We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not a five star.”
Review of Sunway Putra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sunway Putra Hotel
Ranked #33 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Definitely not a five star.”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This hotel was okay, though the proximity to the trains mean that it is very noisy between 6am and 11pm. The room shakes and the noise woke me up, and I live near a busy road so I'm used to a certain amount of traffic noise.
The hotel was advertised as a five star, but it is definitely no more than a four star. I have stayed in numerous five star properties, and this has none of the features that you would expect.
The worst thing is that housekeeping staff stole a camera battery charger, and replaced it with a cheap connector lead so that I wouldn't notice. When I raised this with the hotel, they refused to do anything about it. The staff were generally rude and I would not return to this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GinTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear GinTraveller,

Thank you for your feedback. Based on our records, your booking was made for a Superior Room but upon check-in you were upgraded to a Crest Room, which is 3 categories higher. These rooms come with doubled glazed balcony and this is the first time we have actually received a complaint of this nature. Nevertheless, we shall look into it. In regards to your charger, as per the investigation done by our Front Office Manager whom has also replied your email, there was no exchange done by our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    556
    202
    72
    55
See reviews for
349
451
103
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I don't know what it was exactly, the fact that the lobby and breakfast area have no windows, the room decoration which was outdated, the run-down bathroom or the smell of fastfood waste when you enter the building, but we found this hotel a bit depressing. We got upgraded upon check in, and the choice at breakfast was varied, so all in all it was a decent stay, but we promised ourselves we would never return.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amsterdamtraveller35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear amsterdamtraveller35,

Thank you for your feedback. You will be pleased to know that there are windows located at the back of Coffee House. There is also a large glass dome offering natural sunlight at the centre of the atrium. As for the outdated decoration, we will be embarking in a refurbishment exercise early next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Gotten a free upgrade to deluxe room. But room was big and empty. Hotel staff unfriendly and didnt even offer help to carry the baggage. Pillow and bed sheets were yellowish with stains. Wifi were expensive rm$60 for 24 hours. Have to go down to the cashier and buy. Will not come back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nnantasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear nnsntasy,

Thank you for your feedback. Rest assured our pillow covers are changed each time a guest checks out. Complimentary Wi-Fi is offered for higher category rooms such as the Crest Room & suites. Nevertheless, we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

It's a large hotel connected to a shopping mall and right on the metro stop. It is quite far north of the city. We enjoy walking rather than taking the metro (it's about 30/40 mins walk into the hub of KL) so we were quite fit by the end of our stay! We stayed 5 nights.

We were upgraded to a Crest Suite (room only - no extra Crest benefits). It was a huge, modern room with a king bed, desk area and small seating zone (2 chairs & a table). The bathroom was spacious and clean. Our room had a balcony and overlooked the pool with a great view of the city. It was a really dark room - despite large balcony doors, natural light was blocked by the rooms opposite and to the side. The room did have plenty of lights though. The bed was really comfy.

As others have said, if you can't stand being in a smoking room then you may have a problem. Of all the 20 something floors only about 4 were designated non-smoking. We were in a smoking room (non-smokers) but it smelt OK.

You could here the rumbling of the metro but it didn't bother me.

Checking in was fine but after that, service was appalling. We were there at Chinese New Year and so they were exceptionally busy but trying to get anything delivered to the room, from ice (which took 1.5 hours on one occasion) to missing towels from housekeeping was simply a nightmare prospect - in fact usually the towels were missing because housekeeping had run out of clean ones!

Breakfast was average - again hampered by the fact they were really busy. Mostly the experience was ruined by the other diners and their incessant need to grab all the food like it was running out. This of course was not the hotel's fault. The food was varied - the usual mix of continental European & Asian. Towards the end of our stay some foods did appear to run out - fruit gradually disappeared until it was bits of brown sliced apple, nice bread was no longer available and pastries became a bit random (not a bad thing!). But there was still enough to eat! We didn't eat in any of the hotels other restaurants.

The pool was a good size but again overrun with lots of CNY guests and their kids. There is no free internet. . .unless you happen to be in a room with a LAN port by the desk, a cable and a laptop with a LAN connection. . .I say no more. . .Failing that as others have said, Starbucks is just at the base of the hotel with free wi-fi.

Five nights here was too long with the bad service and it being quite out of the city and I would not return for those reasons. A couple of nights would have perhaps of left me considering returning. It's not a hideous place - it's a nice hotel but our overall experience was simply disappointing.

Room Tip: A high room will probably help cut down the metro noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cvinsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear cvinsider

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us. We would like to apologize for the unpleasant experience you had encountered throughout your stay. We shall definitely look into improving our standard of service to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki - Finland
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We booked two rooms from Sunway Putra for four nights for our family of six during our stay in Kuala Lumpur. The price we were getting seemed to be a good deal and it certainly was. During our stay we experienced no disappointments from the hotel and our entire group or two grandparents, two young children and my wife and myself were indeed satisfied with the rooms and services.

Our check in went very smoothly and both rooms that we got were extremely big and comfortable. Our grandparents got a room that obviously just recently gotten a face lift and it was very nice, but ours was nice too even though it appeared to be slightly older version.

The hotel has decent size pool area, nice gym and sauna/spa, small business centre and wireless in the rooms. Our deal included breakfast as well and the breakfast was very international and suitable for a broad variety of dishes to suit most taste buds.

The location is not exactly central, but within 10-15 minutes and about 5 euros (20 local) by taxi. Also, the hotel has a large shopping centre in the same building that has a food court in the basement as well as very nice food market to help the tight budget traveler to enjoy a perhaps more economical quisine options as well.

No disappointments, good service and all the services you could expect from a decent business hotel. Good deal indeed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Totti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Finnish Fog,
We are glad you had a good stay with us and hope to have you with us again soon. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 km away
Seri Pacific Hotel
Seri Pacific Hotel
#53 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
1,032 reviews
2.0 km away
Oasia Suites Kuala Lumpur by Far East Hospitality
7.1 km away
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#25 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
1,034 reviews
1.2 km away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
2.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Kuala Lumpur City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Putra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Putra Hotel

Property: Sunway Putra Hotel
Address: 100 Jalan Putra, Kuala Lumpur 50350, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#31 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#31 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#32 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,255 - ₹ 8,897
Hotel Class:5 star — Sunway Putra Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunway Putra Hotel is a brand new 5-star hotel in Kuala Lumpur that is perfect for work or play. Located along the Diamond Triangle, the hotel is only 15 minutes away from the central business district of Kuala Lumpur and strategically poised in one of the most vibrant parts of the city. Overlooking the iconic Putra World Trade Centre and adjacent to Sunway Putra Mall, the hotel enjoys superb transportation access and provides an exciting place to stay, shop and dine. We offer 650 completely renovated guestrooms with four classic collection; Superior, Deluxe, Classic Suites and Clubs, a large divisible Grand Ballroom along with 14 other spacious function rooms that caters to MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and celebrated socialites. At Sunway Putra Hotel, we provide fawning service, creative catering and innovative spaces to make your stay not just memorable but also spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Ctrip TA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Sunway Putra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legend Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Legend Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing