We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Living near the nature with comfort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sekeping Serendah Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuala Lumpur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sekeping Serendah Retreat
Ranked #32 of 320 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Singapore
Level Contributor
100 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Living near the nature with comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

The PR material actually very accurately and honestly describes the resort as "a private retreat attempting to tread lightly on the land. The very transparent and open sheds celebrate the beauty of the natural environment surrounding them. The sheds are intentionally kept basic and free from lavishness. They are seen more as ‘glorified tents’ to provide basic shelter for its inhabitants as they commune with the land." And I agree that it is indeed so. But one has to live in to see and understand the subtle message the owner is sending us.

Although some viewers in this forum consider it too basic (towels & toiletries are not provided - but toilet rolls are there!) and overpriced but I think if the group is big enough - six to eight, it works out to be M$80 to M$100 per persons for the most expensive building (timber shed). The glass building and mud (cement) are within the range of M$330-M$500). Pay more for weekends.

The only shortcoming if I may say, is the location is not easy to access. Although it is not that far to drive in from the main road, it lacks directional sign to alert drivers to turn in. And it rightly warns that the GPS map may not point to the right route. Actually a simple and more reliable method is to erect one or two small signboards along the trunk road. But I suppose the owner may not want to make known this place too much as it has only six sheds (buildings) to rent out. So not for big group, unless one could book the entire resort (good for about 40 persons). If lost and have to ask for direction, do not use the official name as the locals only known this place as "Glass House" (玻璃屋)probably after the two glass sheds.

During my stay, my cheap $30 handphone was able to receive quite clear signal, so I suppose it boils down more to the quality of telco providers.

One other advantage of staying in this resort is the free waterfall nearby - 15 minutes walk or 3 minute drive. It is quite safe to swim there. For those who like fishing, there is also a fishing pond (nearer to the resort) on the way to the waterfall.

To me, the most important consideration is that the Serendah old town (less than ten minutes drive from the resort) has one of Malaysia's best coffeeshops where one could still taste old fashion coffee and tea-C. In fact, this small town is worth visiting eve if you have no intention to try the resort.

Room Tip: The best "shed" to me is the timber building near the entrance. It is easy to access and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PKWSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    47
    28
    9
    11
See reviews for
24
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

3 of us stayed in the mud shed and paid about RM500++. The room was well "basic" looks like any incomplete constructed bricked room. Furnished with 1 double bed + a set of bunk beds +2 fans +mini fridge + basic washroom (hot shower). To b honest I think it was overpriced, overrated!! However, it was a good experience; itz like high class camping!! Mud shed will have a sharing kitchen with the neighboring mud shed. BBQ pit charchoal skewer cutleries eating utensils all provided(even fire started out for u). The swimming pool is public sharing basis, and is really pretty :) swimming among the trees :) ps: bring own food/oil for cooking, towel, toiletries, mozzie repellent :) (ice can be requested, some one will run the errand for u)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weiwayk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

There is no telephone signal, no tv, but full with trees, greens and nature! You got to bring your own food or the keeper can actually help you to buy it( free of service charge) or you can get them to prepare your food (with a fee). We had a great time BBQ-ing there, enjoying the nature and catch up time. Mosquito repellent is a necessity, which we forgot to bring, but the keeper borrow it to us for the whole night. We wanted to buy it coz we used a lot but he said it's ok, a very nice man.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peggy_teo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

South-east asian mixed loft modern style.
Request for advance booking.
No activities provide beside BBQ
design by Malaysian famous architect.
Hidden in the faraway rural town - about an hour drive.

Room Tip: Glass house is nice for group of friends (3-4 ppl) Mud house is fit for family trip/ able to fit 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gleaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Since there were 10 of us in the group, we booked 2 glass houses for a total or RM 1,300 (RM 600 per house - which is suppose to accomodate only 4 guests, and an additional RM 100 for 2 extra guests). We chose not to cater, and had BBQ for dinner, and cooked bacon and eggs for breakfast the following morning. BBQ utensils were fully provided, even new steel nets and charcoals, as well as 8 skewers per house.

What we loved about this trip:

- being surrounded by nature, fresh air and the comforting sound of a nearby brook.
- BBQ for dinner
- taking a dip in Serendah Falls (20 minutes walk from the Glass House)
- close proximity to the city (less than an hours drive away)
- no telephone reception means guest can just focus on family and friends who are present without the distraction of smartphones and internet.
- plenty of photo opportunities for photo enthusiasts.
- should try the popular steam fish at Lan Je Restaurant in Rawang Town, 20 minutes by car away from Sekeping Serendah retreat.

For photos & more information on our experience, please read at the following link: http://wheretimeisnot.blogspot.com/2011/05/sekeping-serendah-may-2011.html

What can be improved

- the caretaker should provide a quick tour of the houses, especially the many electricity switches.
- greater care should be taken to keep the mattresses free from bed bugs. Many of us came away with bug bites that itch for days.

Room Tip: Bring swimwear & good friends!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JiaShiun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuala Lumpur
6.9 km away
Villa Samadhi
Villa Samadhi
#1 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
7.2 km away
5 Twenty at Ampang Hilir
5 Twenty at Ampang Hilir
#8 of 320 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
31.4 km away
Sailor's Rest
Sailor's Rest
#1 of 8 in Janda Baik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Drop Inn on the Park
Drop Inn on the Park
#48 of 320 in Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
5.9 km away
Container Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Container Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 320 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
36.0 km away
The Chateau Spa & Organic Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sekeping Serendah Retreat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sekeping Serendah Retreat

Property: Sekeping Serendah Retreat
Address: 67 Jalan Tempinis | Lucky Garden, Bangsar, Kuala Lumpur 59100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 320 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Sekeping Serendah Retreat Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing