We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good location heart of Bukit Bintang” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fortuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Fortuna
Ranked #206 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
146 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good location heart of Bukit Bintang”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Used to stay for short trips in Kuala Lumpur. Can never find another hotel in this location at this rate. Hotel looks seedy but some minor refurbishment done in last year. Noisy until dawn. Do not expect much at this rate

Room Tip: Request for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank auntiedoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    14
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
8
12
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

I usually stay at the Concorde hotel, which i find to be excellent all the time! However, this place was fully booked so out of desperation and tiredness to found this hole! The exterior says it all. Grotty, seedy and surrounded by low class trash!
I'd had 4 hours sleep the night before and just wanted somewhere to relax and sleep when i checked in at 3pm. However, the constant traffic noise and ranting staff, Indians and Arabs slamming doors and acting like they do in their own countries made it impossible. Thinking i'd be able to sleep at night was a mistake too.
Families who thought it a good idea to keep their doors open on the corridor and shout to each other from 7am in the morning just about got me to my wits end!
The room was shabby and the bathroom dirty....rather than putting the water in the fridge they leave it out and of course no such thing as ice. The pillows were like bricks and the air con could not be turned off or controlled so the room was freezing.
This place is over-priced and offers absolutely nothing by way of facilities. A hole and needs knocking down!!

Room Tip: there aren't any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
240 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

The room was dirty . The desk surface was filthy. The top shelve of the wardrobe hadn't been cleaned for probably a year - thick layer of dust. The window ledge of the bathroom window had old pieces of soap from previous guests. The shouting and arguing of working girls with hotel guests, the frequent car alarms going off outside, the banging of doors all night ..I had about 1 one hour sleep. Please note I am a very frequent business traveller, average 240 hotel nights per week for over 20 years, plus I know the hotel well when I stayed 1 week every month in 1991/1992.

Room Tip: both the front and back facings are noisy. In front you have the car alarms and shouting of all nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sousse
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

This was our 4th time here and the location is still excellent (heart of Bukit Bintang) However,with the disappearance of the Arab Restaurant on the ground floor and the demolition of the corner Irish pub,the area seemed seedier than previously. This hotel needs major overhauling! The renovation of rooms that started 2 years ago seems to have ground to a halt. The air conditioning cannot be controlled (or turned off) and is glacial, resulting in bronchitis for me. We asked for room 308 which we had 2 years ago facing the front and Petronas Towers,and found the brass knobs on the bureau still were missing and you still couldn't open the drawers. The shower curtain didn't reach the edge of the bathtub, altho after contacting housekeeping we found the third curtain we tried to be of a suitable length. The sheets are changed regularly, but the brown blankets are threadbare. Only one towel per person. 2 comp bottles of water each day as well as coffee/tea making facilities.No breakfast option available but 7/11 nearby. A small screen TV only offers a very limited range of progs,and the only one in English was a news station. Only one key card per room. Lift which functioned fine. 24 hour reception. The reception had had a makeover with new mirrors and looked cheerful as it was nicely decorated for Chinese new year). but it still only has 4 armchairs and a table. Redeeming features (apart from BB location) are the long serving staff who have always been helpful. They also kindly looked after our luggage while we were away.The walk-in price of 168RM is cheaper than Booking.com rate and we saved some money by cancelling our booking after one night and paying the hotel direct. A great pity that the hotel is not being maintained and is looking sadder by the year.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at front of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blingpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

The moment you see the hotel, you can roughly know what awaits you inside. The exterior of the hotel is shabby. It's situated along a back street and you can expect unwanted visitors hanging out along it when night falls. No doubt the hotel is very near to all the best shopping centres in Bukit Bintang!

Check-in was alright. The lift is very old, it takes forever to reach the highest floor. Corridor leading to the room smells musty, one you can expect from a very old hotel. The room needs a lot of refurbishment, especially when told by the receptionist that the room rate will increase by 2011. Stepping inside the room seems like we're stepping back into the 80's! Carpet is very filthy and waking up at the sight of a cockroach is not pleasant. No in-house restaurant or cafe, so don't expect room service. No hair-dryer for superior room, only available in deluxe! Bummer.

The only good thing about the hotel is the location and the view of the towers from our room. Only 2 minutes walk to Pavilion, Lot 10, Sungei Wang Plaza, BB Plaza and the rest! Other than that, stay away from this hotel, totally not worth the money!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyMephis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 km away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#83 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#216 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Al Jafs
Hotel Al Jafs
#192 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Iris Garden Hotel
Iris Garden Hotel
#253 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.3 km away
Gold 3 Boutique Hotel
Gold 3 Boutique Hotel
#111 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.1 km away
Alor Boutique Hotel
Alor Boutique Hotel
#219 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortuna

Property: Hotel Fortuna
Address: 87 Jalan Berangan, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,408 - ₹ 2,934
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Fortuna 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hotel Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortuna Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing