We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Ok for a stop over close to the shopping action!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dorsett Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #54 of 338 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ok for a stop over close to the shopping action!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed here for two nights on a stop over from Vietnam. We stayed with our three children and while the room was big enough for everyone, it was in desperate need of an upgrade. The carpet was well worn and everytime we walked in we could smell a damp smell that lingered. I think this is a pretty old hotel compared to alot in the golden triangle but it really was pleasant enough. It is a great distance from all the fab shopping centres. We didn't eat at the hotel because there was a festival on in KL at the time and the hotel was packed to the rafters, meaning it was hard to get a seat in the restaurant. All in all a perfectly fine place to dtay if you are on a budget and don't want anything too flash.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foostika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HenryDorsett, Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your recent stay with Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur and taking time to post your feedback in Tripadvisor!

We regret there are short-coming in the area of room maintainance in which we have adressed this concern to ensure a comfortable stay. We have received many positive comments about the hotel location which is right in city center and walking distance to major shopping complexes.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Best regards,

Henry LOO
Resident Manager
Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    615
    302
    87
    49
See reviews for
410
404
96
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
HK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Ok hotel, a bit shabby in places. Hotel staff provided an ok service but did not go out of their way. Restaurant staff friendly and buffet good - lots of choice food good quality. Breakfast buffet was good when we went early, however, the next day it was busy as we went later and it was a bit of a bun fight! Can see towers from some rooms. Internet connection good. Bed was comfy and sheets clean. No issues, just an average hotel and service.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diamond23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HenryDorsett, Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for posting your review in Tripadvisor!
We welcome your feedbacks and comments of ways for our hotel service and product improvement which is important for us, and the success of our hotel.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards,

Henry LOO
Resident Manager
Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veliko Tarnovo, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

The good things:
+ Polite staff
+ Great location
+ Clean and spacious room
+ Nice breakfast buffet
+ I was able to check-in at 10 am which was very nice after a 12 hour flight.
The dissapointments:
- My room was a bit noisy - noises from elevators (even though the room was not so close to them) and from neighboring rooms might be disturbing for some people. I didn`t care much though as I am a very heavy sleeper.
- 15 ringgit (5 US $) per hour for wi-fi internet is a joke (and a bad one!). After all it is 2012, internet is free almost everywhere and it is strange to charge your guests for something that is available in the hotel anyway. For me it makes a bad impression to try gaining money in such manner, maybe next time there will be a charge for using the swimming pool or the elevators?!?

Room Tip: A room as far from the elevators as possible might help for a better sleep quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DobRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in this property and was pleasantly surprised that it was a very good deal! Our room rate included breakfast and the spread was excellent. The service staff at the restaurant were accommodative, both at breakfast and also at dinner, as we had some senior citizens as guests who needed assistance now and then to get food from the buffet.
Special requests made to Housekeeping were also carried out in a jiffy, and the staff made sure that what they delivered was to our satisfaction. These included removing of an extra bed before check-out and providing for an extra change of towels.
The concierge was helpful in ensuring that they seek a regular taxi driver for me to take me to another part of town as I was travelling alone on a business trip and did not want to be fleeced by drivers who would take me for a longer route than necessary.
The hotel being located next to the Pavillion Shopping Mall was also a bonus as my mom who was travelling with me could do some shopping there.
For a person doing business within the KL city area, this was indeed an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking rooms near the elevator if you are travelleing with seniors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkdolphin_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Nice room. fantastic price. However , should refurbish the furnitures to newer one. they look so outdated somehow. But overall, love it! thumbs up!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paperrockwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 km away
Ansa Kuala Lumpur
Ansa Kuala Lumpur
#73 of 338 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
1.0 km away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#47 of 338 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
1.4 km away
Concorde Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Concorde Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#38 of 338 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#22 of 338 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.8 km away
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Melia Kuala Lumpur
#44 of 338 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
0.6 km away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#25 of 338 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Kuala Lumpur

Property: Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Address: Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur 172 Jalan Imbi, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,995 - ₹ 6,195
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur is located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's Golden Triangle, a stone's throw away from Malaysia's finest shopping malls, eateries, tourist and entertainment spots. A short 5 minutes' walk will take you to the doorstep of Pavilion, Starhill Gallery, Fahrenheit 88, Lot 10, Sungei Wang, Berjaya Times Square and Low Yat Plaza. The KL Convention Centre and Petronas Twin Towers are also within walking distance from the hotel through an air-conditioned link bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, HotelsClick and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Dorsett Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Regency Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing