We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of positives” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Serhan Hotel
Ranked #24 of 98 Hotels in Gumbet
Taunton England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lots of positives”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

My bestfriend & I arrived for a week in the early hours & had been booked into double not twin room On request the next morning we were moved, this room was a lot nicer than the first but sat to the side of the hotel where we could hear loud music playing from hotel next door. After 2 nights I brought ear plugs & this let out stay in what was a good 3* accommodation.
During the day the hotel was quiet & relaxed - always able to get a sun lounger & friendly staff on hand.
We'd booked half board & while the quality of the food was fine, it was a set menu which meant no choice, though the manager said we could ask to have alternative. There are plenty of nice, cheap restaurants in area so would only go b&b.
The location was good but nearby beach was very busy & we were told condoms could be seen in sea early morning due to the night time activity! There was lots of water sports on offer at beach but nicer ones a short bus ride away.
Overall a nice enough place to stay, with many positives but not for quiet nights in!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jFinlaybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    80
    43
    32
    15
See reviews for
37
105
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed here with 2 friends for a week in the sun. If you're like me, and looking for a base in which to explore the surrounding area and be within walking distance of the bars, restaurants and beach then this hotel is perfect. Don't expect too much, it's 3 star but it's more than adequate if you're looking for a clean, relaxing and quiet base.

It's located on a quiet street, just a 5 minute walk to the beach and the bars and clubs of Bar Street. Our room was fairly basic, right on the top floor, there's no lift which made carrying the suitcase up the narrow stairs a little bit of a job! We had 3 beds in a room which can apparently sleep 4, but I'd struggle to see where the 4th person would sleep. The balcony was pretty tiny and just about had room for one chair. The view was enclosed on 3 sides, and the front looked out onto the Hotel Colossus I think was its name. This place plays loud music all day through until about 4am but with the door closed you can't really hear it. Beds are comfy enough and the maid comes in every day, bedding changed every 3 days.

Air con is charged as extra, and in mid-July in Turkey it's not really optional if you want to sleep!! This came to an extra 88 lira for the week but was definitely worth it. We were self catering but sampled the food a couple of times. I think it's fair to say this was nothing special, edible but you're far better off venturing out to the local restaurants (Red Dragon and Carpe Diem were the best 2 we tried). The hotel swimming pool was lovely, clean, decent size and never had any problems getting a lounger either. Bar is open til late, staff very helpful and friendly and there's a free pool table too.

Gumbet itself is great, only downside being the PR people trying to get you into their bars/restaurants, selling roses/bracelets etc, which becomes very tedious when you only want to walk down the street without getting hassled. The bars on Bar Street are much of a muchness, playing the same music and offering the same drinks deals but we always had a good night. Outback and Temple were our two favourites. Big disappointment was the beach, busy and smelly with very little space but overall I'd return to Gumbet and I'd return to the Serhan.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank nicoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

After booking this holiday we started hearing that Gumbet was an 18-30 party holiday resort and whilst reviews say the Serhan hotel is quiet enough we were a little unsure quite what to expect.
We need not have worried: the hotel was a low key quiet place - the bar will stay open late, but from what we saw, come 11pm it's usually empty. There are bars on the beach, which is a 5 minute walk away and the main bars in the town centre are 5-10 minutes from the hotel. All of these are far enough away not to be heard in the hotel at night and as the hotel is on a quiet street, there was no traffic noise at night either.
The hotel rooms have recently being re-decorated and of the three rooms we saw all were nice and clean, although sizes did vary. Our first night was in a large room on the top floor, with the worst balcony I have ever seen - enclosed on 3 sides with only a 4 foot wide side opening to see off. Due to the poor balcony we asked to be moved and were moved to a ground floor room facing the pool, with a nice small but adequate balcony. This room was medium sized, but large enough for our week there. The third room was a top floor courtesy room were given on our departure day to change and shower in, this was small, but did have a large balcony. Please note there are no lifts, although as the staff carried my girlfriends case up the stairs I dare say they would do the same for anyone else who asked.
The hotel staff were all very friendly and were happy to move us and provide the courtesy room. I'd recommend air-conditioning - it costs about £5 per night, but was needed when the night time temperatures didn't fall below 20C.
The best way to get around the area is by Dolmus, which picks from the end of the street and goes to Bodrum, from where you get just about anywhere.
Overall a very good holiday and somewhere I'd be happy to return to.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cobbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights! it was first trip to Bodrum.
it is just 5 min walk to Gumbet beaches and 10 min walk to night life center of Gumbet.
It takes 10-15 min to get to bodrum city center by mini bus(dolmush) and its fare is 2.75TL per person. You can reserve some tours via agencies around the hotel.
the staff were helpful and room were clean but very small! it was a 9-10 meter room! Breakfast was in turkish style and delicious.
I will go back in future tripe to bodrum!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saharsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

Hi to everyone.
This is first time i will be in Gumbet.
As much as i coud find out after my investigation trough the internet , many people all over the world come to Gumbet for having a good holiday full of fun.That is why i will be there during next week.I am expecting a good stay in Serhan hotel and find friends to get acompany.
See you there ,

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank istanbulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Bagevleri
Hotel Bagevleri
#7 of 98 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.4 km away
Green House Apart Hotel
1.0 km away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#1 of 98 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Serpina
Hotel Serpina
#13 of 98 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.5 km away
Queen Resort Hotel
Queen Resort Hotel
#11 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.8 km away
Bodrum Beach Resort
Bodrum Beach Resort
#8 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serhan Hotel

Property: Serhan Hotel
Address: Plaj Sokak 22, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Gumbet
Price range (per night): ₹ 785 - ₹ 3,207
Hotel Class:3 star — Serhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Serhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serhan Hotel Gumbet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing