We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extraordinary experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dining In The Dark KL

Dining In The Dark KL
Ranked #1 of 3,998 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A restaurant in total darkness. A completely new sensory experience. Dining in The Dark KL, the very first of its kind in Malaysia.The optic nerve is overridden – your other senses take over. Every sound, every movement, every taste, every breath is an adventure!Thoughtfully designed and carefully prepared surprised menu fit for a fine dining—Starter, Soup, Main, Dessert—with varying flavours to give your palate a wonderful experience and your mind... an exciting challenge!
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extraordinary experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

For once we got the chance to experience food in a completely different way. All other senses become more sensitive to anything around you. We experience d food through sounds i.e. hearing your guide bring the food and describe the way to eat it, smell, touch, texture and finally d amazing tastes. Thank you goes to our guide THONG For accompanying us through this culinary journey!

Helpful?
2 Thank Marijasunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    787
    291
    66
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Glad that KL is having it finally”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Is a very unique experience, everyone should try it at least once no matter with friends or your love one :-)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AmyWoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Delightful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Brought my wife here for her birthday, and we enjoyed the experience very much.

The familiarisation activity before the dinner was fun. You should also definitely make sure that you wash your hands before you start the dinner, since your hands will definitely come into contact with the food more often than not.

The food was good, but not exceptionally great. However, this could be because of the lack of sight, which takes away the presentation part which sometimes makes food look better than they really are.

Remember to thoroughly smell your food before eating it, as that will enhance the experience.

Tong the waiter was excellent, always attentive. Do come for the earlier session if you could though since the food comes slower when there's more people.

Oh, they arranged a special something for my wife too. Several waiters suddenly turned up around us and started singing happy birthday in the dark, with a guitar too! The additional
dessert/birthday cake in the form of Tiramisu was a nice touch too.

The after dinner tea and coffee was great, seeing as they served my wife's favorite chamomile and a nice dark coffee for me. It was a lovely way to wind down after the unique experience.

All in all, this place is definitely worth a try!



  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Gan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Very interesting and different way to dine! Its amazing how different food can seem when you can't see it - we were tricked a few times! Food is great, very western (our particular menu was anyway), nothing outstandingly new in concept but the fun is in guessing what you have! Despite being 4 courses, I didn't feel disgustingly full afterwards, which is good. The staff are fantastic, I couldnt get over how they knew where everything went in the pitch black! All in all a very highly recommended experience, great value too

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole_Pua_DID, Manager at Dining In The Dark KL, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear C W,

It is our pleasure to have served you. And yes, feeling what you are eating without first looking at it could be fun and at times, frustrating.

We hope your other senses besides the sense of sight were enhanced during the dinner. Our staff simply memorise where everything lies in order to get around. And hearing plays an important role as we listen out for our colleagues or our diners.

Hope to see you again soon!

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

After rave reviews from others I wanted to experience this fabulous concept for myself. The food was good - not 5 star though - but we weren't expecting that anyway. Service was excellent. The price was affordable too. Most of all it was a whole new experience and a fantastic talking point. The outdoor seating was obviously for the bar only, but a great way to wind up the night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole_Pua_DID, Manager at Dining In The Dark KL, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear pensas2358,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad that you have enjoyed the whole experience and we strife to do even better for all our diners. Your presence has been an encouragement to the team. Thank you.

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dining In The Dark KL also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Dining In The Dark KL? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing