We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top choice in Male”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sala Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Male B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Top choice in Male”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We had a tough time finding a hotel in Male - they all seemed very basic or very expensive. Luckily we came across Sala which was perfectly placed in the middle! This was a transfer stay for one night at the end of our holiday. The staff showed extraordinary service and iniative by tracking us down in our other hotel and having someone waiting at airport to transfer us to sala hotel. Great rooms, big comfy bed and satellite tv. Two restaurants - italian and thai, we tried the italian and food was ok but nothing special. Easy to walk into town and have a little explore. If you have to stay in male, this is the place!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lighter023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    33
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
26
103
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This is a real gem place in Male (which is not a particularly interesting and impressive city). The quality of hotel and especially the food in restaurant is top while the price is very fair. Thomas - the owner of the place, is of European (German) origin, who has lived and worked in the Asia-Pacific region for quite a long time. He is highly professional and pleasant person to communicate with. He knows his business very well and provides an excellent service with attention to details.

Room Tip: Do booking directly with the hotel - the price is the same (or even cheaper) than with the web conso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SergeDem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way to our resort in the Maldives, arriving into Male around 10pm. As others mentioned, we were totally blown away by the coordination of our travel. We were met by a hotel representative at the airport, who got us to the ferry to Male, then in a cab to the hotel, all of which he paid for.
The hotel is a little oasis in the middle of Male, and Thomas, the owner, is an extremely nice and welcoming man. He was expecting us, met us when we arrived, and showed us to our room. We stayed in the standard room, and it was very adequate. I would recommend spending the extra $20 for the larger room, which we learned was almost double the size of the standard one (this was not evident to us from the photos on the website). The biggest negative to the room was that there was no natural light, but since we were barely there it was not a big deal and the room was otherwise great - clean, TV with many stations, nice amenities.
Included in our rate was breakfast, and we were served a lot of food - the homemade bread was excellent.
Our resort had called the hotel the day before, and Thomas made sure we had a cab and were at the boat dock on time. Again, the travel arrangement coordination was above and beyond, and took so much stress out of this leg of the trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShelBel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lahore pakistan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

its a neat and v clean place to stay for one night only, in male city, providing every thing organic like soaps,shampoos..... but room was so small without any window for fresh air......which made me sufocated, owner was nice man with great professional and public relation values........but after checking out they told us to provide air port drop facility which they didnt give us and it caused a great mess on this issue.so my experience was just ok not v good.

Room Tip: airy rooms are better to sleep well
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neelam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We arrived Male at around 9pm and were picked up by the Sala staff to the hotel. Without much expectation, we were surprised how nice this boutique hotel is. Totally exceeded all our expectations! Thomas, the German owner, has definitely spent a great deal of time and effort in decorating this hotel and making sure everything is perfect! We were escorted to the room personally by Thomas which he went on in explaining every details of the very lovely room we gonna stay. oh and they even have organic shampoo and bath gel for use in the bathroom. Perfect!

Thomas told us that the restaurant serves very good Thai food. Although it's very late at night and we normally dont eat this late, we decided to give it a try. We got no regrets for that. The Thai food was soooo authentic and yummy. great value for money too.

the next morning we had an early breakfast. Again...food was superb. Especially like the warm bread and the crispy bacon. It just cant be any better. the breakfast is served to your table (not buffet) which makes you feel like VIP. We stayed one night only as we went on for our honeymoon at the Anantara Veli resort. If I had more time, I would love to stay at the Sala Boutique hotel longer! well..maybe next time :p

Would surely recommend this hotel to everyone who stay in Male!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Male
0.2 km away
Hotel Jen Male
Hotel Jen Male
#2 of 35 in Male
565 reviews
1.2 km away
The Beehive
The Beehive
#3 of 35 in Male
108 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Octave
Hotel Octave
#4 of 35 in Male
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Hotel Ocean Grand at Hulhumale
8.9 km away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,695 reviews
0.4 km away
The Somerset Hotel
The Somerset Hotel
#1 of 34 in Male
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sala Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sala Boutique Hotel

Property: Sala Boutique Hotel
Address: H. Buruneege, Hithahfinivaa Magu, Male 20044
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Male
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,109 - ₹ 11,499
Hotel Class:4 star — Sala Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened 5 star boutique hotel at a 4 star price in the center of Male the capital of the Maldives, the jetties are 5 minutes away, owned and operated by a German/Indonesian couple, a different type of hotel with personal touch and care, a wonderful oasis in a busy city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sala Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Boutique Hotel Maldives/Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing