We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“confusing 'chocolate eh' in the menu”
Review of Cafe Adriatico

Cafe Adriatico
Ranked #13 of 979 Restaurants in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“confusing 'chocolate eh' in the menu”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We love this restaurant for a lot of reasons... Food is good and service quite okay...

But the several times we come for afternoon food, the 'chocolate eh' in several of the fare offered confuses us in ordering or the servers in understanding what in reality we want to have.

My two children with me this time ordered hamburger and the club sandwich and i said "chocolate eh' with the suman and mango... maybe that was not clear enough as I got just a cup of chocolate when the children got served their burger and sandwich.... after a while, we asked where the suman and mango are with me chocolate eh... waiter informed us that what we really ordered was just the chocolate drink and he even challenged us to double check the menu book... instead of trying to discuss, we just asked him to just have the suman and mango be ordered right away... this took another 20 minutes to be served with suman dry and bland and presentation too boring..

This is not the first time we have this kind of situation... last time my daughter ordered same way and also got same as I have ... so maybe it is about time that menu gets more clear or servers are trained to ask or verify what the client exactly wants? if it is just the chocolate drink or if it is the 'fondue'...

OR maybe, have a completely different name for the delights with something else and 'chocolate eh' only for the cup of choco drink?...

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LolaMamou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    108
    43
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A CLASSIC !”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The flag ship resto of the LJC group, cafe adraitico is one of MANILA's must try resto . Located in the HEART of MALATE. Cafe adraitico serves a fusion of Spanish and Filipino dishes. They are famous for late night pica picas or just plain hanging out .
Ambience is right down cozy and relaxing as if time stopped and just hang out with friends a nd family.

Try their Beef salpicao, omelet, crispy knuckles , and dinuguaan at puto..

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BulaloatTapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“TASTE OF THE PHILLIPINES”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

After walking for 30 minutes around the Mall of Asia looking for a restaurant that had good food that was not too expensive and the wine list to match we settled on this restaurant. I found the menu to be very good with loads to choose from. All the food we received was cooked to perfection with plenty of flavour. The wine list was ok with prices that were not too expensive like some of the other high priced restaurants in the area. There was outdoor dining as well with entertainment while you ate. The only problem was that the live entertainment was a touch too loud. That forced in doors to dine. However overall I was pleasantly surprised with my dining experience there. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who wanted to taste authentic Filipino food that was not too expensive.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wineguy1744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“a restaurant that has been part of my life's journey”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

cafe adriatico is not just a restaurant especially for malate habitués. it is a comfort zone, a place to just be, a restaurant to just go and not think about what to eat, it is a coming home, it is a place that has witnessed most of its patrons journey through life. cafe adriatico is a lifestyle in its own.

but lately, in the past few months, it has been like an unruly child. the best loved food and adored staple had been not good.. to be frank about it.. really bad. i have been frequenting this place since i was a child and almost know the menu changes by heart. even the coming and goings of its servers.

i do hope that the management realizes that this restaurant is an icon in malate. survived the ups and downs of manila and has preserved the regality and gentle elegance of the city. good food included.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JKirsten70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My favorite place in Malate”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I love the food, the place is so charming keeping the interiors like the old Manila. Try the adobo is so good, the arroz caldo too. It's open until late and it has a cute bar in the second floor. Serves algo great breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Adriatico also viewed

Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 
Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to Cafe Adriatico? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing