We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great potential, some concerns” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #12 of 333 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Yeppoon, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great potential, some concerns”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Upgraded to 3 supeior rooms (5 of us) because of renovations - large, beautifully appointed for business and pleasure. Great lobby bar - subdued ambience, comfortable seating, pleasing music (local duo), good beverage list & access to bar snacks. Ended up there each evening. Great location for Twin Towers & shopping & near enough to night life of eg. Bukit Bintang. Two concerns: minor - communication with breakfast staff for service eg. entry & coffee unsuccessful so coffee order never correct & interruptions because we didn't have vouchers even though we agreed to pay for bill each day. Is this a language/training issue? major: only one staff member at pool who also had to supervise gym area as well so often each area unsupervised (risky when kids or old people around) and also bar & beverage service incurred long delays not only because supervisor engaged with crisis (eg. umbrella blowing over in wind on guests) but also service via room service. However, pool area very pleasant & supervisor service great when free.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ICKL, General Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Judie50,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear about your positive experience with our room and lobby lounge. We would like to apologize on the miscommunication of our breakfast team. Appropriate training and coaching are in place to address this issue. We take note on the comment given to the pool and gym area and we will look into it to provide our guest a safe hotel.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,159
    808
    191
    54
    40
See reviews for
374
467
158
661
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

In fairness, this place is not expensive, a tad cheaper than the Westin/Sheraton where I've most frequently stayed in KL.

Tried booking the Crowne Plaza where I'd stayed a couple of weeks earlier, unfortunately it was full, but as Priority Club platinum member I thought I'd give the ICH a try as they had rooms available and the Westin / Sheraton were charging an unusual premium rate, presumably due to very high occupancy for the Malaysian Grand Prix.

Room could have used a more thorough clean, especially the bathroom.

Room service food was very poor, the food left virtually untouched. The soup was so oversalted as to be inedible.

Basic things like getting ice in the room proved an ordeal requiring an hour and a reminder on the first night and ninety minutes and five phone calls on the second.

Lobby bar service good, but the thick coating of dust on the shelves was indicative of the attention to detail here. They don't stock my preferred aperitif (Ricard) and the Singapore Sling was best forgotten.

We didn't bother with breakfast, despite it being included in rate and were glad to eat out as well as leave after the two nights.

Can't think of any reason to return to this hotel. In many ways it reminded me of the dreary 4/5 star hotels I occasionally stay at in Delhi. But KL has numerous very good and sensibly priced 5 star hotels, Delhi doesn't. For Priority Club members the Crowne Plaza is a far better bet.

Room Tip: Request a clean one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lighthouse3132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ICKL, General Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear lighthouse3132,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies in relation to the less than satisfactory service received. Do know your feedback will be given to the respective department heads to address with their teams. As a Priority Club Platinum Member, we hope you will stay with us again so we may have the chance to demonstrate our property in a better light.

We look forward to the chance of welcoming you again.

Sincerely,
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

really enjoyed the intercon, had hoped for the Mandarin but it was all booked and the really, this was fine. Stayed on the club floor, good breakfast, good amenities. Great location. Good meeting facilities. Really enjoyed a massage in the spa, good fresh seafood in the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordie_calgarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ICKL, General Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Geordie_calgarian,

Thank you for the review and feedback on your recent stay in our hotel. We are very happy to know that you have found much satisfaction in our product as well as the hotel location. Your review will be shared with the hotel team and it is definitely a motivation for all of us to strive for excellence.

In our warm Malaysian Hospitality, we would like to say “terima kasih” (thank you) and “Jumpa lagi” (see you soon).

Sincerely,
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I went their for a business meeting and stayed 6 nights. My GF joined me for the last 3 nights.
As a business hotel, it could be a good venue: The quality of the meeting rooms and service was good and satisfactory!
Accomodation: The House keeping service is terrible; unclean bed sheets and slow service Check-in counter: staff are slow! and I got extra charges for things that I didn't use.
Both my girlfriend and myself agreed that we are not coming again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ICKL, General Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Ramy S,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment with the service provided. We have notified our team and will work to correct these errors on our end. Please know this feedback is important to us.

We hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, the hotel will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel sometime in the near future.

Sincerely,
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Great location near Petronas Towers and KLCC shopping mall. Monorail stations nearby.
Staff were excellent, especially Concierge as my luggage was lost by airline and hotel called everyday to chase airline and kept me informed.
Lovely pool area with free water and fruit served to you.
Lobby under renovation but did not impact on enjoyment at all.
Cakes in the cafe are reasonably priced, but as we found, are half price in the evening!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ICKL, General Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear oanne H,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well we the service provided. It is indeed our pleasure to consistently provide a quality service to our guests. Your comments will be shared with the hotel team especially to our Concierge team. Don't forget to check us out on Facebook or send us a tweet @InterConKL if you have any questions.

In our warm Malaysian hospitality, we would like to say “Jumpa lagi” (see you soon).

Sincerely,
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.8 km away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
1.4 km away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#4 of 333 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,392 reviews
0.7 km away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 333 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 333 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,062 reviews
1.4 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 333 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
4.5 km away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#15 of 333 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kuala Lumpur

Property: InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Address: 165 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#7 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,888 - ₹ 8,663
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Malaysia, InterContinental Kuala Lumpur offers one of the most sought after locations in the city, making it an ideal urban retreat for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is just steps away from the iconic Petronas Twin Towers and Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre and within walking distance to countless other shopping and entertainment activities. Choose to work in comfort or luxury in the 473 spaciously designed rooms, including 110 newly renovated Grand Premier Rooms that feature modern, earth tone furnishings and state-of-the-art enhancements. Wine and dine in style with a selection of restaurants including the award-wining Tatsu Japanese Restaurant, Tao Chinese Cuisine, Serena Brasserie, OneSixFive and Bentley's Pub. InterContinental Kuala Lumpur also boasts eight meeting rooms and two conference venues to host memorable events from an intimate group of 20 or a large conference of 600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Expedia and IHG so you can book your InterContinental Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Nikko Hotel
Nikko Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing