We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, A Really Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #27 of 348 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed at the Westin KL in February 2012 for 1 night and was impressed by the wonderful service, rooms and the hearty breakfast spread, the only hit-and-miss was the club lounge.

- Rooms

I was really impressed by the size of the club room with a view of the Pavilion Mall and the KL tower (the Twin Towers were blocked by the Pavilion Apartments). The bathroom featured separate tub and shower which I really appreciated. Plenty of wardrobe and closet space. The heavenly beds were really heavenly, had one of the best nights in a hotel for a long time. No problem with the really fast elevators which made for a fun ride!

The only peeve I had with the room was the box of condoms at the mini-bar, as a hotel which serves families, I would think that condoms should be an "on-request" item rather than it being placed at the mini-bar.

- Club Lounge & Breakfast

Having previously stayed at the Le Meridien KL the day before, the club lounge at the Westin was somewhat disappointing, although most of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, some just did not seem bothered about their job. The evening spread was average, comparable to most lounge evening spreads, however, the variety of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks made up for it. I had breakfast in the buffet on the first floor and just like at the Le Meridien, there was an impressive variety of hot, cold, sweet and savory items and the freshly made juices were also a really great alternative to the pre-mixed juices (thanks to the restaurant manager for pointing that out).

- Location

The Westin is located in the heart of the Bukit Bintang district which are where all the flashy malls are located, however, it's a little far from the KLCC area, but from what I heard, there are free shuttle busses from the Westin to KLCC and back. There is also a sheltered walkway between the Pavilion across the road that links directly to KLCC which is another option.

- Final Thoughts

I was really impressed by the room, the location and the great breakfast, however, there needs to be improvement to the service level throughout the hotel where most guests would expect a constant level of courtesy and initiative among the entire complement of staff. But I would definitely not hesitate to return to the Westin KL.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marconeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimPowley-TWKL, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Greetings Marconeo

We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and good to hear, overall, you had a great experience.

With regard to the condoms, this is the decision made by the hotel to place in the room for guests' convenience. However, we have updated your profile and will have it removed on your next visit. Please accept our apologies if this has offended you.

Your comment about your experience at the Executive Club Lounge has been noted and we will take it up with the Manager accordingly. For your information, we will be relocating our lounge to another floor and renovation work is now in progress. We hope you would be able to experience the new environment on your next visit.

Yes, I agree with you that off brand behaviour and inconsistent service can leave a lasting negative impact. We will definitely improve in this area.

Thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Kuala Lumpur.

Take care and be well



Kim Powley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,756 - 1,760 of 2,590 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel just after Christmas. This was the 4th hotel of 6 on our vacation, and probably one of the best hotel experiences we had on our trip. It was in a great location – just opposite the Pavillion Mall, and about a 5 min taxi ride to the Petronas Towers.

Our experience at the hotel was wonderful from the time we walked in. I booked on points and they originally gave us a room on a lower floor. I informed our check-in clerk that I made SPG gold just a day before and she immediately found us a room on one of the club floors with a spectacular view of the Petronas Towers (floor to ceiling windows).

The room was very spacious, and like I said, the view of the towers was breathtaking – especially at night, so make sure you get a room facing the towers. Bed was the standard heavenly bed – very comfortable! Toiletries are standard Westin White Tea. The bathroom was nice, but they should take better care of the showers. There was a bit of mold on the tiles. Not a big deal for us, but something that the hotel should take care of.

For us, the best part of KL was the food! Go to Lot 10 Hutong (10 min walk from hotel) for indoor hawker food stalls, there is great street food behind the hotel, and the food in the Pavillion Mall is amazing! For drinks, go to the top of Traders Hotel for the perfect view of the towers.

Beware of the cabs. Make sure you can see the meter at all times especially at the end of your trip; make sure the driver doesn’t add on unnecessary charges at the end. There are two types of cabs – blue ones and yellowish (?) ones. The blue ones have a higher start fare, but in my opinion, seemed more reliable. The other cabs are cheaper, but hit/miss with the service (i.e. shortest route, politeness, etc).

Room Tip: High floor facing the Petronas Towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suman514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimPowley-TWKL, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Greetings Suman514

We thank you for the great feedback you have provided and delighted to hear you had a great experience.

Our Manager - Housekeeping has been informed about the mould in the showers. This can leave a lasting negative impression of the hotel - thank you for highlighting this to us.

Once again, thank you for your review and look forward to having you in the hotel soon.

Take care and be well



Kim Powley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The Westin is a modern - yet not brand new anymore - hotel with everything you could expect. Besides another favorite hotel of mine, I have never felt more welcome than here. The staff will treat you as a regular from the second time they meet you, and after a while they treat you like you have been there since they first opened up. A good example is that they often put a power plug adaptor in my room before I arrived - since I often asked about this.

Stay at the executive club, and you will enjoy in-room check-in and access to a dedicated lounge. Breakfast in the main restaurant is fantastic, but if you prefer a quiet area, the lounge is a good alternative.

When I visit KL again, I will make sure I stay at the Westin. No doubt.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Pavilion has a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimPowley-TWKL, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Greetings esben

We thank you for your support and appreciate you taking the time to express your appreciation of the service rendered - this is how it should feel at The Westin.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Kuala Lumpur.

Take care and be well




Kim Powley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Very conveniently located in the golden triangle hub. Only average service for a Westin chain.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPAFAN711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimPowley-TWKL, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Greetings SPAFAN711

We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future.

Once again, thank you and look forward to welcoming you back.

Take care and be well




Kim Powley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I absolutely loved this hotel, tastefully decorated rooms which are well furnished and well kept. views of the towers are to die for. excellent location, a stroll to major shopping centers. really loved it

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fs30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimPowley-TWKL, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Greetings fs30

Thank you for staying with us and the great feedback you have provided - it's always great to hear that our guest enjoy their stay.

Take care and look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Kuala Lumpur.

be well



Kim Powley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
902 reviews
0.1 km away
JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur
JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
2,584 reviews
0.0 km away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
2,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur
Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
2,836 reviews
0.2 km away
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
#48 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
1,979 reviews
1.3 km away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#10 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
2,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kuala Lumpur

Address: The Westin Kuala Lumpur Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#19 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#27 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: ₹ 7,425 - ₹ 14,264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Kuala Lumpur is an oasis located on the vibrant streets of Jalan Bukit Bintang. The strategic location of this five-star luxury hotel puts Kuala Lumpur’s best shopping, entertainment and local attractions right at your doorstep, which also includes Petronas Twin Towers, Kuala Lumpur Tower and Pavilion KL shopping mall which are just minutes away. From signature Westin Heavenly® Bed to our fully equipped Westin WORKOUT®, the hotel offers world-class facilities and services that inspire you to be at your best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Westin Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing