We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Exciting Yet Humbling Supper”

Dining In The Dark KL
Ranked #1 of 5,108 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: A restaurant in total darkness. A completely new sensory experience. Dining in The Dark KL, the very first of its kind in Malaysia.The optic nerve is overridden – your other senses take over. Every sound, every movement, every taste, every breath is an adventure!Thoughtfully designed and carefully prepared surprised menu fit for a fine dining—Starter, Soup, Main, Dessert—with varying flavours to give your palate a wonderful experience and your mind... an exciting challenge!
Reviewed 8 August 2016

The dining-by-touch system is well designed and the pre-meal games prepared us well for our experience. The staff were super friendly and professional and put us at ease right from the start to the end. The dishes was mostly delicious, very interesting, unpredictable, and challenging to identify. My one suggestion is to design the meals to be eaten by one pre-sanitized hand, with the other assigned to feeling out and holding the plates, as this would certainly heighten the sensory experience.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarcS4672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WernersGroup, Public Relations Manager at Dining In The Dark KL, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Hi Marc, thank you for sharing such generous and encouraging feedback about us. Glad you were enjoying an interesting dining in the dark experience from the beginning till the end. We look forward to serve you again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

669 - 673 of 1,650 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

My wife and I visited this restaurant during the first leg of our honeymoon in KL. The restaurant was recommended by a number of friends who had been previously. A surreal experience that has to be tried! The food was great and the service was even better. Our waiter was absolutely brilliant, as were all the staff and the manager who sat with us after our meal for a nice chat. This restaurant is now well known in the UK as many of our friends have visited and it is one first places that are mentioned when discussing travelling to KL.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Amin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WernersGroup, Public Relations Manager at Dining In The Dark KL, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Hi aminahmed12345, thank you for sharing with us your valuable experience during your visit to Dining In The Dark KL! We're truly humbled by the kind and generous remarks and we couldn't express how grateful we are for being the restaurant that is mentioned by your friends in the UK. Glad the visit to our restaurant was a great one for you! We look forward to serve you again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

We were a group of five people on a adventurous dinner to dining in the dark. The reception was very welcoming with a welcome drink followed by a introduction , which gave us confidence that we can dine in the dark, need to keep anything glowing in the locker outside. We were served by blind guides and as the name says, it was pitch black. Food and service was really fantastic and It was a unique experience which can't be described by words, need to be there to experience it. The manager and all the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Would defenetly recommend.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Parthiban P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WernersGroup, Public Relations Manager at Dining In The Dark KL, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Hi Parthiban P, thank you so much for your generous and encouraging review about us! It's such a pleasure to be able to serve you with a uniquely memorable experience! Glad you find our service and food enjoyable! Looking forward to serve you again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

The experience was totally amazing. When my husband and I first arrived there, we were seated down at the waiting area and were introduced to a few games. I can't remember much, but it was about palate and sensory. After that, our names were called and we were introduced to a friendly blind waiter who brought us to our table. It was complete darkness and everything was just based on sensory. We were briefed on how we should eat the food. Although the food might be simple, but it's quite delicious. After the dining experience, we were brought to the lounging area where we find out what we had earlier.

Overall, it was a really fun experience because my husband and I did nothing but talk and eat since no mobiles are allowed.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JaniceChew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WernersGroup, Public Relations Manager at Dining In The Dark KL, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Hi JaniceChew, glad you find the whole dining experience an amazingly fun one! Indeed, that is what we hope to cultivate - a quality interpersonal communication between people without any distraction, together with fine food and pleasant service, of course. Appreciate your generous review! We look forward to serve you again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

We have heard about this place through our friends. On our recent visit to kl, even though we were very skeptical about Dining in the dark,we have decided to try it. I must say that the whole experience was amazing, starting from the entrance, the introduction, the blind guides and the different varieties food.The moment you step in they take control of you and i appreciate the confidence they have. Job well done .Definitely would recommend.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Darsiniivarsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WernersGroup, Public Relations Manager at Dining In The Dark KL, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Hi Darsiniivarsha, thank you for allowing us to share with you an exquisitely unique dining in the dark experience. Glad you find it amazing and fun! We greatly appreciate your kind words in sharing about us with everyone! Looking forward to serve you again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dining In The Dark KL also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Dining In The Dark KL? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing