We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
39
37
4
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
37
4
4
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2015

This hostel is brilliant. As a family of 7, we pre-booked rooms. There is a choice of private rooms and dorms. The rooms only have a fan so it can get quite hot and the rooms are small but we never feared that our things may be at risk of disappearing despite sharing with other travellers. Breakfast is provided and includes toast, cereal, fruit, unlimited tea and coffee and fruit also available during the day. There is a shared bathroom for the dorm we were in which as small but we didn't have to wait long to use it. There is a common room type area downstairs with books, maps and a TV with loads of DVDs to watch and read if you have some down time.

This hostel is in a great location right in the centre of Kuala Lumpur and within easy walking distance to the attractions.

The owner lives on site and is really friendly and helpful.

For a great meal, next door does a mix of different Indian and Malay foods which are delicious. Try the roti canai, some of the best in malaysia

Room tip: Book a private room if you don't want to share with other travellers because there can be up to 8 in a room
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jen_Keenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2014

I have been staying at the Red Palm Hostel in the heart of Bukit Bintang whenever I am in KL. It is centrally located near the Bukit Bintang LRT station. It is within walking distance to the top shopping malls: Pavilion, Times Square, and BB Plaza. It is one block from the famous Hawker Street night food market where you can sample all manner of local culinary delights. Sofie, the owner is a wonderful welcoming host. The dorms are air conditioned at nights. There are lockers available. There is a free complimentary breakfast, fast reliable WiFi, and 2 friendly cats. Best of all this Red Palm is affordable.

Room tip: There is only one dorm.
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank El_Chinito1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

This is a nice little hostel. The staff were welcoming and knew my name on arrival. One of the cats had kittens recently so there were 5 kittens chilling which was cool.
I was in the private room which has it's own air conditioner so worth the little bit extra. Be aware that the stairs are quite steep up into that room though.
The location is perfect. I stayed one night only and was able to do Jalan Alor and the Petronas Towers easily by foot.

Date of stay: July 2014
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Disclaimer: cheap accommodations in KL just suck. That said:

Goods: nice vibe, cute kitties roaming around, location.

Bads:
-> no AC in the private room (there's a fan though)
-> the mattress was ridiculously old with a huge hole in the middle. I never thought a mattress can get that bad. When I informed the owner all she had to say was "I know". Not cool.
-> only one bathroom (and a half) shared with the entire hostel.

TL;DR: keep searching.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oilnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed in Red Palm for the first time two years ago and this year I went back to KL and didn't even think about going anywhere else than Red Palm. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the atmosphere in the common area is cozy and beds are comfortable. There are plenty of novels and travel books for you to read and you can borrow a map from the hostel to explore the city. Hostel is located in the Golden Triangle so Petronas Towers and shopping malls are within walking distance.
Breakfast is included and coffee and tea is available all day long. Few cats are living in the hostel as well so if you allergic, you might consider another place to stay. Overall, one of the best backpacker hostels I've been to!

Room tip: All the rooms are quite ok. In the dorms it's usually pretty quiet and the guests respect others guests who are sleeping.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Taru_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews