We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Malaysian food more expensive than other options” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madam Kwan's

Madam Kwan's
Ranked #170 of 3,783 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 10
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Malaysian food more expensive than other options”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Very good service, food OK, but with all the options available in Kuala Lumpur, it felt quite expensive. If you like spicey you will enjoy this.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank matildaclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    134
    58
    23
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
187 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good Selection a little pricy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

There was a good selection of dishes and the food was up to expectations. The price was a little steep though

Helpful?
Thank mikelima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“hawker stall food at a better setting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Visited the Bangsar Village 2 outlet. The menu contains what can be found in most mamaks - hawker stalls in Malaysia. The food tastes ad smells really good, averaging 15 -18 RM it's a bit pricier for what you're used to getting from local stalls. setting is ok, but atmosphere not outstanding in any way. waiters attentive, but nothing special. Portions are generous, though. Reminded me of pappa rich, but at higher prices.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zuzana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hongkong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We went to the one inside the Suria Mall underneath the Petronas Twin Towers. It is always full of people. That was why we tried the food there. I must say the food we had was up to our expectation. There was a long queue waiting for the seats. The reception was friendly but there was not enough waiters and waitresses to give more attention to your order. It is one of the best restaurants inside Suria Mall.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Perthvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,449 reviews
848 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,080 helpful votes
“Great for authentic malaysian food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Ive read a lot about this restaurant on Tripadvisor as a great option for authentic Malaysian Food. Unfortunately on my last few trips I didnt get the opportunity to dine here but finally found the opportunity this time. This restaurant is located in the food court downstairs at the Pavaillion Shopping Centre.

Dishes selected included included Char Kueh Teow, Mixed Satay and a Mushroom Noodle Dish(forgot the malaysian name). I asked for an extra bowl of fresh green chili as I love my dishes spicey. All the dishes were good but a special mention for the mixed satay which was probably the best Ive ever tried. Both the beef and chicken melted in my mouth and the satay sauce was exceptional.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tommomelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Madam Kwan's also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Madam Kwan's? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing