We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked in advanced and then put into a smoking room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Boulevard - A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #69 of 355 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Arrived through check-in, the staff were friendly. Then went to the room, well the smell in the corridor kit me first, to very quickly establish I was given a smoking room. I then went back to reception, where i was told that I had booked a smoking room, of which I certainly hadn't. I was then given the only option of a twin single for the first night. I asked to see the booking and also looked through my booking confirmation and verified that I hadn't booked a smoking room. I was on a conference here and later found out that this had also happened to several other delegates. Overall the rooms were tired looking and in need of renovation - burn marks on the carpets, etc.

Room Tip: be prepared to have another hotel on stand-by?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

When I checked in I was informed that my choice of room was no longer available (non smoking double). I had paid the hotel in full several months ago so I was pretty annoyed at this point. Cheekily they suggested I upgrade for a high fee to get the non smoking room. The receptionist even claimed that I hadn't even booked a non-smoking room but I had the paper work to prove it. In the end they put me in a twin room, which looked really old and tired. They moved me to a double non smoking on the second night and that was slightly better. Breakfast was poor and all really cheap looking products. This hotel needs a bit of money spent on it and some staff training. A poor experience so I certainly wont be staying again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Everything else is good! The service is excellent. The rooms if a little old are big and well maintained. The breakfast is great and the hotel is very well located. The One Big Problem is the car park is shared with Midvalley - the shopping centre. Getting to & from your parked vehicle will be a hassle - get down to the shopping centre ground floor, cross to the hotel side, take a lift up to your room, and repeat process in reverse to get to your car. This means fighting the shopping crowd - including queuing at lifts and escalators - whenever you need to get to your vehicle, and it won't be a short or comfortable walk. We ultimately decided that the valet at RM25/day was the way to go.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Findpaulng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

I have stayed at the Boulevard quite a few times over the last 5 years. I will say it's time for a renovation project. Rooms are dated and a lot of the furniture is chipped. The green carpets are supposed to be a touch of luxury but in many of the higher usage rooms they are worn. My advice is always pay the extra for an upgrade to a suite. For an extra us$40 you get a corner room which is huge and less worn. You also get club access on the 26th. While the club is a shade of its former self (3 years back it was a really cool place to hang 5 to 7 for a glass of wine), it's still worthwhile. Location for those doing business in Midvalley, Bangsar or even up the Federal Highway is very good

Some things that could do with review by management- the gym should be 24 hours or at least open at 6am not 7am which is frankly way too late
- the card slot system in the lifts is both difficult to use and sometimes doesn't work. Change over this system to a touchpad one would help a lot

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank JavaJiveHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

Always stayed at boulevard hotel when i am in KL. Place is clean and convenient. Hotel located within mid valley shopping. Just shop and off load at hotel and continue to shop again

Good choices for food and you will be spoilt for choice. Convenient to hop around a uber or grab to get around kl as well

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank CasChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 km away
The Gardens Hotel & Residences
The Gardens Hotel & Residences
#45 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
1,218 reviews
0.1 km away
Cititel Mid Valley
Cititel Mid Valley
#76 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
902 reviews
1.7 km away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur Bangsar
Pullman Kuala Lumpur Bangsar
#41 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
1.5 km away
Ascott Sentral Kuala Lumpur
Ascott Sentral Kuala Lumpur
#26 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
370 reviews
1.8 km away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#17 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
3,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boulevard - A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boulevard - A St Giles Hotel

Address: Mid Valley Expressway, Kuala Lumpur 59200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#36 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#55 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: ₹ 5,246 - ₹ 8,484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boulevard - A St Giles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located strategically in Mid Valley City; one of the most modern and integrated leisure, dining, entertainment and shopping destination in Kuala Lumpur, the 390-room Boulevard Hotel is easily accessible to major commercial hubs and popular tourist attractions. Adjoining to the hotel is the popular Mid Valley Megamall and the upscale Gardens Mall, with over 630 retails, dining and entertainment outlets. The hotel offers a choice of rooms including Executive Rooms and Studio Suites with FREE WIFI - perfect for business or family getaways. A variety of gastronomic delights is available at the 24-hour Wild Rice Restaurant, whereas Flutes Living Room is the place to unwind and enjoy your favourite cocktail. For the health conscious, there is an outdoor swimming pool and a gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Boulevard - A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulevard Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Boulevard Hotel
Boulevard Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing