We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only location, bit disappointment with room and our bad luck with lock & key”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #51 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Only location, bit disappointment with room and our bad luck with lock & key”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I stayed there for 1 night with my family.

Room was ready with a bad luck, jammed, couldn't open it, and had to go to lobby (very far from room) multiple times. We waited outside the room for 15 minutes. Nothing happened and they gave us room to sit until the mechanic came and broke the lock to open the room.

Finally room is now opened and found very small and uncomfortable. Smelly toilet and very small.

Window is there but you cannot open it and outside is China Town market.

Too much noise most of the time, due to renovation.

Were tired and gone to market to eat something, came back and found the room key not working.

Walked long to reach the lobby, then they did something with the key. Gone back to room and found no success in opening the room with the fixed key.

Tired and very frustrated, I asked my wife to go to lobby again, then she went to lobby to get the key fixed for the second time. Finally, after fixing it again, it worked and we entered the room.
TV remote was not working.
Without AC, stuffiness.

Pros: Location, nice restaurant, free Wi-Fi, in the middle of China Town market.
Cons: Noise, small rooms, service.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StrawberryAndRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissInnKL, General Manager at Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Valued Guest

We read with concern your feedback of your recent stay in Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience experienced.
We are truly sorry to have fallen short of your justifiably expectations.
All the points highlighted will be looked into and rectified immediately by our team.

We highly value your patronage and hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you and welcome you back soon.

In the meantime, if I may be of any assistance, please let us know.

Thank you for your valuable time.

Warm regards.

Abdul Latib Omar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    455
    247
    76
    53
See reviews for
172
357
123
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grafton, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Id read the reviews and was a bit cautious when I arrived but my fears were put aside as soon as the young man at reception greeted me. I cannot remember his name but he was fantastic and looked after our party of 3 to no end and always with a smile. The room was as expected but was clean and tidy. Did not like the fact that you couldnt open the window but that was a minor problem. The hotel is in a great location with a few steps out the door and your in the China Town markets. The breakfast was very nice and more than expected. Overall a great experience and as I told the young man, will be back on my next visit to KL. Thanks

Room Tip: Dont let the rabbit warren hallways bother you, you will get to your room eventually
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glenita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung,Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Hotel is nice & right at Petaling street in the heart of Chinatown, touristy spot, near to bus & LRT station which is convenient. Breakfast is good but not much variety but its good enough I guess since the rate is cheap enough. The room is clean & the water is hot so its good after one day runaround the city that you know hot shower is waiting for you. The staff is really nice & if you planning to stay around Chinatown, Swiss inn definitely the one to look for

Room Tip: Choose the room on the west wing or the one at Sultan Street and higher floor since it's less no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We booked and paid for four nights, but had to leave (with no refund) after only two nights due to the incessant noise of jackhammers and debris disposal - the noise started at 6.30am, abated over the breakfast period then resumed from 10am until 6pm every day. When we approached the staff we were told that "we're renovating" and the noise was therefore somehow acceptable.
We were not advised of this at the time of booking as we would have made other arrangements.
The restaurant food was acceptable except for the "Tom Yam" soup which was the worst that we have tasted across four countries.

Room Tip: None until the renovations are complete. Also, many rooms with windows have no outlook except to adj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Very enjoyable stay from start to finish the staff made me very welcome and the surrounding area of Chinatown was very enjoyable first class

Room Tip: All rooms are more than up to standards
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 km away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
0.3 km away
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#55 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
848 reviews
0.4 km away
Pacific Express Hotel
Pacific Express Hotel
#75 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Grid 9 Hotel
Grid 9 Hotel
#69 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
651 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Maison Boutique
Hotel Maison Boutique
#46 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
433 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Transit Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Transit Kuala Lumpur
#60 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur

Property: Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Address: Swiss-Inn Kuala Lumpur 62 Jalan Sultan | Chinatown, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,605 - ₹ 4,879
Hotel Class:3 star — Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe. Our 20sqm Deluxe Room with window. Fitted with a choice of Queen and Twin beds. Connecting rooms upon request. Access to Extra-bed (chargeable). It comfortably accommodates with 2 Adults & 1 Children below age of 12. All rooms are designed and furnished to meet the discerning guests' needs - individual air-conditioning, private bath with shower, hairdryer, iron/ironing board upon request, IDD call and complimentary 2 bottle of mineral water with coffee/tea making facilities. LCD Television with in-house video channel, selected Astro channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HostelWorld so you can book your Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing