We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gumbet for the young.”
Review of Queen Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queen Resort Hotel
Ranked #12 of 99 Hotels in Gumbet
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gumbet for the young.”
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We really enjoyed our holiday here at the Queen Resort, it was very clean and the staff were very friendly but I think self-catering is totally out of the question at this hotel. The facilities are not what you would expect say in Europe, plus there are no near supermarkets to buy food from, only small shops which have a very limited stock. I think it would be much better and cheaper to go half-board or fully inclusive, as to eat out each night is rather expensive for pensioners. Also this is a resort for younger people as there are so many discos which blare music out till at least 4 o'clock in the morning. Still Bodrum was a super place and overall we did have a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudithStour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    116
    70
    37
    26
See reviews for
166
192
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I and my partner stayed at the Queen Resort for a week. Upon arrival I guess it looked as I thought, the street it’s based on is okay, not by anyway amazing with a Chinese restraint attached a fake handbag shop across the road and a small shop next door which is very useful. I was hoping for a nice room and I have to admit they were very clean and the furniture was great, very modern etc however the room we had was some what disappointing with a huge yellow generator right beside one of the windows the other window was facing another balcony a bit to close for comfort. The TV remote was pointless as buttons were missing, towel rail was hanging off and there was a telephone in the bathroom? But the socket was wide open exposing wires. Considering we went so late and it was the end of the season the hotel was fairly quiet, I was so disappointed with the room that I went to reception to ask if we could get a better room, the young ‘receptionist’ was incredibly rude and this really rattled me she said I could have another room, pointing from where she was sitting I said I didn’t know the room numbers so she rudely tutted stood up then showed me, she was offering me a room about 10ft away from the bar so just left it, no apology, not a word.

The rest of the staff are friendly enough, but I think you need spend more money on food, sauna etc to get on there good side however all credit to the cleaner(s) they do an excellent job, cleaning dishes and making a real effort with the beds.

The pool is nice and clean although as noted by someone else you can only lie on one side where the beds are quickly taken. Overall I honestly can’t believe this hotel is rated number 1 in Gumbet, in my opinion is doesn’t deserve to be.

As an area we will never be back, the area is very very tourist oriented and we personally found everyone incredibly rude from shopkeepers to restaurant owners they are desperate 24/7 to get you in, if you don’t go in they are just rude. Once you are in, they are rude. In terms of places to go we found the restaurant/pub just along the road from the hotel called Bronze Corner really good, friendly staff and fairly lively. There is also an Indian called BRONZE which serves very nice, genuine Indian food although quite expensive is definitely worth it.

Overall I was really disappointed we took a trip over to Greece for the day and went here last year so will certainly be picking this over Turkey. I think if you enjoy wearing Adidas ‘cottons’ have shaved hair etc etc this is the holiday for you, lots of chav/ned type family’s. Not for us, lesson learnt.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BREMBO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Stayed here for one week mid October and had a fab time, room was very nice, clean spacious and welcoming, cleaners were so lovely. The pool area was very nice and all the people working there were so friendly, I have nothing bad to say about my experience in Turkey. I will be coming back. If your a cat lover you will be in heaven though can be upsetting seeing all the stray cats and dogs! Thank you Queen's for making our holiday so great!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SophieJAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marma, Uppsala Lan, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

This hotel is absolutely the best hotel in Turkey. We loved it. The service was perfect and the staff was so kind and we love them. The room was clean and its feels like home. We want back right now. Summer 2012 rush :)) We want back :))

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma19840904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

This place is cheap. We booked via alpharooms an apartment for three people. Between three it cost almost nothing per night for accommodation. The pool's great, food at the bar is cheap and good for breakfast and snacks.

Reception staff were ok, didn't have any issues. Bar staff warmed on me from initially assuming they were mentally deficient - once i grasped the hours they put in and the context they'd been working in all summer that changed a little.

Gumbet is not my thing and this place is smack bang in the middle. If you like full englishes, bisto, Sunday roasts, pie and chips, bars showing xfactor/coronation St/etc, paraletic brits, the odd fight, getting endless hassle from bar reps - but it might be yours and if so this place is probably the best place to stay.

I thought Gumbet beach was dirty and run down.

We used this place as a base spent a few days by the pool, hired a car, got out to some stunning places in the day and mixed the nightlife up between Bodrum and gumbet.

Also the gym is completely rubbish. And seemed to full of towel clad Turks from the Turkish bath next door.

Hotel - good. Location - poor.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bradlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
1.2 km away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#1 of 99 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.3 km away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#11 of 99 in Gumbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
0.3 km away
Karya Beach Hotel
Karya Beach Hotel
#79 of 99 in Gumbet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Magnific Hotel
Magnific Hotel
#2 of 99 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
1.2 km away
Bodrum Beach Resort
Bodrum Beach Resort
#8 of 99 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.4 km away
Ayaz Aqua
Ayaz Aqua
#14 of 99 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Resort Hotel

Property: Queen Resort Hotel
Address: Gumbet Mah. Adnan Menderes Sok. No:46, Gumbet, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gumbet
#6 Best Value Hotel in Gumbet
#7 Luxury Hotel in Gumbet
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Gumbet
#11 Family Hotel in Gumbet
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,099 - ₹ 4,913
Hotel Class:4 star — Queen Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guest, Please note that there will be fancy dress party in our hotel every week during this summer. Please bring your own costumes. Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Hotel Gumbet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing