We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very good - apart from the smoke” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Ankara Hotel Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Ankara Hotel Convention Center
Ranked #13 of 171 Hotels in Ankara
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very good - apart from the smoke”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

I stayed in the Rixos Grand for four nights in mid October while at a confernce. Good reception, great room, comfortable bed, all the facilities I could want, but - on some nights more than others - cigarette smoke somehow drifted into the room, presumably through the air conditioning. It was mild at first but, on my last night, very strong, I had to leave very early and, though I reported the problem, I never found out the cause.

A shame because in all other respects the hotel as great and excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westminster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RixosGrandAnkara, Rixos Grand Ankara at Grand Ankara Hotel Convention Center, responded to this review, 9 January 2016
Dear valued guest;

Thank you for your nice review and sharing the details of your experience.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We will share your comments with our entire team. And also the related department manager has been informed about the problems you have mentioned. Hereafter we will be more attentive and will definitely take actions to your feedbacks for further improvements.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back, assuring our best service and attention.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    66
    17
    13
    7
See reviews for
16
30
17
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aichi
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

I liked this hotel the moment I entered the entrance. Very well designed waiting space and stylish bar are available. When I was relaxed watching TV in the room, a staff came to offer me some sweets (Turkish delight) in tiny box, which was the best turkish delight I've ever had in Turkey. The only thing I regret is, that I could not use a bath-tub because it was out of order. I called to the front desk to ask how to fix it but the front girl seemed not to understand my english and just said she will call back later but she didn't. I called the frontdesk so many times until I got someone who listens to me. I ended up waiting for sengineers to fix the bath until midnight. Other than that, I like this hotel. They just need to educate staffs.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chika925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RixosGrandAnkara, Rixos Grand Ankara at Grand Ankara Hotel Convention Center, responded to this review, 9 January 2016
Dear Guest;

Thank you for your review and sharing the details of your experience.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We will share your comments with our entire team. And also the related department managers have been informed about the problems you have mentioned. Hereafter we will be more attentive and will definitely take actions to your feedbacks for further improvements.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back, assuring our best service and attention.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2010

My husband and I enjoyed our stay in the Rixos Grand Hotel in Ankara, Turkey. The lobby was lovely, our room was contemporary, clean and comfortable. The only problem we had was that our room was always hot. We also noticed that the shower leaked water all over the floor. But overall our room was very nice, our bed and pillows were comfortable and the personnel were very accomdating.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajay1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RixosGrandAnkara, Rixos Grand Ankara at Grand Ankara Hotel Convention Center, responded to this review, 9 January 2016
Dear valued guest;

Thank you for your review and sharing the details of your experience.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We will share your comments with our entire team. And also the related department managers have been informed about the problems you have mentioned. Hereafter we will be more attentive and will definitely take actions to your feedbacks for further improvements.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back, assuring our best service and attention.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2009

Stayed 3 nights at the new Rixos after my usual business hotel was oversold in mid-October. Overall I was pleasantly surprised. In terms of ambience, the general impression was more of a high-end Las Vegas-style hotel--which may, or may not appeal to some. Rixos is on a very busy street across from the Turkish Parliament, and I imagine there is a lot of business there related to the government building's proximity. The lobby is very large and expansive, and its design does very little to suggest you are in Turkey--it could be anywhere. A large, floor to high ceiling water sculpture dominates one side of the lobby, and there is extensive use of hanging silver beads to separate spaces. It will be interesting to see if this design "ages well" over the years.

My room was arranged in way I had never seen before: nice king bed, but a curved, glass wall separates the bathroom with an enormous modern shaped tub from the rest of the room. Neon blue light circling over the tub adds a little glitz (or cheeziness, depending on your preference), and a floor to ceiling hanging fringe lines the curved glass wall. There is a separate small shower and WC, each enclosed with frosted glass doors. The shower has a nice overhead waterfall type shower head. So, though the room size was not large, it felt larger due to the see-through glass wall. Nice electronic controls of the many lights and the room black-out shade--but you have to insert your room card into the slot upon entering to make it work (remember to take the card with you when you leave!). A large sliding mirrorred door to a fairly small closet also makes the room feel larger. Free wireless internet (a plus). One complaint--there is no clock in the room other than that on the bottom of the wide-screen TV--and is not visible when the TV is off. I used the TV to set up wake up calls, and it worked well.

The restaurant just down a ramp off of the lobby floor is large, open, appealing and excellent for breakfast: buffet setup with several different sweet and savory offerings, and a separate omelete station. One evening I found the in-house spa (a little difficult to find, 2 floors down from the lobby) and was very pleasantly surprised--much more elaborate that the usual hotel spa. It is an upscale, full facility with multiple well appointed massage rooms, a large sauna, a steam room, and private locker facilities for both men and women. Appointments are taken, but I had a classic massage on a walk-in basis around 8PM (closes at 10pm). They offer Thai, Bali and aromatherapy massages with advance appointment. I do not think there is a charge if you want to just use the sauna and steam room for hotel guests. The indoor pool is also in the same area, but is not attached to the spa. It looked very nice, but I did not use it.

I usually stay in the Executive floors of business hotels, but it was overbooked (must have been something big going on in Ankara that week!), so I cannot comment. I did look into the lounge for my next visit, and it was well appointed. I understand that drinks and snacks are served from 6-9pm daily.

Overall, a very nice business hotel that is modern, spacious, uses design in innovative ways. Located across from the Turkish parliament on a busy main thoroughfare. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TUPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RixosGrandAnkara, Rixos Grand Ankara at Grand Ankara Hotel Convention Center, responded to this review, 9 January 2016
Dear valued guest;

We appreciate for your review and sharing the details of your experience.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We will share your comments with our entire team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. And also the related department managers have been informed about the problems you have mentioned. Hereafter we will be more attentive and will definitely take actions to your feedbacks for further improvements.

We sincerely hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ankara hotels
Ankara Hilton SA
#3 of 171 in Ankara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Movenpick Hotel Ankara
#1 of 171 in Ankara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Çankaya
Swissotel Ankara
Swissotel Ankara
#4 of 171 in Ankara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Çankaya
Holiday Inn Ankara - Cukurambar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Ankara Hotel Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Ankara Hotel Convention Center

Property: Grand Ankara Hotel Convention Center
Address: Ataturk Bulvari No:183 | Kavaklidere, Ankara 06680, Turkey (Formerly Rixos Grand Hotel Ankara)
Region: Turkey > Ankara Province > Ankara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 171 Hotels in Ankara
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,280 - ₹ 8,943
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Ankara Hotel Convention Center 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Ankara Hotel Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing