We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Over-priced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iketeru Restaurant

Iketeru Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 3,787 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Helmed by the affable Japanese Executive Chef, Ricky Kamiishi, Iketeru has built and maintained its reputation as the best in town for authentic Japanese cuisine. Location: Level 8
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Over-priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

The food is alright but I find the prices way too steep. In KL you can get much better food at cheaper prices. Of course if you are doing corporate entertainment or your guest happens to stay at the Hilton then it's a good place to go.

Helpful?
Thank DazzaRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    63
    28
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
97 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good experience - despite mixed reviews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

I brought a few guests here last night and had the seafood set at the teppanyaki. I know some people have put up negative reviews, but our experience was very good (and has been on previous occasions too). The lobster was excellent as was the sashimi and our chef was very friendly.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank pvdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“For a special night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

I liked this restaurant because you can choose Teppanyaki style or sit down table menu style. They even have a small private Japanese style room where you can sit on the floor. Great food but quite expensive in comparison to other places we ate at in KL. Perfect for a special celebration.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank michinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good food if only it came in the order that it's expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Food is good, fresh ingredients. Quite expensive though, expect to shell out at least 300RM per person.
We ordered combination platter of sushi and sashimi for starters. Unfortunately it came out last when everyone was full with the sukiyaki, seafood teriyaki and tempura.
Service is poor, takes too long for someone to get our order, to deliver the drinks and food took too long. As mentioned earlier the sushi came out last.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank happyroadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Average food, OK service but terrible value.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

I stay at Hilton KL regularly and decided to try the Iketeru on one occasion where I had just got in to town as I was too tired to go out of the hotel.

I must say while the atmosphere and decor is quite nice, everything else leave more to be desired.

Food was just average at best. As mentioned before, you can get a lot better quality elsewhere in the city for far less $.

Service is not bad, but expected at this price range.

Bottom line, an average dinner for two came to a whopping (for KL standards) RM 900 which would have been fine had the food been really great, but unfortunately for Iketeru I know my Japanese food very well so I can't really rate the food more than average regardless of the price.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Payam81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iketeru Restaurant also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Iketeru Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing