We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful atmosphere, delicious food”

Rama V Fine Thai Cuisine
Ranked #334 of 4,102 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Price range: US$ 25 - US$ 60
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
crazylass
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere, delicious food”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My partner and I came here on a Saturday night and had not booked, we were sat at the end of the restaurant with a lovely view of the garden with a pond. We had dumpling and dry salt beef to start both of which were beautifully presented and with well balanced flavours. We then had red chicken curry and massaman curry, the red curry was really perfect-not to hot or sweet and very fragrant. Wine by the glass and bottled beer were both reasonably priced, and as long as you avoid the overpriced mineral water at the beginning, the staff are not pushy and quietly vigilant. Definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank crazylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    58
    35
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch at a decent price”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I have only been to Rama V for the approximately 30 RM lunch buffet. Its not a traditional buffet as you order a main dish and get the appetizers and sides from the buffet. Its a perfect combination as the main dish is freshly made and the appetizers and salads that don't necessarily need to be served immediately are grabbed at your leisure.

My favorite from the buffet is the lab gai or chopped chicken salad.

Can't recommend the lunch enough.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kl-owens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food fit for a King”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

One of the high end Thai restaurants in KL. Great choice of authentic Thai dishes and the choice of desserts are awesome.

Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie6529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Romantic place for a date, good food.”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Loved the place, so romantic, service was fast. You will enjoy if you are prepared to shell out money. 200 MYR for two without drinks was more than enough. That was for two appetizers, a salad and two main dishes. Will go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
214 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Unique environment will situmulate your special night”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Although it was a last-minute booking on the event day, we have managed to book a table for 2. It may be because of its price...!? A bottle of house wine, two soups, two mains = MYR280...this is considered high in KL standard.

Satisfied! - because I personally like this environment. Staff are attentive and above average in KL. If you have a special occasion, the Thai atmpsphere situmulates on your event mood...

Food is mediocre...if you know authenthic Thai food. It does NOT mean food are not nice, a small piece is missing....(not only pork but some Thai essense is not in).

However, I love this restaurant and I am a repeat customer. If you have a group dinner, I would recommend to book a charlet for private banquet.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travelhoneybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rama V Fine Thai Cuisine also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Rama V Fine Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing