We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location but service level seem to have dipped” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #27 of 333 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location but service level seem to have dipped”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

It's our second stay at The Westin, KL. We enjoyed our first stay in 2011, thus the reason for coming back in June 2012. We liked the location, being just across the Pavilion mega mall. It's located at the heart of the city. The kids love the pool. I was disappointed with the service and room facilities. When taking a shower, I realized that the shower hose was leaking badly and had to call room service. They had it replaced. I also called room service requesting for extra sanitary bags and was shocked when they said they ran out of it and added they had no alternatives to help me. I managed to get it from housekeeping the next morning. Other than the standard service expected of a 5-star hotel, I was a little uncomfortable rating it excellent for the above reason. As a Starwood preffered guest, I was disappointed and will think twice to stay there again given the wide range of hotels available for picking around the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanazNazeeha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Greetings ShanazNazeeha

We thank you for your support and appreciate you taking the time to post this review.

We apologize for the leaky shower hose - good to know our team managed to get it replaced promptly. With regard to the sanitary bags matter, this should not be the case because our floor pantry is always well stocked. We will need to investigate further on this.

We understand your impression about us has been tarnished but we sincerely hope that you would give us an opportunity to make amends and let us welcome you back.

Take care and be well



Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,070
    742
    241
    83
    52
See reviews for
474
596
160
620
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

I have yet to stay at the Westin KL. I did however call up the reception about a week ago to book my stay. I informed the person who attended to me that i intended to redeem the voucher under my Starwood Privilege membership. I must say that the person who attended to me was very rude and unprofessional. I am just wondering whether it is the Hotel's policy to treat guests who utlize vouchers in this manner. For the information of the Hotel, the voucher i am redeeming is one fully paid for by me and i was honestly shocked at the treatment. In any event, i have booked my stay for the 30th of June, so hopefully this incident does not repeat itself.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvdbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Greetings Luvdbeach

First and foremost, please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasant phone experience. We value all our guests regardless of whether they are paying or non paying guests and will definitely not condone such off brand attitude.

We would greatly appreciate it if you could drop us an email at 01443_DutyManagers@starwoodhotels.com to provide us with details of your booking.

Thank you once again for the feedback and look forward to hearing from you.

Take care and be well



Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karachi
Level Contributor
267 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

I had the chance to spend a few nights in The Westin, KL, recently. Simply put it was a good property situated at an excellent location, right on Bukit Bintang. The sky train, BB entertainment, shopping etc, was at walking distance. Bang opposite the hotel was the Pavilion Shopping Mall, which included a wide array of stores and eateries. The check in process was smooth and swift in a simple decorated lobby. Facilities available in the room were also good, with toiletries, slippers, bath gown, large towels etc, available. The restaurants in the hotel were excellent and breakfast was superb. The QBA bar in the lower level was great. The only thing lacking was the elevators which took a relatively long time to come. The upholstery of sofa in the room and the carpet needed cleaning and/or replacement. However, overall a good stay in KL.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sainbasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimPowley-TWKL, Hotel Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Greetings Sainbasha

We thank you for the great review and delighted to hear you had a fantastic stay.

We will get the elevators company to come by to check on the speed level - we apologize for any inconvenience caused.

On the issue of upholstery of sofa and carpet, we have already taken this into consideration when we start our refurbishment program.

Once again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you and be well



Benjamin Zahn
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
157 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

nice hotel, always busy, entrance to it is a little unusual, on a slope and narrow access entry point
be careful, cross walk even when is a go for pedestrians u have to watch as some drivers there and motor cyclists do ont care and keep driving even when red.
you have to watch out for them, says so much about the lack of enforcement by authorities there
nice hotel, great rooms and if you spring for it get the apartments with kitchen

Room Tip: apartments are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bern C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimPowley-TWKL, Hotel Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Greetings Berni C

We thank you for taking the time to post your review about your stay. Very happy to know that you like the hotel and location.

All of us here look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Kuala Lumpur.

Take care and be well



Benjamin Zahn
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
86 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Rooms are comfortable enough and gym was good , downside was pool which was pretty small and not big enough for laps if you want a decent swim. The bar downstairs is decent and the location is handy to plenty of shopping and restaurant options.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alena&Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimPowley-TWKL, Hotel Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Greetings Alena&Steve

We thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and delighted to hear you had a great stay experience.

Regret to note that the size of the pool did not live up to your expectation. Nevertheless, we thank you for your feedback.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Kuala Lumpur.

Take care and be well



Benjamin Zahn
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#7 of 333 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
0.2 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 333 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
#44 of 333 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 333 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
1.4 km away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 333 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
0.9 km away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kuala Lumpur

Property: The Westin Kuala Lumpur
Address: The Westin Kuala Lumpur 199 Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#19 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#27 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,346 - ₹ 11,053
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Kuala Lumpur is an oasis located on the vibrant streets of Jalan Bukit Bintang. The strategic location of this five-star luxury hotel puts Kuala Lumpur’s best shopping, entertainment and local attractions right at your doorstep, which also includes Petronas Twin Towers, Kuala Lumpur Tower and Pavilion KL shopping mall which are just minutes away. From signature Westin Heavenly® Bed to our fully equipped Westin WORKOUT®, the hotel offers world-class facilities and services that inspire you to be at your best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Westin Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Westin Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing