feedback like yours is very important for showing us where improvement is necessary. We do take our non-smoking policy very seriously, and all our guests are required to initial our non-smoking policy at registration. If our housekeppers detect the scent of cigarette smoke after a guest has checked out, the room undergoes a deep cleaning, including laundering the curtains, running an aerator and shampooing the carpets when necessary. We sincerely apologize if those measure were not enough in this case, and we have informed our staff about your comments. I'm happy to inform you that we are currently undergoing some renovations which will included a fully remodedled unit on the first floor as well as new carpeting in the hallways. Again, we appreciate your feedback and apologize that your experience was not up to par.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
1.0 km away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
3.7 km away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
3.8 km away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
676 reviews
1.0 km away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
790 reviews
4.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratford Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford Inn

Property: Stratford Inn
Address: 555 Siskiyou Blvd, Ashland, OR 97520-2137
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ashland
#9 Family Hotel in Ashland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,816 - ₹ 14,936
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stratford Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stratford Inn has evolved into a "home away from home" for many people who have been staying with us for over three decades, as well as our first time visitors who happen upon us. Our location, heart for hospitality and love for our community is what elevates the Stratford Inn as the cleanest, friendliest and most comfortable place to rest while visiting our incredibly special town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Stratford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing