We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great sense of achievement” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Neilson Seaside Beachclub

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ortakent
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Neilson Seaside Beachclub
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Ortakent
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great sense of achievement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

First time with Nielsen and first time at The Seaside Hotel. Holidayed here late October 2011.

Likes:

Quiet location right next to the beach.
Other guests were pleasant professionals - no sign of raucous behaviour (except me..) - nice kids for ours to mix with..
Excellent service and activity staff, despite this being the end of the season
Great sense of achievement gaining our PADI Open Water Diving qualification
Great October weather (though can be variable according to other guests..)
Sitting around the fire pit with other guests in the evening
Good food (generally: a la carte a bit iffy when the head chef was off..)
Terrific range of activities - diving, swimming 1.2km to an island, sea kayaking, catamaran, wake boarding, etc. Excellent instruction.
Reasonable bar prices
Good bus service to Bodrum - well worth visiting

Dislikes:

Our room and several parts of the hotel were tired and in need of refurbishment. This is planned for 2012.

Other observations:

The Bodrum Peninsular is getting overdeveloped. Seaside Hotel is in a quiet location and has pleasant views from the beach across the bays and islands, but don't expect an unspoilt paradise: new hotels and villas are springing up everywhere. The beaches are OK but not fab: lovely clean water, but don't expect miles of golden sand.

If you're struggling to locate the exact position of the Seaside Hotel it's not actually in the town of Ortakent: it's by the beach next to the village of Yali. The nearest large place the other way is Bitez, itself very pleasant and worth a visit.

Other than the hotel's own restaurant and bar the nearest places are in Yali, a 10 minute walk along the beach. The holidays season is virtually over by mid October and the place has a slightly shabby, end-of-season feel (quite atmospheric in its own way if you like that kind of thing..) A number of cafes, bars and restaurants were still open. Bitez was livelier but reachable only by taxi (or a kayak or bike).

We booked last-minute through Thomas Cook in the high street. Judging from our conversations with others we paid less than the going rate.

Nielsen Holidays at The Seaside Hotel are probably best understood as middle class activity package holidays. If you're comfortable with that, enjoy meeting new people and trying new challenges (or just want the kids taken off your hands for a while during the day...) you'll love this place.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the tennis courts and swimming pool have the best outlook, preferably on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank z00nie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    36
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
81
62
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

A fantastic resort with great staff, food, facilities and activities. Only a 50 minute transfer from Bodrum airport. We've been 3 times now and will return next year. Neilson know how to look after their guests. Apparently the resort is being refreshed over the winter period in time for next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otley, West Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

My wife (69) and I (65) were on holiday at the Neilson Seaside Resort at Ortakent from 5th to 19th September 2011. I have just received an email from Neilson asking me to place a review on this site, so here it is. I apologise, now, for the length of the review but I have tried to cover most things, that I can remember, which would be of interest to potential visitors, particularly regarding the watersports facilities.

We are experienced travellers and have been on Neilson Holidays before (Vasilliki and Sivota), and also with Sunsail (Kos and Antigua), so we had a good knowledge of this type of holiday before we went. In addition, one of our sons had been to the resort on three previous occasions and recommended it. I am a competent dinghy racer and an intermediate windsurfer, so the resort activities met my own needs. My wife did not take part in any of the activities, other than using the pool.

We booked the holiday on an internet offer on the Neilson website, which was extremely hard to beat in terms of ‘value for money’, seven days before we left from Manchester Airport (T1). We collected the tickets from the Thomas Cook desk at the airport and joined a long queue for ‘check in’, part of which I had previously done online. Manchester airport seems to get busier and busier, every time we use it and different control and security systems seem to have been introduced each time we go. Our baggage allowances were 20kgs (hold) and 5kgs (hand).

The afternoon/evening (two hours time difference) flight to Bodrum was just over four hours and Neilson customers had an ‘inflight meal’ included. Bodrum airport is also chaotic and is quite small, however, it looks as though a new, bigger, terminal building is being constructed at the present time. We had never been to Turkey before so we had an open mind on what to expect. Upon arrival and exit from the usual airport formalities, we were greeted by one of the Neilson staff, who directed us to a small coach, as there were only about fifteen people going to the hotel. The transfer to Ortakent took about an hour. One of the good things about Neilson is that there is only one hotel in each location so the transfer is always direct, without having to drop people off en route, at other hotels.

The hotel ‘check in’ was normal and very quick as we had completed personal details forms on the coach and it was just a case of handing in the form at reception and being given our room key. Our luggage was delivered to our door in a couple of minutes. After a quick drink in the bar, our evening meal was waiting for us.

The hotel is situated between an access road, running parallel to the beach, and about 165 metres from it. The location is east of Yahsi beach village, which is about a 10 minute walk away, either 400 metres along the beach (part path/part beach) or 800 metres by the road from the hotel. Both routes lead to a small port, which is at the eastern edge of the town. Yahsi seafront extends west, from the port, 1500 metres, to a small headland near to the Lighthouse Hotel and Portofino Hotel. There are restaurants, bars, shops and hotels, all along the narrow seafront ‘promenade’ and there is a very pleasant atmosphere whether it is in the morning, afternoon or evening. Most of the visitors are Turkish, French, German and a few British. During the evenings, there is a small handicraft/jewellery/souvenir market, organised by the local women, next to the marina, east of the town.

The Seaside Hotel footprint is almost a rectangle and the beachfront is only about 50 metres wide. There are other hotels to the east of the resort and lots of apartments and houses, occupied mainly by Turkish and French people, to the west and north of the resort. There is no new building work taking place in the near vicinity of the resort as it has all been built upon, however, some final finishing, gardening and landscaping needs to be completed in some apartments across the road, north of the hotel.

I believe that there are 57 rooms at the hotel, which are either on the ground floor or the first floor. From walking around the hotel, which is ‘Y’ shaped, and looking in rooms, I got the impression that there are many different shaped rooms of all different sizes and some of the family rooms have connecting doors. Although the hotel is quite old, I thought that it was well decorated and well presented. It is an activity based 3* Turkish hotel and does not profess to be anything else. As the expression goes “it does what it says on the tin”.

Our first floor room (206) was quite large, with twin beds, fridge, table, chair, massive wardrobe (with hangers), drawers, lamps and a small television (only News channels in English). The small but adequate bathroom had a toilet, shower cubicle, sink and hair drier. There was constant hot water at all times. As usual in these parts of the world, no paper, of any kind, was allowed down the toilet and there was a small litter bin provided for this purpose. The balcony was the smallest that I have ever seen and was about one metre square with two small plastic chairs and table. There was also a very useful clothes drying rack attached to the outside of the balcony. Due to the small size of the balcony, there was no privacy from our neighbours’ balcony as they adjoined each other. To be honest, on these type of holidays, I have found that very little time is spent in bedrooms and on balconies so everything that was provided was fine. Clean towels were provided each day and the rooms were cleaned daily. The air conditioning was controlled from within each bedroom. I found it to be very efficient and fairly quiet, albeit some guests thought that it was quite noisy. The whole hotel was kept very clean and tidy and the room staff were brilliant.

The accommodation side of the hotel is in one ‘Y’ shaped block. The top of the ‘Y’ is near to the road and the small entrance drive. In this area is the Hotel Reception building and other offices. On the west side of the hotel is the bicycle shed, the volleyball court, the crèche and childrens’ activity rooms. On the east side of the hotel is the spa, the one tennis court, the toddler’s playground, a grassy exercise area and the swimming pool/paddling pool.

Also on the east side of the accommodation block, there are lovely, well kept gardens, full of trees and plants which are all individually labelled.

Between the accommodation block and the beach is another building which houses the restaurant buffet area, upstairs bar area (not in use when we were there), table tennis area, television area, toilets, etc. Outside of this building, facing the sea, is the restaurant/buffet seating area which, at the moment, is located under temporary canopies. Between the restaurant and the sea is a grassy square shaped area for sunbathing, with umbrellas and sun beds.
Whilst we were there, there were several visitors who were obviously building contractors. They were taking many measurements around the pool and restaurant area. I understand that there was some storm damage to the restaurant canopy roof, last winter, and temporary canopies were fitted this year as the whole area (and possibly the pool) is to be completely refurbished between this November and next May. I was told that the restaurant area was to be re-designed and that a permanent roof would be added. This information is not confirmed.

The bar is located between the restaurant and swimming pool and it was more than adequate for the number of guests at any one time. There was always a pleasant atmosphere around the bar and background music was played. There was also a television set mounted high, above the bar, which was convenient for guests to watch the Rugby World Cup in New Zealand and other sporting events on Sky TV. The bar was open all day and evening and also sold other things such as snacks, crisps and ice creams.

Obviously, all of the watersports equipment and facilities are located near to the beach. The beach along the whole of the coast, in this area, is very narrow and only between about 5 metres and about 30 metres deep. Infront of the Seaside Hotel, the beach is no more than 5 metres deep and, as previously mentioned, no more than 50 metres wide.

The water ski shed is located near to the beach on the west side of the grassy sunbathing area. There is no beachside pontoon for waterskiing but there is a floating pontoon situated about 40 metres from the shore. Access to the pontoon is by swimming, by using kayaks (usual method) or by ski boat. There are two or three ski boats but I cannot comment on the water skiing, as I have no interest in it, but I do know that there were facilities for water skiing and wakeboarding and for all ability levels. Buoyancy aids and impact jackets were provided.

Immediately behind the beach is the location for the storage of dinghy sailing and windsurfing equipment, much of which is on racks. The beach itself is a mixture of shingle, rocks and sand and I would recommend wearing rubber shoes (which also protect your feet when in dinghies or on sailboards) if you want to walk in the sea. There are a few sunbeds on the beach but the beach is really too crowded for them because of all the watersports equipment. I snorkelled a few times and found the water to be reasonably clear but not all that many fish were to be seen. I didn’t see any seaweed floating about, or on the beach, but there is some sea grass growing on the sea bed about 20 metres out. The sea is quite shallow (up to waist depth) for a distance of around 30 metres from the shore.

I found the windsurfing equipment to be very good. There were over a hundred sailboards from high volume beginner level boards to low volume, advanced boards. The majority of the boards were Starboard and there was a full range of all Starboard types (Start, Go, Carve, Futura, Isonic, etc., etc.) between about 80L and 200L and also a tandem board. There were other boards, not for beginners, from RRD and Mistral. All of the sails (about 60) were Tushingham from 4m to 8.5m, mainly learner sails, kiddie sails and Storms, but the majority were Thunderbird 4’s. Some of the learner boards had seen better days but most of the boards were in really good or ‘as new’ condition. All of the sails were good and many were new. I never saw one ‘ blown out’ or damaged sail. A shed stored plenty of waist harnesses and buoyancy aids.

The dinghy equipment consisted of about 8 Lasers 1’s (all 197000 numbers – less than two years old) with full, radial and 4.7 sails, about 12 Laser Picos, 2 Laser Bahia’s with kites and trapezes, several Laser Funboats, an RS 500 which was not new but in reasonable condition, an RS 200 which was less than a year old, and about 5 Dart 16’s (some of which were on moorings). All of the sails for the Laser boats were made by Hydes, especially for Neilson, with Neilson logos and colours. I thought that most of the dinghy equipment was of a reasonable standard, particularly for beginners. However, some of the Lasers were slightly neglected and needed re-roping (some of the mainsheets were too thick for the blocks and some of the control lines were too short, making them difficult to adjust), and tillers/tiller extensions needed re-fitting or replacing, due to general wear and tear. I suspect that this was mainly down to the staff, who were all keen and very competent windsurfers, and not experienced dinghy sailors. Overall, I would say that the kit was of a good standard and appropriate for most guests. The RS 500 was the only ‘performance’ boat and was used occasionally either by guests, or staff and guests together.

There were two RIB’s for support/safety boats and at least one was always on the water, all day. In addition, the ‘lookout tower’ was continuously manned by staff, all day.

I don’t know anything about kayaks but there were plenty available, for one or two persons, either for leisure use or paddling out to the ski pontoon.

The tennis court was a hard court and was in constant use. There was a tennis coach in attendance for group or private (cost) coaching. I did not play tennis so I can not comment further.

The bikes appeared to be all Trek and Gary Fisher mountain bikes. The Neilson bike man, when not out on group rides, was always around servicing and preparing the bikes, repairing punctures and getting equipment ready for the following day. I believe that some of the bikes were fitted with toe clips but the bike man would fit your own SDP pedals, if you took them with you. Cycle helmets were provided. I didn’t go on any bike rides but there were several routes of up to 45 kms, on and off road. Our room overlooked the bike shed.

The swimming pool is an odd shape and it is not very big but it was kept immaculately clean and the water was always very warm (once you had got in). The main pool depth varied. One half was about 4’ 6” deep and the other half sloped down to probably over 6’ deep The children’s small paddling pool was adjacent to the main pool. The pool area has plenty of sunbeds and mattresses were available (free). The whole pool area is surrounded by trees and there is plenty of shade. In addition, there are umbrellas located around the whole pool area.

Apart from the sporting activities mentioned, there were many other things to do, each day, if you wanted to take part. There were local walks, Yoga classes, Zumba classes, Pilates classes, Long distance sea swims (1.2 kms) to Numan’s Island in Ortakent Bay, Yogalates classes, Biyak events (bike and kayaks), Kayak safaris, Aqua aerobic classes, Stretching and relaxation classes, a mini Triathlon, Fitball, Volleyball and other fitness and body conditioning classes. In addition, there was a Spa with various treatments available (cost) such as facials, body therapies, waxing treatments, holistic therapies, manicures and other beauty therapies.

There were classes, throughout the day for dinghy sailing and windsurfing, mainly beginner, improver, intermediate and advanced in each section. It was also possible to obtain R.Y.A. level 1 and 2 certificates/log books (cost) for successful completion of courses. Informal dinghy sailing regattas were held on the afternoons of Friday and Sunday, each week, with two or three races each day.

For people with children, the hotel had the usual Neilson format with nannies, child-care staff and activities staff for all children aged from 0 to about 17 years. All age groups are catered for and are split into smaller groups (with group names) depending on the ages of the children and how many child guests there were at the time. All of the daytime care is free except for the under 2’s, where there is a weekly fee but, apparently, the price of the holiday is discounted. Neilson clubs are fabulous for children mainly due to the brilliant staff who look after them. An evening baby sitting service is also provided (cost) if requested.

The Seaside Hotel uses the Neilson ‘Club Board’ system where each week, guests receive seven breakfasts, seven lunches and four evening meals. This gives guests the opportunity to ‘eat out’ at local restaurants, or to ‘eat in’ at either theme nights or using the hotel restaurant A La Carte menu. The theme nights consisted of a Barbeque (Tuesdays), Fish Night (Thursdays) and A La Carte (Saturdays). The usual arrival/departure day for guests is on Mondays, with flights from Gatwick, Manchester, Newcastle, Glasgow and other airports so the ‘inclusive meal nights’ are on Sundays, Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays (Turkish Night).

I thought that the food was generally very good with a good selection of hot and cold dishes always available at breakfast, lunch and dinner. Hot and cold vegetarian food was also available. My wife and I attended the barbeque each week (37TL/£15 each) which was preceded by an informal ‘meet and greet’ with punch and snacks available, a very good male/female duo provided background music and singing. The barbeque food was varied and plentiful. I thought that the barbeque evening was good value and a chance to meet everyone.

We also attended the Fish Night on our first week (35TL/£14). This was a mistake as there were only about 22 people in the restaurant as everyone had gone into Yahsi or nearby Bitez to eat out. The meal consisted of a meze starter with kalamari, an octopus middle course and a choice of three fish for the main course – prawns, sea bass or sea bream. We both chose prawns but there were none left so settled for the sea bass. There was little atmosphere in the restaurant as it was empty. We did not go to the Fish Night in the following week but used the A La Carte menu.

On the other non inclusive nights, we went out to Vira’s Restaurant in Yahsi or ate at the hotel on the A La Carte basis. We had club sandwiches and chips which were very good (12TL to 15TL/ £5 to £6). Many guests ate out by getting a taxi to Bitez and going to either the Black Cat or Lemon Tree restaurants, both of which received glowing reports from the guests.

It is worth mentioning that because of all of the activities, Neilson operate a ‘no money’ system in the bars and restaurants which work on a ‘tab’ basis. The tab can be checked at any time in reception and can also be paid up at any time. The system works well but some people get a shock if they have over-indulged in the bars, restaurant, etc., and not checked their tab until the final day of departure. Most people pay their tab on a Visa or Credit Card.

Free bottled drinking water was provided at all meals. Guests were allowed to take away any part full bottles for their own use throughout the day. A Mini Bar service was available (cost) for use in the fridges in the guest bedrooms, if required. Guests were allowed to use the fridges in their rooms however they wished and there was no objection to using it for items, which were not bought at the hotel. Bottled water was also available from the bar (cost) and also from a small shop, about a hundred yards along the access road to the west of the hotel.

Beach towels were available from reception at a cost of 21TL/£8 per week and they could be changed at any time.

Safety deposit boxes were available in reception at a cost of 20TL/£8 per week (with a slight reduction for two week stays).

A laundry service was available (cost).

Free WiFi internet service is available in the bar area and in the reception lounge area. There is also a computer, with internet access, for guests use (cost) at reception.

For people who wish to explore the area, there are several trips available. The only one that I was interested in was to go to the Ephesus site but it was a three hour coach trip each way so I did not go. I believe that the cost was around £60 each with food and entrance fees included. People that went said that it was a great trip, worthwhile, and good value for money as they visited other places of interest, en route, to break up the journey.

During my stay, the day time temperature around lunch time/afternoons was above 40 degrees and 36 degrees in the shade in the restaurant. During the evenings, the temperature was still 28 degrees. There was no rain during the whole of our stay. The sea was very, very warm at all times of the day.

So far as relates to the wind conditions for sailing and windsurfing, there was little wind in the mornings but it picked up around 11.30 am to 1pm. The early morning wind tended to be southerly and onshore but when the Meltemi wind kicked in, around lunch time, it was from the north west and was cross offshore. The wind tended to increase throughout the afternoon and occasionally may have reached force 3 to force 4 as you got further out into the bay. Due to the wind direction, it was often light and flukey near to the shore, and getting back to the shore in the afternoon was sometimes difficult for some people (but a tow was always available from a RIB). I was unlucky in my second week as we had three or four days of very light winds, all day. The Neilson sailing area in Ortakent Bay is quite big and is marked off by the use of some old yellow Laser Funboats. In the far south western corner of the bay, outside the official sailing area, is part of the bay known as ‘windy corner’ where stronger Meltemi winds seem to come over the hills on to the sea. Experienced sailors and windsurfers are allowed to use ‘windy corner’ but it is courteous to let the staff know where you are going as it is over a mile from the Neilson shore.

I have not mentioned much about the Neilson staff. They were all absolutely fantastic from the reception staff, the bedroom staff, the cleaning staff, the gardeners, the restaurant staff, the bar staff, the chefs and also the various other staff who looked after the children, supervised or coached activities and watersports and anyone else who I have not mentioned. All of the staff were truly dedicated and committed to their jobs and always put in the extra effort to make your stay as comfortable, happy and rewarding as possible. All of the staff were not only a credit to Neilson, but also to themselves. It is fair to say that I have also found this at other Neilson resorts. At Ortakent, most of the staff are Turkish and nearly all of them had various knowledge levels of the English language (how many of us can speak Turkish or studied it as a language at school?). The Turkish restaurant staff, bar staff and beach staff were particularly good at English. I think that I only found one member of the gardening/cleaning team who spoke no English whatsoever. I do not remember his name but I nicknamed him as ‘Mr Happy’ as he never seemed to smile very much. However, he worked so hard, all day from morning until night (he may have had a midday break), sweeping the paths, emptying bins, collecting mattresses from sunbeds and doing other unglamorous jobs. Neilson are so lucky to have such dedicated staff, as are the guests.

Neilson have created a ‘cult’ following because of their activity holidays and people go year after year to many of their resorts. At Ortakent, I met a family who had been to the Seaside Hotel eight times, besides having visited many other Neilson beach resorts. Many people also take advantage of the Neilson Yacht/Flotilla holidays or their Winter Skiing holidays. More recently, they have introduced Lakes and Mountains holidays (good for mountain biking and walking). Neilson also have ‘adults only’ weeks at some resorts, outside of the school holidays and they are very popular.

One of the best things about these holidays is that a lot of single people go as they know that they will meet other single people and usually form a ‘singles group’. Taking part in all of the various activities and joining other like-minded people in classes or on courses makes it very easy to meet people and make new friends, besides meeting up for meals or around the bar.

I spoke to some people who had been to the resort before and they stated that although the food was good, it was different from previous years. They thought that the reason was due to a change of head chef. Apparently, Osman, the current head chef, used to work for Sunsail at Javelin Resort (further along the bay), which closed a few years ago. I have no idea why there was a change of head chef and can only say what I was told, but Osman is very familiar with dealing with British people and their tastes (he is also brilliant at Turkish dancing).

Apart from taxis, which can be ordered at reception, the local Dolmus buses run past the hotel into Bodrum, Bitez, Gumbet and elsewhere. There are Dolmus bus stops all over the place and they are said to be cheap but crowded. However, I never used one myself.

My wife and I had a fantastic holiday and would recommend the Neilson Seaside Hotel to anyone who wants an action packed holiday or to ‘Relax as hard as you like’ (as the Neilson saying goes). There is no obligation, whatsoever, to take part in any of the activities. I have no connection with Neilson but each time that I have been on holiday with them, I have had a fantastic time and always wanted to return.

One word of advice – choose your Neilson resort carefully, depending on what activities you want to do. Do your research to choose the right place. Of the places that I have been to, I found that Vasilliki is great for windsurfing and mountain biking but there is no ‘club board’ (bed and breakfast only). It is not good for tennis or water skiing and there are no dinghies. Sivota should be avoided if you can not cope with walking up hill or down hill as it is located on a steep shoreline with many, many steps to get anywhere. It is great for waterskiing with lots of ski boats, and also tennis as there are about six or eight courts. It is poor for sailing and windsurfing as there is a large, hilly, island just offshore (maybe 80 metres) where the windsurfing and sailing centre is located (access by wading through 30cms of water) and there is hardly ever any wind unless you can get out into the open sea. It is also good for mountain biking but the hotel is located about 2 kms from the lovely Sivota marina up a very, very steep hill. The hotel and garden rooms were excellent, as was the food.

Neilson used to have a very good website that allowed simple booking of holidays and lots of information about the resorts, hotels, equipment, all staff in resorts, etc., etc., and a very good discussion forum. Unfortunately, a decision was made to ‘improve’ the website and, in my view, it has been a disaster. The new website lacks information and is difficult to use for booking purposes or finding things out. No doubt, it will improve in time.

Finally, I must mention the guests. Without being snobbish, just honest, I have found that the people who go on these Neilson activity holidays are mainly professional people, often with families, some are singles, but they are all decent people. I have never seen any bad behaviour or any sign of trouble with any of the guests at any of the resorts which I have visited. Everyone seems to get on so very well, behave appropriately, dress appropriately, etc., etc., and just thoroughly enjoy their holiday. Some people keep to themselves whilst others join in, but there is a place for everybody and nobody bothers anybody else. On our trip to Ortakent, the contrast between the people on the plane to Bodrum and the people who were in our hotel was amazing. Enough said.

I hope that this mammoth review is of some use to someone. I have enjoyed writing it, thank you for taking the time to read it, if you got this far.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
58 Thank iansmithofotley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Have done other Neilsen trips so had high expectations - the usual high standards for the food, the activities, the childcare but a few grumbles too:

The hotel is on a beach but long distance swimming was limited to once a week with supervision - this was a huge disappointment and due to the number of sailing vessels (so the health and safety was good) but this is always a highlight of our holiday so a big negative. You simply could swim along the shore dodging pedalos but in amongst lots of seaweed.

The childcare was good but we were stung for a lot of extra "trips" for our 12 year old - visit to Turkish bath; trip on a boat: meal out - all were enjoyable but at the price you pay we thought these were a con - and of course the child has to go as everyone else is - or you can simply stay behind....

The rooms were tiny - really really small and we had a family room for three. We did not unpack (not enough room) and no floor place at all. There was also the smallest balcony in the world - 2 plastic chairs fit on it but only just - having been other places such as Lesbos this was very poor. You needed to be very flexible to get into the shower at an angle, again we did but the layout was poor.

Food was good but very limited compared to other Neilsen places - nothing at all wrong with it and indeed we enjoyed it but again, compared to Lesbos, a fraction of the choices for every meal (of course this is much smaller but after a week it would have become tedious).

For exactly the same price we have had much better from other Neilsen venues - the holiday was still fab, we met nice people, had good meals out (location was great) and lots to do other than watersports. Get on a bus and just explore - this was really easy and inexpensive.

Childcare staff as ever superb - Neilsen cannot be faulted for the quality of young people they recruit - fantastic!

Worth going but would consider other venues if you are about to book...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Judith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

I went to the Seaside hotel with Neilson with my two children age 10 and 7. The report is small and friendly. What made the holiday were the activities on offer, but more importantly the Neilson and hotel staff who were always friendly and helpful. We stayed in a ground floor twin room.. overoccupied with three of us however there was enough room in it for the week. Food was fantastic all week, lots of choice and good quality. The children loved the Neilson kid's clubs - they did all the water activities, windsurfing, waterskiing, sailing, swimming, darts, plus also had time to do quieter things too. All in all a fantastic holiday and can't wait to go back

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holidaymaker001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ortakent hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Amfora
Hotel Amfora
#5 of 29 in Ortakent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.0 km away
Lighthouse Beach Hotel
Lighthouse Beach Hotel
#10 of 29 in Ortakent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.0 km away
Temenos Hotel
Temenos Hotel
#9 of 29 in Ortakent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Viras Hotel - Restaurant
Viras Hotel - Restaurant
#7 of 29 in Ortakent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.0 km away
Dilekagaci Hotel
Dilekagaci Hotel
#11 of 29 in Ortakent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 km away
Yilmaz Hotel
Yilmaz Hotel
#13 of 29 in Ortakent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neilson Seaside Beachclub? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neilson Seaside Beachclub

Property: Neilson Seaside Beachclub
Address: Yalisi Bagarasi Mevkii | Ortakent, Ortakent 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Ortakent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ortakent
#1 Family Hotel in Ortakent
Number of rooms: 234
Also Known As:
Seaside Hotel Ortakent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing