We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good campground with a few small bonuses.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Almond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Turkey Creek Campground
atlanta
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good campground with a few small bonuses.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

A little less spacious than expected but still ok. Nice shade, big deck to hang out, nice bath house, walk .75 mi to lake. Well located to raft, hike, lake. Nice owners, outdoorsey crowd.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
54 Thank adamalama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville
Level Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

3 of us camped here for 2 nights while doing some hiking on the AT and mountain biking. We tent-camped and didn't take advantage of anything at the site except the water. There is only one shower/restroom station at this campground but it is large, modern and very clean. It is only a short walk from the farthest-out sites but if you aren't in to walking, just ask for a close site. The owners of this campground take quiet hours seriously (starting at 10 pm) and we enjoyed being able to sleep without partiers all around. It's a short drive to Nantahala Outdoor Center and the Appalachian Trail. Bryson City isn't too far away in case you need supplies. If you stay here - make sure you throw the ball for the owner's dog.

Room Tip: It gets chilly at night even in the summer so bring a windbreaker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
63 Thank rwdragon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

Hit the road headed for the western north carolina mtns w/husband, dog and mountian bikes in a rented RV. Did some reserach on the state beforehand and selected the area based on mtn biking.

Turkey Creek was exactly what I had envisioned a campground to be. Beautiful setting, charming hosts and they even had a friendly camp dog that befriended ours. For a first time camper it was NIRVANA

Mike and Renell were just putting the finishing touches on the new bath/activiteis building. The area was modern and the amenties first rate.

OH did I mention I was able to make the reservations rolling down the road in the RV on my laptop. The reservation was confirmed immediately and Mike personally replied within 5 hours.

We stayed at three different campgrounds while we were in North Carolina TURKEY CREEK was definately the best!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
62 Thank rodotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beavercreek
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2009

Beautiful setting, 5-star bathhouse, wonderful owners who keep the noise down in a tactful way, friendly to well-mannered pets, close to lots of things to do. Our group has been there every year for the last few years, and wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
59 Thank BeavercreekSlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mebane
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

Beautiful location, well maintained, clean facilities, friendly but unobtrusive staff who live onsite. Within 15 minutes of tons of Nantahala Gorge activities. Several types of sites available for campers. Fire pits, trash collection/recycling, picnic tables (2), raised 10x10 - 10x12 tent site, & water at every site with room for a vehicle & plenty of breathing room for tents & campers...not sure if they can accomodate many full size RVs at once though, so call first. All sites have partial to mostly shaded area, some have grassy areas. The only problem we had was that after 2 days of heavy rain, our fire pit became a mud pit. The proprietors allowed us to use a drier one next door. Some of the back lots are also close enough to the highway to be somewhat noisy. There is a badminton/volleyball net, basketball hoop (in grassy area), indoor pool table, & they are building a jacuzzi with big screen TV on the deck outside the main office complex for slide shows, game day, etc. Fire wood, ice, & bottled water is provided at VERY reasonable rates. There are CLEAN, tiled bathrooms & showers with hot water & working doors, a coin laundry, & dish washing station...hand & dish soap is provided for free. The proprietors are friendly & easy going, although there are rules about excessive noise after 10pm. If you're willing to be considerate of your neighbors, this is a great place to be with or without the kids!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
61 Thank Runesong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almond
23.3 km away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
33.9 km away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
13.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 km away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
27.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
3.0 km away
Nantahala Village
Nantahala Village
#4 of 21 in Bryson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turkey Creek Campground? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turkey Creek Campground

Property: Turkey Creek Campground
Address: 135 Turkey Creek Road, PO Box 93, Almond, NC 28702-6600
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Almond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Almond
Number of rooms: 70

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing