We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Federal Hotel was really great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Federal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Federal Hotel
Ranked #78 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Federal Hotel was really great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We spent several nights here as stopovers to and from Europe. Sure it is the oldest hotel in K.L. but is was well decorated and reasonably clean. We had two disturbed nights with outside noise but when approached, management was only too pleased to give us a better (and larger) room.
What impressed us most was the friendly staff at the main restaurant who went out of their way to make sure we were well looked after. I had no problem with my gluten-free diet as there was such a great range of foodstuffs available. Even offered discounts on meals for us as room-renters!
Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerandGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    290
    206
    78
    61
See reviews for
178
215
63
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

I have stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in Dec 2011. Initially, we had booked a standard room. When checking in, we have told the counter to put us in a quiet room. The lady was very kind and upgraded us to a bigger room. However, the room was not quiet. The beds are placed on the same wall as the corridor. Meaning, the corridor and our beds are just separated by a wall. And we could hear clearly the other guests closing their doors, running along the corridors and talking aloud. The beds are comfortable but the furnitures and room are old. The room looked like the decoration in the 80s. And the room is freezing cold . The aircon could not be adjusted. And my partner and I ended up sealing up the aircon with newspaper and scotch tape. After we had sealed up the aircon, the room is still cold as the aircon from the corridor seeps into the room through the door gaps and we had to seal up the gaps. I am not exaggerating as my partner whom has high threshold for low temperature is also freezing.. The hotel is located near to an IT mall and Sungei Wang. It is also surrounded by night spot. There is a row of street food nearby which sells delicious and cheap food. I probably would not stay there again unless the hotel renovate their rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sincerereview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aus
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

What a letdown.
Walking into the hotel we were overwhelmed with a spectacular entrance.
This however quickly changed when we walked into our rooms.
Out dated small rooms that smelt of smoke.
When I asked to changed room I was given to key to another room this was even smaller a had a great view of a brick wall.
I was then offered a room that only hand a king size bed.
Seem I was sharing with my father didn’t really think it would suit us.
It was only after nearly an hour later they said we do have a family room but it has 3 beds in it.
We took this room which had the worst beds I have ever slept in.
My back is still sore 5 days later.
I asked what the hotel would do to make up for such an inconvenience and was told we had a better room and that was all they could do.
WOW the room was still not a very good room.
Staff did their job and that was as far as it went apart from the staff in the revolving restaurant who were very friendly and helpful.
For such a upper end restaurant this was very out dated with ripped carpet and old paint.
A bit of a refurb would sure bring it back up to its former glory.
The pool also very old and out date not poolside bar and very little if any shade while in the pool.
No shade at all over the kids pool.
All up a big let down for a hotel in such a great spot.
Shape up guys that’s all I can say.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012 via mobile

Good location with excellent staff, friendly and always smiling. But the quality of the property is dissapointing. We booked 2 rooms, when we checked in, in one of the rooms, the shower could not be turned on and the Telephone was out. When called, the room change was done and we were upgraded to a deluxe room. Nothing that great, still in one of the room, the TV was not working. Another matter which troubles me is the car park. The hotel does not have a car park and we need to park at the shopping mall parking, i was worried about my car getting stolen. Anyway we only stayed a night. Will not stay there again.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank muthu6820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiderdorp
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I dont really know where to start. On the good side, this hotel is reasonably clean and its so easy as everyone speaks good English. However, The staff are not very friendly and there see to be a lot of confusion at the reception. They gave us first the wrong room and later gave us a room which was already occupied. As much as I want to grade this higher, I think there are things that they can improve on, especially service.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bartwookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 km away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#52 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
0.3 km away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#82 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.1 km away
The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur
The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur
#221 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
#89 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.1 km away
Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang
Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang
#90 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.2 km away
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Melia Kuala Lumpur
#44 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal Hotel

Property: Federal Hotel
Address: Federal Hotel Kuala Lumpur 35 Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,011 - ₹ 4,251
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Federal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right smack on Bukit Bintang, surrounded by shopping malls and restaurants (Chinese, Western, Japanese, Korean, Indian and Middle Eastern). The famous Alor Street (Jalan Alor Hawker Street - local foods) is opposite the hotel; and two monorail station are mere 5 minutes walk. The largest IT lifestyle in malaysia, LOW YAT PLAZA is besie hotel's rear entrance. For those who enjoy nightlife; there are pubs, clubs beside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ostrovok so you can book your Federal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Federal Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Federal Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing