We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel to stay the staff are best in Gumbet couldn t find any faults”
Review of Ugur Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gumbet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ugur Hotel
Ranked #65 of 99 Hotels in Gumbet
Gumbet, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel to stay the staff are best in Gumbet couldn t find any faults”
Reviewed 19 January 2011

after reading bad reports i was worried on arriving for a 2 weeks stay at Ugur but what a shame people write such rubbish on these reviews. Lovely lovely hotel the staff were the most friendly helpful people you could wish for to enjoy your holiday to the full . I booked as soon as i returned home last Oct and can t wait to go back for 2weeks this May. I have stayed in Gumbet since 1996 and Ugur is definately on the top of my list for hotels to stay at.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WalesMaggiemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    9
    5
    6
    12
See reviews for
5
15
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Having used this sight for many trips, I thought it was time I reviewed a place in return!

The hotel is a good place to stay and it seems to attract a range of ages and nationalities. The owner is turkish, although he is married to an English lady so that is really helpful during the stay. The rooms are basic but comfortable. We had to pay £25 extra per week for air con, although it worked very well. The aircon in one of our rooms wasn't working but they changed our room immediately.

This was advertised to us as self catering by our holiday company, but when we arrived there are no faciilities for cooking and the hotel frown upon you bringing in any food or drink. Saying that the restaurant is pretty reasonable and provides a mixture of English and Turkish meals at good prices.

The pool is a good size, although you have to fight for sunbeds!

The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the centre of Gumbet, and 10 minutes from the beach, which is ideal. It's far enough that you struggle to hear the bass from the clubs and bars but close enough to be convenient.

As a group of students the hotel suited us. The majority of the other guests seemed to be families and they liked the hotel, although there are no "animation programmes".

We had read reviews on other sights of untrustworthy staff and theft etc. but found this to be total rubbish. By the end of the week we knew all of the staff there (there are less than 10) and they are all very friendly and honest.

Overall a great place to stay for the price, I would recommend it to groups of all ages.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dkh202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2010

First of all the hotel was very basic e.g breakfast which included one hard boiled egg or one slice of sausage, 3 slices of tomato and cucumber and 3 olives which nobody at the hotel ate and you also get 3 slices of bread with jam or honey and a maxium of 2 small cups of tea or coffee. if you wanted toast youy had to give up your breakfast as everybody would of wanted toast as well.

The rooms were very small with only one small wardrobe which wasn't enough to fit both persons clothes in so one had to live out of the case, the pressure on the shower was none excistent as well as the toilet system. the air con was not very good as when we brought it for 3 days it blew out warm air but when it finally got fixed it worked for at least 4 days then went back to blowing warm air the same with all other guests rooms.

outside there was not enough sun beds and some were broken already you had to be up at 8am to atleast grab 2, the childrens pool was non excistent just a 6x6 hole in ground as for the adult pool 3 lilos and it was packed.

when you brought a meal there was child like portions eg egg chips and beans you got 8 chips, 1 egg and a teaspoon of beans same as the drinks but overpriced eg a beer is at least 1 to 2 lira more than anywhere else.

there was often a lot of noise at night with people screaming and running and jumping in the pool upto 3 to 4am even though the pool was meant to be closed from 9pm also the bar played loud music to at least 4am.

the staff didn't seem to care about the noise etc and guests diving in the pool when it had signs saying not too, you couldn't even bring food and soft drink into the hotel but many guests did while the staff were there.

have fun trying to say the name of the hotel as well a useful tip, when you need to tell someone where you staying show them your key as it has the name on it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gumbet hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Hi was at the Ugur hotel in July just got back and had to right this review.
Firstly the negative points I had read put me off this hotel but I soon changed my mind.
I had booked into another hotel to find it was full when we got to Gumbet the rep that picked us up at the airport said we were booked into the Ugur hotel and I was horrified after reading the negative comments on various internet sites.
I said I was not staying at the Ugur and he said I needed to speak to the rep that was coming to the hotel at 10am we got the the Ugur and we were shown a room which I refused to go into it was dark and smelled of damp they showed us another room wich was not much better we put our luggage into the room and went down to the pool area to wait for the rep when he arrived he was apologetic and said as we had booked so late (we booked the day before we flew out) they did not have time to let us know they had to change hotels I told him what I had read and was not happy about the move as the room we had been given was small and dark with no balcony he spoke to Bruno (hotel owners son) who then gave us a bigger room with balcony which was at the back of the hotel it looked much better so we said we would give it a try for one night and if we were still not happy he would try to find us another hotel.

NOW the PLUS about this hotel

The hotel staff could not do enought for us the staff Bruno and Flitz were always cleaning around the pool and restaurant they served breakfast which was included in our stay and while it was a Turkish breakfast it was ok we had cold meat/cheese/boiled eggs with olives tomatos and cucumber served with fresh bread(which they toasted if you asked them) and butter jam & honey also tea coffee water or orange juice
The wee cleaning lady spoke no english but cleaned out the rooms every day (there is 40 roomsat the Ugur) we had fresh white towels every day and bedding was changed every 3rd day
There is a nice size pool which is L shaped with sunbeds/parasols around it there are palm trees and lime/orange trees which provided good shade when the temp got to hot the time we were there the temps ranged from 38/48degrees
The bar was not stocked up when we first arrived but after 1 day Mustapha (owners brother) came in and restocked the bar and asked if there was anything he could get in for us that he did'nt already have he also has a lovely wife called Jill who we spent chatting to at night she was very friendly and a great source of information about Gumbet/Bordrum area
The hotel was run by one of the owners sons who seemed to have caused most of the problems that were reported previously but he was sacked and sent back to germany (family have a home in germany) and the owner has put in another son and brother to help run and improve the hotel althought she was there as she spoke very little english she tended to keep in the background but always said hello/goodby when she saw you around the hotel she also has grapes growing over the pergoda at the dining area and often brought you a bowl of grapes when you were sitting by the pool area
There is a wee dolmus bus that stops outside the hotel and is great for getting into Bodrum which has a very good market every Tues right at the dolmus terminus great for bargains
The hotel is close to all the bars/restaurants and nightlife but far enought away from all the noise Gumbet is very clean and has a great beach with plenty of sunbeds and parasols
Would I go back to the Ugur YES they have made a great improvement to this hotel it is small and friendly clean but basic (if your looking for 4* then this hotel is not for you) but at the price we paid for our holiday it was a bargain the staff try very hard to accomodate any requests you have and although their english is not great but then I can't speak Turkish you usually get there in the end.
Elain from Scotland

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Just back from Ugur Hotel - arrived in Turkey to be told our original hotel was full. The Ugur is a small basic hotel, but it was clean, with clean sheets and towels. The staff didn't speak much english but they were always very pleasant and helpful. An ideal hotel for using as somewhere to shower and sleep. Just 2 minutes fro the main shops/bars. For what we paid I can't complain and we had a fab holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2furryfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
1.2 km away
WOW Bodrum Resort
WOW Bodrum Resort
#3 of 99 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
0.8 km away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#11 of 99 in Gumbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
1.1 km away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#1 of 99 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Magnific Hotel
Magnific Hotel
#2 of 99 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
0.7 km away
Queen Resort Hotel
Queen Resort Hotel
#12 of 99 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
1.5 km away
Royal Arena Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ugur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ugur Hotel

Property: Ugur Hotel
Address: Ismet Inonu Caddesi | Gumbet, Gumbet, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 99 Hotels in Gumbet
Number of rooms: 100

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing