We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“yummy classic chinese food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restoran Sek Yuen

Restoran Sek Yuen
Ranked #280 of 3,960 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
576 reviews
410 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“yummy classic chinese food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

It is now a yearly tradition of heading to Sek Yuen for Pre Chinese New Year (CNY) dinner. They serve up some of the best classic chinese cuisine. Service isn't that great as most of them are the grumpy sorts however the quality and taste of food makes up for it. I do not think you can find restaurants like Sek Yuen anymore that serve up tradisional old school chinese dishes. As the saying goes 'Just how mom does it!'.

Must have choices would be the Pei Pa duck, Braised 8 Treasure Stuffed Pork Trotter, Deep Fried Grass Carp, Kah Heong Chap Choi, Crab+Egg+Tung Fun w/ lettuce wraps & Wu Tao Kau Yoke. Also if you go during CNY period make sure you have their Yu Sang which is made from fresh veggy and not the preserved crap by most places. We usually have 2 rounds!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank poopshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    41
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic, Authentic Local Cuisine Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We went to Restaurant Sek Yuen for our New Year's Eve dinner, together with our local hosts. It was a truly awesome and simple delicious experience! Highly recommended on a KL visit to anyone who wants a no frills place, with fantastic food at reasonable prices!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
227 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Less in More - Part 5”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

It is nothing less than remarkable that a pre-war culinary relic like this still exist - a free standing single storey art deco-inspired hall complete with an airy vaulted ceiling, open metal grille walls on the side sheltered by tattered bamboo blinds on one of the oldest and busiest streets in town.
everything is "old world" heritage here down to the matronly Cantonese-speaking "aunties" who take your orders (and tell you, you've ordered too much), serves your food, clears the dishes and packs your leftovers ("don't waste good food!"). This place oozes charm BUT not in a quaint nor cute way AND it is 'certified' authentic Cantonese (Overseas Chinese-style - "Wah-kiew").
Take a peek into the wood-fired kitchen and you will see septuagenarian cooks whipping up your classic Braised Pork Belly with Yam, Eggs Scrambled with Crabmeat and Sharkfin, Peipa Duck, Stuffed Pork Trotters, Deepfried Grass Carp Belly, Sweet & Sour Pork, Blanched Village Chicken with Kailan Greens, Fermented Beancurd-flavored Vegetarian Mix. Double-boiled soups with a melange of Chinese herbs of which Cantonese mothers are best at are also available here - try the delectable Fig with Lean Pork.
Time will only tell when all this will one day disappear.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ECKLKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“NOSTALGIC PLACE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

I like the old section; would go back for the 'pei pa' duck n fried shark fins omelet; a childhood taste. The service staffs are friendly compared to a lot other old timer restaurants in KL

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yingchua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unique must try...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

I first went to Sek Yuen in the early 60s when my father was stationed in Malaya as it was known then. We were the guests of a senior civil servant. I was about 10 years old and I still remember the taste of their fried rice and sweet & sour pork (which was all my uneducated palate took) vividly.
Sek Yuen is substantially less grand than I remember but the food is still very good. The cold chicken which is an advance order is excellent as is both the 'Pei Par' Duck and the 8 Treasure (Part Por) Duck. The stewed pork, stuffed pork trotter and the steamed parrot fish are also excellent. To finish off the meal order their signature wok fried noodles. The aroma of the firewood they use in the noodles is something else. Do bring your own wine but be content to drink it out of a normal water tumbler. Its a restaurant that you must try before they close their doors.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank honkieexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restoran Sek Yuen also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Restoran Sek Yuen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing