We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and great View”

Salt Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 163 Restaurants in Male
Restaurant details
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

A good restaurant with reasonably good food
Service is a bit slow but the view is spectacular,
calming ambiance

One of the best places to dine while visiting the city of Malé

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Ridha a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2017

Between ferries (from the resort and going to the airport) I stopped at Salt Cafe for a buffet lunch. There were not many dishes to choose from, but the food was fresh and tasty. For Male, the price was very reasonable. It's very easy to find since it's just next to the fish market on the 6-7th floors. The rooftop has no AC but great views of the harbour and the airport.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OleB61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

We came here for lunch and a couple of drinks... we gave up after the first drink as the service was the worst!

The service is ridiculously slow, I have never waited so long for food or drinks.

There was literally one other couple in the whole restaurant and we waited close to 45 minutes for our drinks to arrive and over an hour for food!!!

We ordered a cup of tea after lunch and waited over 45 minutes again!

The view is the only good thing about this restaurant!

Don't waste your time, you will die of hunger before due to the worlds slowest service!

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank fluceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Beware of their scheme to fleece you with juice and fancy drinks in minute glasses and still charge you as if they were regular drinks. Nice view but waiters are sometimes in their own little universe. Taste of food is okay.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank hs1974Male
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We had lunch at salt and due to the rainy weather had half of the meal in the restaurant....still has a nice view but is rather hot.

There is a small lunch buffet, food is OK, but nothing special...basically it fills the tummy, desserts are made from powders, but it is all OK

To sit on top of the terrace is actually quite nice. The view is great during lunch time, there is a slight fishy smell from the fish market that is just around the corner

Service was very good and attentive, the orange juice was freshly pressed

We had a good time and enjoyed it but compared to other restaurants, yes it is average, not outstanding

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CountryGourmetTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salt Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Male, North Male Atoll
Male, North Male Atoll
 
Hulhumale, North Male Atoll
Male, North Male Atoll
 
Male, North Male Atoll
Male, North Male Atoll
 

Been to Salt Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing