We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid 4 star... nope not 5, sorry”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #9 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My platinum IHG membership didn't get me an upgrade and was quoted that my stay was redemption. I understand, yesm but.. I do get upgrade even thought redemption at other Intercon as I was valued... well. The rooms were quite alright. Overall I find this property a solid 4 star and not a 5. Room service (requested bucket of ice) was particularly slow which took 15mins.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank LorenzSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Dear LorenzSingapore,

Thank you for the review on Tripadvisor. First & foremost, please accept our sincerely apologies in relations to the room service provided. We have sent your comment to the respective department to review and appropriate training will be in place to address the issue. We are regret to inform that the terms and conditions stated in InterContinental Ambassador membership that when staying on a rewards night, all ambassador privileges apply with the exception of few privileges includes upgrade.

Once again we thank you for the feedback and we hope to have a pleasure to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.


Sincerely,
Juliet Wong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,751 - 1,755 of 2,705 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2012

We chose to stay at the InterContinental Kuala Lumpur with a delegation of ca. 30 people during a very important conference in June 2012 - our delegation consiting of top management incl. the CEO of a large European corporation.

The service delivered to our Group was outstanding on all fronts and exceeded the usual by far. The Hotel staff was extremely caring and reliable. And even when things didn't go right in first instance (that happens, too) it was made sure that appropriate measures were applied to correct the issue straight away.

Our rooms (all Club rooms and Suites) were in good shape and amenities such as the excellent wireless iPod/iPhone docking stations, the modern decor and the very large, comfy beds were appreciated by our Group.

Royal Ambassador benefits were granted to the fullest extend and a clear appreciation of one's business with IHG was shown at all times.

The refurbished hall looks stylish and classy likewise. Well done.

The location just steps away from the KL twin towers and KLCC is good.

Further improvement could be done to the gym, which currently operates outdated and too few equipment.

I can highly recommend this Hotel to any traveller looking for a nice Hotel with personal service in a good KL location.

Room Tip: Club rooms on high floor, especially nice are Club Suites and Ambassador Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATLdud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Dear ATLdud,

Thank you for taking the time to post such positive comments and we are very happy to know that you had a great value in our product and service. It is indeed our pleasure to consistently provide a quality service to our guests. Thank you for the comment to our gym and please know that we do have a plan to improve our facility in both an increase in space and machine equipment.

Once again, thank you for the review and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thanks & regards,
Juliet Wong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Nice property, easy walking distance to shops, restaurants. Service was very good, interior is a tad worn but no big deal. I would recommend for business or leisure travel. Breakfast buffet has a lot of options.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Dear bkkbase,

Thank you for the review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to know that you had great time staying with us especially on the service provided. On your next visit, be sure to visit us to see the changes of the hotel as we have revealed the new look of the lobby and we think that you will like it. Alternatively you may visit our Facebook page to see the hotel updates and don't forget to send us a tweet @InterConKL.

We thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Sincerely,
Juliet Wong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I stayed for one night in Intercont KL last week ...This is maybe my 5th visit (used to be Nikko Hotel) ...Great location (walking distance to KLCC), room very spacious, well finished and with panoramic view, bed is sooo comfortable (Very hard to wake up in the morning!), service is spot on ...Ideal for business and for short stay ....It's one of the best hotels in KL!

Room Tip: Ask for high floor ...Views are terrific! - No KLCC view but still great ones! Go for Executive Flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elyes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Dear Elyes B,

We thank you for staying with us again. We are glad that you have found a great value in our product and service. Your comments will be shared with the hotel team and it is definitely a great motivation for us to strive for excellence.

Once again, we thank you for your continual support to our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Juliet Wong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Renovations were ongoing during my stay. Ambiance is less impressive than the usual Intercontinental experience. Nevertheless the quality was not bad and price was reasonable, especially given the central location.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
Thank MPH010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Dear MPH010,

Thank you for providing feedback to us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the hotel location which is easy access to the tourist attraction. We have revealed our new lobby after renovating and be sure to visit us again to see the changes of the hotel.

Once again, we thank you for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Sincerely,
Juliet Wong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.8 km away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.7 km away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
10,066 reviews
1.4 km away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
7,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#13 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
4,306 reviews
1.3 km away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2,936 reviews
1.4 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kuala Lumpur

Address: 165 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#7 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: ₹ 7,230 - ₹ 10,070 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Malaysia, InterContinental Kuala Lumpur offers one of the most sought after locations in the city, making it an ideal urban retreat for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is just steps away from the iconic Petronas Twin Towers and Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre and within walking distance to countless other shopping and entertainment activities. Choose to work in comfort or luxury in the 473 spaciously designed rooms, including 110 newly renovated Grand Premier Rooms that feature modern, earth tone furnishings and state-of-the-art enhancements. Wine and dine in style with a selection of restaurants including the award-wining Tatsu Japanese Restaurant, Tao Chinese Cuisine, Serena Brasserie, OneSixFive and Bentley's Pub. InterContinental Kuala Lumpur also boasts eight meeting rooms and two conference venues to host memorable events from an intimate group of 20 or a large conference of 600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Prestigia and Ctrip TA so you can book your InterContinental Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Nikko Hotel
Nikko Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing