We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
THE FACE Suites(Kuala Lumpur)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Gulshan Ampang(Kuala Lumpur)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,027)
Filter reviews
4,027 results
Traveller rating
1,658
1,411
615
206
137
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,658
1,411
615
206
137
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswest wingpetronas towerslifestyle loungeswim up barbukit nanas monorail stationclub levelan upgradehop on hop off busbit datedupgraded to a suiteswimming pool ischinese restaurantmin walkbuffet breakfastthe executive loungepublic transporttemptation
Filter
Updating list...
2,404 - 2,409 of 4,027 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I understand that this hotel has an east n west wing, i stayed at the east wing.
Checked in ~9pm, it was okay. Lobby was so-so. 6 lifts, quite fast. Stayed at level 18. The room seriously need a refurbish. It smells funny as we went in, like musty smell. The refrigerator was non functioning, the rubber rims of the fridge door was dangling free, therefore d fridge wasnt cold at all. there were ants in d bathroom n pantry, through out the 3 days we were staying in the room. The bathtub was too disgusting, didnt soak in it, only stood in it n took bath w the shower. The shower curtain has moss on it, yucks....The toiletries: i cant appreciate them. used my own. Water tap was difficult to adjust temperature....
Bed was so-so. nothing impressive but nothing big to fault about.

There was a lounge at d west wing w a group of jazz band. cool but unfortunately it was a smoking area

Breakfast was like a 'pasar malam' aka night market....ppl not queing for breakfast, the staff was clueless bout what was happening. The breakfast hall wasnt big enough to cater for d guests. I was redirected to hv my breakfast at the west wing, which was a more pleasant place. But quality of the food was so-so. again, nothing to shout about.

One thing worth mentioning was d attitude of the staff. Most of the staff were pleasant n helpful, ie those at the reception, gym, concierge, etc...the operator was abit crude but nonetheless helpful

In conclusion, i will not pay to stay in this hotel. Wouldnt mind if it's a paid trip to attend conference etc...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Varnteing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We had a really nice stay at this hotel where the room were of excellent quality (we had a superior room) this looked right into the twin towers, the staff were very friendly, well trained, and very helpful, other hotels please note some staff even had a sense of humar which I find lackingin most hotels. The breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choices.

I also liked the fact that this hotel was very close to the sky rail and also the underground using both these methods of transport makes getting about in K L so very easy and so cheap, I must also add that the local people can't do enough to assist you if you need help.

Room Tip: We stayed in the superior rooms but on talking to other guests most if not all rooms are of excellent quality
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaphosGerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

i stayed for two nights in their new tower,i was unlucky to not able to get kl tower view room but still the rooms and location of the hotel both are to good.Hotel is to big........huge swimming pool....awesome crowd.......the only good thing except kl tower in malaysia is this hotel................slight improvement in service required.....behaviour of the staff at the time of breakfast very bad, when i was having my breakfast the waiter came three times to take off my plate when its clearly visible that i m having my breakfast and v had just started..........ravi gupta,noida,india

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ravig077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We travelled to Malaysia in May and stayed at the Renaissance on the first night and then again on the last night, We stayed at Tanjong Jara for 5 nights in between.

On the First night, we were lucky enouhg to be upgraded to the Exectuive Rooms on the 22nd & 23rd Floor. Very nice. Equivalent to a 5 star hotel and with a great vew of the Petronas Towers.

On the second stay. We weren't so fortunate, although we did get rooms with views of the Towers. The decor in the these rooms was pretty tired and in need of an upgrade. My father-in-law described it as 3 star on style hotel. About right !!

Its a shame as the rooms are spacious they just need an update.

The Breakfast in the restaurant was good, Good value but not 5 star. Very, very busy both times (this is a huge hotel), but service was good and the quality was fine.

One gripe. They need to sort out better directions from the Car park Garage. There are 2 receptions East & West Wing, When we took the elecvator up and couldn't find either initially and one staff member we asked didn't seem to know where reception was !!

Also if you come out of the elevetor with luggage there are steps to egt from one reception to the other.

All in all I would stay here again as it was reasonable value but just don't expect 4 star plus.

Room Tip: ASk for an upgrade and definitely a view of the Towers.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david19h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Travelled with family and had booked 3 rooms-stayed for 4 nights in June 2012.Easy check in and easy check out. Great staff at the reception and concierge-prompt, friendly and helpful.
Stayed in the west wing so view from the room had KL Minara and the swimming pool-bed comfortable, large room size, awesome pillows, big and clean bathroom
Perfect location as hotel is situated right opposite HOHO bus first stop and abt 10 mins from Petronas+KLCC(be warned though that construction work is going on the pavement and left side of the road is not fit for walking). Easy and fast enough access from rest of the shopping and sights by cab.
All good so far.
However, the service/staff at the VOGUE was the worst I have ever seen..too busy talking amongst themselves whether at dinnertime or at breakfast to pay attention to the guests.
At breakfast had to be reminded everyday for coffee and tea refills i.e. if you were lucky enough to get their attention and even if they finally heard you they would rather wait around and smile at each other rather than serve the guests. The food spread and taste of Breakfast was below average for a 5 star hotel except their bread section, which was really good.
The first time we had dinner there, it took us quite a while to get more than one menu card at our table!! Service was super slow, was served warm beer and absolutely raw fish in the fish n chips!..they apologized and offered to take the dish out of our billing amount and sent 6 Rambutans to our room the next day with a note. The second time we had dinner, there were just 3 other tables occupied, took us about 10 mins to get someone to get the us menu card and that too after I had to personally get up and go looking for a server..they were not too far though- just huddled in a corner talking amongst themselves..no apology but we were finally able to place our orders..food service 101- serve all mains together..but here..a gap of 10-mins each between serving 4 mains..had to be reminded thrice to get us a bread basket..had to be reminded twice to get us water, whisky served in shot glass, and again reminded to get us the menu cards to order our desserts..time to pay the cheque and no one was around again..so once again I again had to get up and go looking but this time none of the servers were on the floor. I was able to spot the hostess huddled behind a computer- asked her for the cheque and then again for the comment card..and now waiting to hear from someone..not sure though whether the comment card would be forwarded to anyone or not though so this could be long wait.
We are easy travelers and the first time with the fiasco at dinner time of serving raw food to kids we didn’t say anything and graciously accepted their apology although the offer to not charge us for the same was laughable. They seriously need to look at whether their staff is untrained, underpaid or overworked but for a Mariott to offer this as service on their property is unacceptable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newbiemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews