We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this an InterContinental hotel?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #10 of 348 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed in InterContinental KL with my family from 16 to 18 June.

Bed & pillows were comfortable but the room looked rather dated, as compared to other InterContinental hotels. Service was below expectation, didn't set up extra bed even though request was made during hotel booking. The room service staff took more than an hour to bring extra hangers and towels. There was no shower curtain by the bath tub and the floor got wet after each bath. TV channels were limited.

The front desk staff were dutifully polite. One great staff worth mentioning was the door men, Mr. K.... (forgotten his name). He was always full of smile & energy every time we walked in & out of the hotel. He informed us that there was a free hourly shuttle to KLCC & 2-hourly shuttle to Fahrenheit Shopping Mall and he also gave us some good recommendation to local eateries.

Hotel location is good. It was an easy walk to KLCC & Pavillion Shopping Mall if you missed the free shuttle. The ~5-min taxi trip from Pavillion back to hotel costed RM20, the taxi driver refused to turn on his fare meter.

Overall feeling is that this hotel is not up to the usual InterContinental standard. It is nowhere near Mandarin Oriental KL or even Renaissance KL Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nusmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2012

Dear nusmik

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. First and foremost, please accept our sincere apologies in relation to the experience you received during your recent stay.

Rest assured, we have taken the time to discuss this isolated incident with the hotel team members, ensuring the team members focus on providing memorable experiences for all guests and maintaining the consistent standard of the InterContinental brand.

The team and I hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, the hotel will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel sometime in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nur Farisya Abdul Shukor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,727 - 1,731 of 2,686 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

This is a newly re-branded property. It was in the hopeless Nikko chain, and the owner clearly expects the IC brand will help it re-establish itself among Kuala Lumpur five-stars.

Unfortunately the hotel really has nothing at all to set it apart from the competition.

The location is fine for those with offices nearby, or travellers who appreciate easy access to the metro (LRT), but apart from those plusses, it's in the middle of a noisy chaos of building sites. You can struggle on foot to KLCC, but you can do that from many other hotels using the (relatively) new, aircon Skywalk along Jln Pinang from the Pavillion Mall.

In terms of facilities, these are generally mediocre. There's a pool of sorts, an unimpressive gym and a ruinously expensive spa. Restaurants aren't "destination" places in a city with plenty that are.

Service is one of the brights things about the hotel. Room service was fast and cheerful, and the laundry collection/delivery worked like a dream. The room cleaners were efficient and managed to fit in with our own quirky jet-lagged schedule. Reception staff managed to grin even when giving the news about the horrendous cost of phone calls (lost mobile!), but were otherwise helpful.

Rooms are large but dull. Odd bathrooms with windows into the bedroom work at some places, but not here: the potential for embarrrassment is huge. Stay on the wrong side of the hotel and you'll be woken early by construction work. We changed from a noisy lower floor to a high level "premier" room. The noise was reduced, but the room needs an upgrade.

Price reflects the low/average for location, facilities and comfort. It's one of the cheaper KL 5-stars, and is regularly selling for lower rates than its lower-brand stable-mate, the well regarded Crowne Plaza Mutiara.

Presumably the construction work will one day be over and peace shall reign in Ampang Park - then it might be time to reconsider the IC Kuala Lumpur. Until then, it's best to look elsewhere unless you get a very good deal.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwissFella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2012

Dear SwissFella

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!
Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. First and foremost, please accept our sincere apologies in relation to the experience you received during your recent stay.

Rest assured, we have taken the time to discuss this isolated incident with the hotel team members, ensuring the team members focus on providing memorable experiences for all guests and maintaining the consistent standard of the InterContinental brand.

The team and I hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, the hotel will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel sometime in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nur Farisya Abdul Shukor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I booked at the Intercon KL last minute as my other accommodation option fell through just before my arrival. It was undergoing renovations when I stayed in April, so whilst it perhaps lacks the 'wow' factor upon arrival, I found the staff to be extremely accommodating and my room was excellent. The room was booked as a redemption on Ambassador points but I was still upgraded to an enormous room overlooking the park near KLCC.

The free wifi was great, as was the free shuttle bus to the shopping centres. If you prefer walking KLCC is a nice 5 minute walk, and Pavillion was only another 7-8 minutes further on the new air-conditioned walkway from the convention centre... whilst the air-con is much appreciated I was wondering how enormous the carbon footprint must be!

Also, Skybar at the Traders Hotel is only a 6-7 minute walk away and is definitely a great place to have a drink and enjoy the view of the Petronas Towers.

I would highly recommend the Intercon KL and I will definitely stay there again as I always fly Malaysian Airlines on my regular London-Sydney trips.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Dear liloinlondon,

We thank you for staying with us and appreciate your valuable feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we will share your reviews with the team. Your thoughts on the hotel's ideal location and recommendation is encouraging and you will be pleased to see the new unveiled lobby and its signature element, the Concierge Lounge on your next visit. Your feedback will definitely encourage all to give our best and to strive for excellence in providing the finest to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Don't forget to check us out on Facebook or send us a tweet @InterConKL.


Thanks & regards,
Juliet Wong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I am an Intercontinenal Hotels Royal Ambassador because i stay all all of the Intercontinental Hotels in Asia frequently. At all of the other hotels i am treated very well and get a nice upgrade. At the Intercontinental in KL the first time, I was upgraded and treated well. On this last stay, I was informed that the policy had changed and they would not offer upgrade to Club for Royal Ambassadors. I think this hotel should get with the loyalty program as all of the other Intercontinental hotels in Asia do and reward the frequent guests with upgrades to Club. Also, the check in was over 30 minutes. Room was new and nice but small. Food was so, so. I asked to speak with the hotel manager but he didn't bother. Maybe he needs a new job!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelAgent34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Dear TravelAgent34,

Thank you for the review on Tripadvisor. First & foremost, please accept our sincerely apologies in relations to the room service provided. We have sent your comment to the respective department to review and appropriate training will be in place to address the issue. We are regret to inform that the terms and conditions stated in InterContinental Ambassador membership that when staying on a rewards night, all ambassador privileges apply with the exception of few privileges includes upgrade.

Once again we thank you for the feedback and we hope to have a pleasure to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Sincerely,

Nur Farisya Abdul Shukor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

the hotel lived up to expectations..
the staff are friendly very helpful
the rooms are cosy
the breakfast was great each morning, with lots of variety.
the free wifi was a bonus
the location is great .. jus a 2min walk to the metro station.. and jus 10 mins wlk to klcc.
they also kept our luggage for us while we went to langkawi and penang..
would def rcommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANBAR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Dear ANBAR_11,

Thank you for the review and we are extremely happy to know that you had a fantastic stay with us recently. It is indeed our pleasure to consistently provide a quality service to our guest and your comments will be shared with the hotel team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.


Sincerely,
Juliet Wong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.8 km away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
1.4 km away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
7,294 reviews
0.7 km away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
10,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#13 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
4,256 reviews
1.4 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
904 reviews
1.3 km away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
2,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kuala Lumpur

Address: 165 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#7 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: ₹ 6,926 - ₹ 17,283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Malaysia, InterContinental Kuala Lumpur offers one of the most sought after locations in the city, making it an ideal urban retreat for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is just steps away from the iconic Petronas Twin Towers and Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre and within walking distance to countless other shopping and entertainment activities. Choose to work in comfort or luxury in the 473 spaciously designed rooms, including 110 newly renovated Grand Premier Rooms that feature modern, earth tone furnishings and state-of-the-art enhancements. Wine and dine in style with a selection of restaurants including the award-wining Tatsu Japanese Restaurant, Tao Chinese Cuisine, Serena Brasserie, OneSixFive and Bentley's Pub. InterContinental Kuala Lumpur also boasts eight meeting rooms and two conference venues to host memorable events from an intimate group of 20 or a large conference of 600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Prestigia and Ctrip TA so you can book your InterContinental Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Nikko Hotel
Nikko Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing