We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff upsell me to noisy suite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riviera Mansion Hotel
Ranked #21 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I reserved a premier room for 2,280 peso about a week before I was supposed to stay there. When I arrived at 4-5p the staff said all premier room was already given and offered a suite for 2,550. I was amazed, I had a reservation and now have to pay more. I countered with 2500 peso for the nite. She said wait a moment and seemed to go ask someone. She came back and said okay 2500. They gave me a the studio facing the street. The room was clean enough. The air conditioner was and a swamp cooler that was mounted in the window. Biggest issue,I could hear taxi honking on Mabini street. I knew I was only going to sleep there for a nite after going out with friends. Didn't think the taxi honking would still be there at 4am. I didn't sleep very well at all due to this. Got up and moved to The Charter house in Makati instead.

Room Tip: check that room doesn't face the busy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surewinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerico68, Manager at Riviera Mansion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Dear Sir,

I would like to apologize for the misunderstanding. It is definitely not company policy to release reserved rooms and upsell the guest to a more expensive room. I have looked into the matter and it was due to a mistake by the reception staff. We have since credited your account for the price difference between the reserved room and the rate that you paid back into your account. You may use this credit for your future stay with us.

I would also like to apologize about the noise. It is normally quiet at night time and it may have been a one-off incident with the taxicabs. Just to be sure, you may request a room in the back or on a higher floor to avoid the noise when you check in with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 144 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2011

Most things at this hotel range from average to good, but by comparison to others and a cheap price make this a fantastic place to stay.

It is well located yet relatively secluded from the on-street racket. Service is polite and attentive, starting right from the front door. Rooms are clean and have good facilities; though there is a small element of luck involved in just how good (we stayed twice on the same terms but certainly had a better room second time around).

Don't expect luxury, but a modest and well priced haven from the busy and chaotic city.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterJohnCotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

This is a good hotel in the centre of the action close to food outlets shopping centres and entertainment. the room was large the beds just regular double not queen. the staff were very helpful especially the doormen always able to point you in the right direction. good value for money, next door to money changer, 7-11 and casino across the road.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OzLordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

The deluxe room had a GREAT air conditioner; room was clean; included breakfast was adequate; good location; sink drained slowly; one room lamp was missing the switch knob; good value for the price

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kentucky_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

i stayed at the riviera mansion for 12 nights from sept 26 to oct 8 , i have stayed here 3 times now and im always pleased with everything . the girls at the front desk are terrific and very helpfull , for 50 dollars i got a big room on the 15 th floor with a balcony , facing the city a great view , great location near the nightlife and robinson place is only 2 blocks , you wont get a better deal in manila

Room Tip: ask for a room at rear of hotel no street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fishmanToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Rothman Hotel
#11 of 110 in Manila
325 reviews
Ermita
Lotus Garden Hotel
Lotus Garden Hotel
#22 of 110 in Manila
667 reviews
Regency Grand Suites
#15 of 110 in Manila
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Kimberly Hotel
Kimberly Hotel
#13 of 110 in Manila
288 reviews
Malate
Red Planet Mabini
Red Planet Mabini
#8 of 110 in Manila
956 reviews
Ermita
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
#18 of 110 in Manila
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Mansion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Mansion Hotel

Address: 1638 A Mabini Street, Malate, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Price Range: ₹ 2,452 - ₹ 3,613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Mansion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Riviera Mansion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing