We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Ashtabula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Austinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Toledo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

The staff was very good. The room was comfortable. I liked it

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    110
    43
    17
    8
See reviews for
153
119
25
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Our destination was Erie, PA, however, upon arrival on Oct. 8th, we quickly discovered that all the hotels were "sold out". The staff at the Town Suites, near the Millcreek Mall were very helpful and located the Hampton Inn in Austinburg, OH - approx. 45 minutes west of Erie. Although we were not planning to travel in that direction, it was getting late and thought we had better take what we could get. I wasn't expecting too much, however, upon arrival was very pleasantly surprised and a little worried when the sign on the door said "no vacancy" as I had only made a verbal reservation. Not to worry though, because Brian, the Manager, had held our room even though it was after 10pm. The room was exceptional even though it was a smoking room and we were a little worried about that. Brian said they had aired it out and surprisingly enough it was great. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was great - make your own waffles, fresh fruit, cerael, biscuits, etc. What I really liked was that we stumbled across the "covered bridge" festival which was taking place that weekend. Even though we were on a "shopping" trip, the idea of checking out the bridges intrigued me. We planned to see three of the 18 bridges. The first one was the longest covered bridge in the U.S. and it didn't disappoint. Actually, it was stunning and the weather being "summer like" only added to the backdrop. What also intrigued us was the "hundred's" of bikes that paraded through. It was really something to see and everyone we met were so friendly. One of the other bridges was on the "Olin" family's land and we met a few of the Olin's. They were so knowledgeable about the bridges as their "mom" was known as the "covered bridge lady" and they even have a museum of all her bridge memorbiallia that she collecetd over the years. Although "mom" had passed on, her family has kept her memory alive with so much knowledge. I could go on (as have) but if you're ever in this area, you must take some time to visit some or all of the covered bridges. There is a tour map that will get you around the area. Enjoy!

Room Tip: If you would like a "non-smoking" room - make sure to request it beforehand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianVacationer04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

This Hampton Inn was clean and easily accessible from the highway. We were driving from Cincinnati to Niagara Falls and needed a stop over and this Hampton Inn fit our needs. Check-in was super easy and you could grab a cookie once you checked in (nice touch). Also, they always have coffee and tea (24 hours) in the lobby, another nice touch.

The full breakfast in the morning was better than most. There were hot items (on our morning a breakfast type pizza made on a bagel -- it was really good).

Overall I would high recommend this as a place to stop or even stay for a few nights.

As a side note, the front desk was very helpful. When we checked in we were told the pool closed at 10:00 (there were people in it and it was 10:30). The front desk guy said that they family had just arrived and the kids really wanted to swim so he let them go in. Now that family probablly really appreciated this, I thought it was nice too.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

I always pick Hampton Inn over any other hotel. This time I wish I would have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express which is a half mile up the road. Hampton Inn usually has really high standards but this one does not measure up to other Hamptons we have been to. The overall appearance of the entire hotel was just "old". Bathrooms are under renovations and they are very nice. The food was horrible at best. We ended up going off site for breakfast. Even the orange juice was bad. The water in the room tasted like metal when I brushed my teeth. There was not an exhaust fan in the bathroom. I should of known there was something bad about this place since the price was $25 less than the Holiday Inn Express. Next time I know....

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beachloverinme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Clean, quiet and comfortable room. I travel for business and value those qualities. Breakfast was normal fare. It's easy to recommend this as a good place to spend the night.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank energydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austinburg
0.8 km away
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
#2 of 5 in Austinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.8 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
34.8 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Painesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.6 km away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva
0.6 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Ashtabula/Austinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ashtabula? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ashtabula

Property: Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Address: 2900 G.H. Drive, Austinburg, OH 44010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Austinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Austinburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,944 - ₹ 12,642
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ashtabula 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Ashtabula is located on the shores of beautiful Lake Erie. Our hotel has 71 guestrooms, accessible rooms, pool, business center and fitness center to accommodate all of your traveling needs. Our hotel also proudly offers free hot breakfast, fresh Hampton Bed and free high speed internet in every room and the 100% Hampton Guarantee on every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn Ashtabula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ashtabula Hotel Austinburg
Hampton Inn Austinburg
Austinburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing