We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Kuala Lumpur Craft Complex
from US$ 26.50
More Info
from US$ 42.00
More Info
from US$ 11.00
More Info
from US$ 38.75
More Info
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
52
46
21
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
46
21
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews batik painting beautiful clothing learn how any age worth a visit pewter items couple of hours artists diy souvenirs kraft silk activity shop techniques drawing kl
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Have various types of crafts made in Malaysia that you can find here. Here they have a museums that show the Malaysia craft origin.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank Nik Azreen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Malaysian Batik ..experience it yourself ..

Everyone can do Batik ..If you are looking to experience at least once Batik art ..this is the place to be.

Batik artists here are always happy to share their batik techniques.

Learning Batik drawing & colouring is made simple here in their original setting & very reasonably priced - compared to else where.

If you have never tried & is tempted ..this is a good place to do Batik-Art!

Date of experience: August 2017
3  Thank 288angelinat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

We were recommended by some ex pat friends to go here and they were not wrong. Perfect place to enjoy Batik painting, creating a piece of local art to take home, simple, fun and enjoyable - very inexpensive. We spent about an hour doing this activity, suitable for anyone from about age 8 and any age adult. Lots of lovely local gifts to buy, in a very nicely presented, large shop. No haggling or any pressure. Almost empty when we went and air conditioned so, a welcome find.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank gnome2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

This was my second visit to the Craft Complex. On my first visit there was a large exhibition of handicrafts. Today there was no exhibition just a sad collection of shops with some ordinary items that in no way represented the wealth of handicraft talent in Malaysia. In one shop the shop assistant was so busy cutting her nails with a nail clippers she didn't even know we were in the shop. In fact there were very few tourists around and no wonder. The museum had many exhibits closed and again was a very sleepy atmosphere. It was a very sad place and no one seemed genuinely interested to work there except for the man on the information desk and the women running the batik workshop. You can paint your own small batik drawing for 15RM and take it home. This was very a very relaxing activity. I would advise to only go to this kraft centre when exhibition is on otherwise it's not worth the effort. I left feeling very sad about this missed opportunity to highlight Malaysian handicrafts.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Traesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Went to Karyaneka and the shops in this complex as I was looking for batik clothing and accessories to bring home as gifts. First of all, the AC did not work, and it was stifling. Secondly, the selection was extremely poor, all of the men's batik was pink or purple. I couldn't find anything to buy. I went to several stores in the complex and had dismal results.
What I did ultimately find out is that the Karyaneka at the airport inside of security had better selection. If you are in a bind to buy gifts, go there.
The major tip is that most of the batik sold is made by a company called Arizali. There is an Arizali store in KL and it is worth going to. You can also order from the Arizali website. So skip this complex and go straight to Arizali. You will thank me!

Date of experience: July 2017
4  Thank JamesBondLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews