We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, but if you like to read in your room late at night, read this”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Chico, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location, but if you like to read in your room late at night, read this”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

In the heart of Ashland. Walking distance to great restaurants, shopping, the theater. Less than a block from Starbucks. Our room was tiny (even by old-hotel standards), but have heard that other rooms were larger. Even with a small room, it was fine. Hotel has great charm and ambiance, we enjoyed exploring the second floor ball rooms and garden/courtyard. Continental breakfast was great, better than most "free" morning meals, but get there early if you want to sit as tables are limited. Parking is close and safe. We booked treatments at the Waterstone Spa which were outstanding. There were some slight cleanliness issues (i.e. the small basket in the bathroom with our toiletries in it had not been dusted out in a while and it was a bit gross). Only other small problem was the lighting in the room; in order for the bedside lamps to be on, the main light in the room had to be on, not conducive to late-night reading when spouse wants to sleep! So bring a small reading light if this is your situation. Overall a great stay and the great location trumps the other small issues.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomInChico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    221
    56
    26
    11
See reviews for
92
373
46
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We spent 2 nights here for the first time, after visiting Ashland for many years. We were curious about the renovation of the former Mark Antony hotel and loved the results. We found the lobby and our room delightful. The beds were VERY comfortable and we had views of the Ashland hills. The bathroom was it's own spacious room with a window. The breakfast was OK--rather spartan in contents and could use improvements, but the mezzanine setting was nice. Parking was good and the staff were friendly and efficient. We loved the location--all points in town are easily walkable. We did not try the restaurant. Overall, this is probably the nicest hotel in Ashland.

Room Tip: Get a room with views of the Ashland Hills (facing East).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renaissancetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Loved the Ashland Springs. Truly historic hotel in Ashland right in the center of all the action. If you love classic, older hotels, you'll love Ashland Springs. We had a corner room on the 9th floor. Beautiful views of the mountains and town. Decor has a beautiful 20's feel but is updated in lovely yellows and blues. Love the lobby with the amazing display of birds and eggs and sea life. What a gem! It is an old hotel so pipes are a bit clanky, elevator is loud and slow, and the smells from the restaurant permeate the building--but I found this all to be charming. Nice simple breakfast was included. Loved sitting on the pretty balcony overlooking the lovely lobby. Great coffee shops and restaurants nearby and ample parking. Very nice service. A lovely historic hotel. We really enjoyed everything about it. That said--if you are going during the Shakespeare Festival, I have friends who say make a reservation a year in advance!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydneybluefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed here for one night the first weekend of March, 2012. We loved how close the hotel was to the theaters, the friendliness of the staff, the comfort of the bed, the shower and the views. The only negative was the elevator; small, creaky and slow. We made sure that we got a larger room and were very happy with it. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Go for the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annpriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I had planned to work during the day from the room and see plays during the evenings. Since Ashland has a fiber loop designed to encourage business, I thought internet access would not be a problem and be fast.
Staying at the Ashland Springs Hotel was a poor choice, even after wasting hours with the management trying to solve the problem. My initial connection speeds in my room were between .11Mbps and .28Mbps. (Home is 30Mbps.) Because of the Ashland Springs Hotel overall pipe of 2Mbps [for the whole hotel !] and the number of guests, it was not going to get better. Each connection is limited to .5Mbps, which is a (barely) workable speed, but the WiFi is very difficult to stay connected to.
The business center is a place for one person to print boarding passes. It has no climate control, so the business center was in the 40s during my winter stay. The internet connection was so spotty, I couldn't even test the speed. The interruptions were difficult, though not impossible to work around. This is the only hard-wire connection to the hotel's LAN that I found.
Since it's an historic hotel, power outlets are hard to come by. The lovely mezzanine, which has the strongest signal, had no outlets that I could find. On battery, I kept losing the connection every two minutes, which caused me to go through recurring hoops with my VPN connection.
I decided to go to my MiFi connection for work, but that left me using the hotel's buzzing phone lines. When i was listening, it was OK. More participatory calls required me to be in a noisy business in town.
Choosing the Ashland Springs Hotel for a 5-day stay in Ashland that was business and pleasure was a mistake. I had to conduct business calls in noisy restaurants, cafes and coffee shops. Hardly professional or relaxing.
I love the historic hotel and the great, central location. The staff and hotel tech support could not provide any improvements or solutions, although they did the best they could.
As a frequent business traveller, reliable, reasonably fast internet access is right after a comfortable, quiet bed and a warm place to bathe in requirements for hotels. I could have spent half the money at a national chain and gotten all three. Choosing an independently-owned, local hotel gave me two out of three.
It's such an easy problem to fix, especially with abundant fiber nearby. Too bad the Ashland Chamber of Commerce doesn't work with local hotels, especially the Ashland Springs Hotel, to insure that guests have a favorable business impression of Ashland.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.5 km away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
4.2 km away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.5 km away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Best Western Windsor Inn
0.5 km away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
778 reviews
4.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashland Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Springs Hotel

Property: Ashland Springs Hotel
Address: 212 E Main St, Ashland, OR 97520-1829
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,469 - ₹ 20,687
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashland Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored 1925 historic landmark in the heart of downtown Ashland offers seventy tastefully appointed, non-smoking guest rooms, Waterstone Spa, English garden,banquet/conference space and Larks Restaurant. Calming colors & decorations evoke an era of relaxed comfort and elegance. Guests are pampered with superb service and luxurious surroundings. Hotel guests enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, afternoon tea with baked treats, discount to hotel's Waterstone Spa, free WiFi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Ashland Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing