We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bathrooms need an upgrade” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #44 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bathrooms need an upgrade”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Please don't take my title literally. This was our second stay at the Melia booked due to it's fantastic location right in the heart of Bukit Bintang. From checking in to checking out we had a great stay and couldn't fault the staff everyone was extremly courteous and friendly. We had booked a double room with an extra bed for our 14 year old daughter but we given two rooms with interconnecting doors, which was fantastic we had such a laugh as the staff were obviously expecting a smaller child as the bedding was all designed for toddlers and the room came complete with plastic cups and plates.
The only disappointment was the very small bathroom where you couldn't have more than one person in the room and certianly in a 4 star hotel you don't expect to have to shower in the bath so come on Melia time to upgrade the bathrooms because at the moment its letting the hotel down and thats a shame when everything else in perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwain3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    915
    381
    132
    83
See reviews for
515
782
164
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012 via mobile

This is true 4 star hotel; food , staff, amenities, position are all 1st rate; especially the staff who always go out of their way to assist. BUT and it is a big but, the 50 Malysian Ringitts charge for wi-fi access (for each device) was just unnecessary, over priced and nearly destroyed what had been a great stay. My son and I were booked into stay in a twin room but needed access to wifi; my son for his face book connectivity and me for email, planning and some work. The 50 Ringitts/night to obtain access was seen to be the same price as an update to the next level of accomodation so we thought that was good value. We upgraded, obtained the room and were granted access to the wifi password. The speed of youth saw my son on and surfing before we were out of he elevator and when I went to log on via tablet found my access blocked; I contacted reception only to discover that the upgrade/50 Ringitts only allowed access for one device. As we were not informed of this beforehand the process made my blod boil. Why is it that the higher starred hotels so often look for and find ways to charge for what should be standard services; wifi is pretty well universally free in all lower priced hotels and this 'service' took a huge amount of shine of what otherwise was a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amigho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We really couldn't fault the Melia. We had a 12th floor room which was spacious, modern,well equipped and with a large, comfortable (firm) bed. Excellent location by the monorail, and only a few minutes walk to a host of cafés. hawker food locations, bars, malls. Unlike some other reviewers we found the buffet breakfast to be perfect - better than just about anywhere else we have stayed! There was great range of fresh fruits, freshly baked breads and pastries, an excellent egg cook, juices, local dishes, just about everything you could ask for. Of course there is no "real" bacon, but that's not unreasonable given the culture and chicken bacon is too bad! We didn't need to use the internet (and there are plenty of hot spots around KL) though it did look expensive. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a main city road, so be prepared for some early morning traffic noise, but no worse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABsChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Stayed here for one night, can't fault the staff, such friendly service and couldn't be more helpful. Great location for exploring and lots of places nearby to eat or shop. Room was clean, large, modern and well appointed with everything you would hope for. Breakfast was gorgeous, wide selection and lovely coffee.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012 via mobile

Good: locación, price, facilities. Next to monorail station and across the road to one of the biggest shopping centers in KL . 

Bad: dated rooms, had to move 3 times to get something acceptable, do not get a room in levels 1 and 2 as they are very old and they do not have a safe. 

Ugly: Internet cost at R58 a day! which is almost half the price of a room. Also no free Internet in lobby, costing R10 for 45 min at the bar.. Oh! and smoking is allowed in the piano bar.  
They also label all drinks in the mini bar, so you cannot drink one and think you can replace it the next day. How desperate really!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Albertito65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 km away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#35 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,109 reviews
0.8 km away
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
#51 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
0.2 km away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#52 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
0.3 km away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#49 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
0.6 km away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#24 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Kuala Lumpur

Property: Melia Kuala Lumpur
Address: Melia Kuala Lumpur 16 Jalan Imbi | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#41 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,059 - ₹ 7,202
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the city's prime location, amongst all the prestigious business addresses, stands the Melia Kuala Lumpur. Right at the heart of the city's 'Golden Triangle' and commercial district, the hotel occupies an unbeatable location. With the iconic Petronas Twin Towers reachable in 3 minutes by monorail, popular shopping attractions footsteps away, and cultural attractions such as the Bintang Walk and Little India nearby, Melia Kuala Lumpur is the perfect address for business or leisure. The hotel features spacious, well-appointed rooms that are bathed in warm sunlight. A range of dining options, filled with the flavors and diversity that define Malaysia, is served daily within the hotel. A swimming pool and gym are available for leisure while a business center and host of functional meeting rooms stand ready when work calls. With an outstanding location, top-rate service, facilities that delight, and a dedication to sustainability, Melia Kuala Lumpur is perfect for any traveller looking to be at the center of all the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Ostrovok, Melia Hotels APAC and Agoda so you can book your Melia Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Sol Melia Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing