We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Business Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #12 of 332 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Business Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Well located, friendly helpful staff, good sized rooms and well priced. Although I stay here because of it's location to work, it is central for shopping at KLCC, (Petronas Towers) which is just down the road, or take the free hotel shuttle to Bukit Bintang, where you'll find Pavillion and numerous other shops and shopping centres. The KL Hop-On Hop-Off tourist bus also stops just outside the hotel.

The restaurants at the hotel are all good quality and in particular, the service offered by Mr Cheng Ng at the Chinese restaurant is excellent. He is willing to offer suggestions on the best produce for the day and nothing is too much trouble for him - he is happy to deviate from the menu if a customer has a special request for a particular dish or way of cooking.

Early check-in's are hassle free and the airport pick up service is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear Lynette W,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for your valuable feedback! It is indeed our pleasure to consistently deliver quality service to our guests and I am pleased to know that you had a fantastic stay with us.

I am delighted to know that you are happy with the food and service quality by Mr Cheng Ng from Toh Lee Chinese Restaurant.I will forward your review to him and im sure he'll be pleased to welcoming you back to the restaurant :)

Glad to know that your check-in was hassle free and your airport pick-up was excellent.Our dedicated front desk and airport pick-up staffs always ensure that our guests are well looked after.

Your comments will definitely inspire all of us to work harder and to strive for excellence in providing the best to our guests.

We look forward to your next stay.

Terima Kasih dan sampai berjumpa lagi!

Sincerely,

Nur Farisya Abdul Shukor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,158
    806
    191
    54
    40
See reviews for
374
465
158
660
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

My lady friends and I found this hotel through a deal on Expedia, we went for a girls weekend and had a great time. The room was beautiful and big and the staff were good about the fact that we booked for two people and I also randomly showed up to make three.

Breakfast was life-altering. They had smoked salmon, brie, delicious dim sum, Chinese, indonesian, Malaysian and Western food. You can have fresh fruit juice, an omlette made in from of you, any number of breads and pastries, samosas, fresh fruit and it goes on and on and on. I was super impressed with this breakfast!! The room service meal we ordered was also good, other than the fact that I got a watermelon juice instead of a maitai.

The decor was also beautiful and the location was great, it is right beside a train station and super easy to connect to all of the other trains in Kuala Lumpur from there. Its also right beside a Citibank, so it was easy to get money out in a safe place.

The only problem we had, which was consistent, was with the WiFi. It was supposed to be complimentary but it was an incredibly involved and complicated process to just get the dang thing working. When it did work, it would work for a while and then kick right out again. It go to the point that they had to call the service provider to talk us through it. In all fairness, the staff were patient with dealing with our constant demands to get the internet working and they were helpful with figuring out how to get to the airport as I left on a different airline that flew out of a different airport than the one we flew in on.

Overall, I loved this stay and I would certainly stay here again if I return to KL.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beajolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear beajolley,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

We thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your valuable feedback. I am delighted that you had enjoyed your stay and I will definitely share your ratings with the team.


In relation to the WiFi matter, i have taken note on all the points written and will discuss this matter with the head of Management Information System (MIS Department) to implement measures for improvement owing to our guest satisfaction. We thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. Only with feedback can we continue to improve our service standards.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!


Sincerely,

Nur Farisya Abdul Shukor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

I have just checked in after flying to 24 hrs with 3 cildren. First experience was a shock when there were issues with our booking. But we were pleasantly surprised the staff was helpful and the duty manager duly intervened to save the day. We were upgraded and the rooms appear very tastefully decorated and spacious. Issues about the booking were resolved without further hassle or expense.
Overall, I did not find issues with the staff as highlted by previous contributer to be true. All including the bell boys were gracious and courteous. No expectation of a tip, we gave any way.
I certainly feel reassured so far with our stay here. The ambiance is excellent and location very good. For the price and facilities so far it appears an excellent choice. Worth the money so far.
Will see what is in store at Langkawi.
Dr Syed 2308

Room Tip: Higher floor,refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asad87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear Asad87,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel feedback on your recent stay experience at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur.

We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel and your comments will be shared with the hotel team members.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel soon.

Terima Kasih dan sampai berjumpa lagi! :)

Sincerely,

Nur Farisya Abdul Shukor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

The hotel's location is really good with a walking distance to the Petronas. Ambiance was great.
The room was very spacious and at par with the usual IHG standard.
Food was also delicious.
But the hotel staff was very cold. They should pay a little more attention to the guests. Inspite of being a platinum member of IHG, we were not offered any of the benefits of being a platinum member.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maverick_1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Dear Karan125,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. First and foremost, please accept our sincere apologies in relation to the experience you received during your recent stay.

Rest assured, we have taken the time to discuss this matter with the hotel team members, ensuring the team members focus on providing memorable experiences for all guests and maintaining the consistent standard of the InterContinental brand.

The team and I hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, the hotel will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel sometime in the near future.


Sincerely,

Nur Farisya Abdul Shukor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Pretty new hotel in KL however there is still some large construction going on around the hotel.

Stayed here as part of a conference and everyone mentioned how well the event ran and also how good the accommodation was for all.

Large rooms, fast wifi and attentive staff make it great for business travellers.

The breakfast is also very comprehensive with a great variety on offer and chefs on hand to satisfy any unusual cravings.

2 minute walk to the metro station and 5 minute walk to the twin towers and associated shopping.

Room Tip: Higher floors get a good view of the twin towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 404wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Dear 404wanderlust,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel feedback on your recent stay experience with us.

It is indeed pleasing to hear that you had a great stay.We are more than happy to extend our best services to you and we look forward to your next stay with us.


Sincerely,

Nur Farisya Abdul Shukor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.8 km away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
1.4 km away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 332 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,386 reviews
0.7 km away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 332 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 332 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
1.4 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 332 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
4.5 km away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#15 of 332 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kuala Lumpur

Property: InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Address: 165 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#7 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,266 - ₹ 8,991
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Malaysia, InterContinental Kuala Lumpur offers one of the most sought after locations in the city, making it an ideal urban retreat for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is just steps away from the iconic Petronas Twin Towers and Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre and within walking distance to countless other shopping and entertainment activities. Choose to work in comfort or luxury in the 473 spaciously designed rooms, including 110 newly renovated Grand Premier Rooms that feature modern, earth tone furnishings and state-of-the-art enhancements. Wine and dine in style with a selection of restaurants including the award-wining Tatsu Japanese Restaurant, Tao Chinese Cuisine, Serena Brasserie, OneSixFive and Bentley's Pub. InterContinental Kuala Lumpur also boasts eight meeting rooms and two conference venues to host memorable events from an intimate group of 20 or a large conference of 600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Prestigia, IHG and Expedia so you can book your InterContinental Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Nikko Hotel
Nikko Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing